Author Topic: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128  (Read 706 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline davebirl

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: ie
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
Hi Folks,


As a kid I used to have a CPC464 and recently got myself a CPC6128.



I have an M4 board and just bought myself a new/old stock 3" disc. I would like to format it and test it out etc.
I've tried loading CPM into ROM but I cannot run the disckit3 command and when I load up the CPM dsk files onto the M4 board disckit3 also does not run from there.
Is there anyway I can format this 3" disc?


Cheers


Dave

Offline ASiC

  • Supporter
  • CPC664
  • *
  • Posts: 120
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 75
  • Likes Given: 304
Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
« Reply #1 on: 01:22, 20 March 19 »
Load a rom that has disk format capabilities.
I believe utopia can do it.
Try parados as well

Offline tjohnson

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 685
  • Country: gb
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 215
  • Likes Given: 135

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.398
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
  • Liked: 793
  • Likes Given: 1674
Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
« Reply #3 on: 01:45, 20 March 19 »
How to format a disc (M4 is connected):

1. Install X-DDOS (ROM number lower than M4), then use !FORMAT,1

2. Install ParaDOS (ROM number lower than M4), then use !DRIVE to enter menu (Shift and Control keys bring you to different menu levels)
3. Install FutureOS, format disc

4. Get tools from cpc-power to format a disc
« Last Edit: 15:14, 20 March 19 by GUNHED »
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.08.07)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2019.08.14)

Offline ComSoft6128

  • ..................................
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.263
  • Country: scotland
  • CPC THEN CPC NOW
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1321
  • Likes Given: 2730
Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
« Reply #4 on: 08:04, 20 March 19 »
Hi Dave,

Install the ParaDOS rom - ParaDOS will format and also verify the disc - have a look at the manual here:

http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/ParaDOS
« Last Edit: 08:21, 20 March 19 by ComSoft6128 »

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.280
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1171
  • Likes Given: 79
Hi Dave,

Install the ParaDOS rom - ParaDOS will format and also verify the disc - have a look at the manual here:

http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/ParaDOS
Parados. The rest are just not as good! I have Parados installed internally on all my cpcs. If you need a rom burning let me know and I'll post you one.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk

IRC:  #Retro4All on Freenode

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.130
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 621
  • Likes Given: 1587
Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
« Reply #6 on: 19:44, 20 March 19 »
I like parados but some games don't.
I use the ROM version of Discology.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.270
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 296
  • Likes Given: 637
Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
« Reply #7 on: 02:23, 21 March 19 »
I like parados but some games don't.


Do you have some examples of the games that you have a problem with Parados ?


Thanks.  Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.130
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 621
  • Likes Given: 1587
Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
« Reply #8 on: 10:25, 21 March 19 »
Can't remember many but Double Dragon is one and from utilities discology.
I had the real ROM a couple of years ago and it was great but a real pain for games.
Same results with emulation.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.270
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 296
  • Likes Given: 637
Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
« Reply #9 on: 10:42, 21 March 19 »
@VincentGR


Thanks




Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline kailokyra

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: fr
  • CadencĂ© a 3.25Mhz
    • Maxime's website
  • Liked: 12
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
« Reply #10 on: 11:09, 21 March 19 »
Otherwise with only BASIC, you can type this little program, it will format the floppy !
Better to save it somewhere before executing as if I can recall, you'll have to reset the CPC once done :) :


Quote
1 MODE 2 : PRINT "Get the floppy containing this program out of the disc drive and insert the one to format, don't forget to put tape over the protection hole if it's a 3.5 HD floppy"
2 INPUT "Do you really want to format this disc ? 'y' for yes and 'n' for  no",choice$
3 IF choice$ = "y" THEN GOTO 10 ELSE GOTO 4
4 END
10 DATA 11,00,00,21,20,A5,06,09,72,23,23,23,23,10,F9,21,20,A5,D5,DF,1D,A5,D1,14,7A,FE,2A,20,E6,42,C0,07,00,00,C1,02,00,00,C6,02,00,00,C2,02,00,00,C7,02,00,00,C3,02,00,00,C8,02,00,00,C4,02,00,00,C9,02,00,00,C5,02,00,00
20 MEMORY &A4FF : FOR i=&A500 TO &A545 : READ a$:POKE i,VAL(chr$(38)+a$) : NEXT
30 CALL &A500
« Last Edit: 17:14, 21 March 19 by kailokyra »

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.398
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
  • Liked: 793
  • Likes Given: 1674
Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
« Reply #11 on: 14:15, 21 March 19 »
Line 30 must be CALL &A500


There is no line 11, that's part of line 10.

http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.08.07)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2019.08.14)

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.130
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 621
  • Likes Given: 1587
Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
« Reply #12 on: 14:19, 21 March 19 »
Works fine, the only problem was in winape's autotype.
At line 3 ( "y" ) it replaced that characters with something else.

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.398
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
  • Liked: 793
  • Likes Given: 1674
Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
« Reply #13 on: 15:02, 21 March 19 »
Wlll work fine as long as the area from &A50 to &A500 only contain &00 Bytes  ;) :)
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.08.07)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2019.08.14)

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.130
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 621
  • Likes Given: 1587
Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
« Reply #14 on: 15:16, 21 March 19 »
Dunno, here formats the disk fine.

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.398
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
  • Liked: 793
  • Likes Given: 1674
Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
« Reply #15 on: 15:28, 21 March 19 »
It put's the machine code in RAM beginning at address &A500, but then it jumps to address &A50. So this is a type (I guess), just on "0" was forgotten. The right address it &A500 to jump too.


It will probably not matter if you just have switched on your CPC, but after working a bit with it the wrong address could cause a crash.



http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.08.07)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2019.08.14)

Offline kailokyra

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: fr
  • CadencĂ© a 3.25Mhz
    • Maxime's website
  • Liked: 12
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
« Reply #16 on: 16:59, 21 March 19 »
Indeed, there's no line 11, it's just the forum that jumps a line as there's no spaces in that line and it's too long. And you're correct as well with the &A500, an involontary backspace happened :p. I edited the post, thanks !

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.130
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 621
  • Likes Given: 1587
Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
« Reply #17 on: 17:03, 21 March 19 »
There is a crash after the format procedure but I thought this was normal.
Anyway after that the disk is formatted.