CPCWiki forum

General Category => Technical Support => Software related => Topic started by: CPC_Fan on 23:12, 03 September 15

Title: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 23:12, 03 September 15
Hi all. Was thinking of adding the CPM Plus, symbos and maybe future os ROM's to my X-Mem. Was just wondering if it mattered at all which slots I put them in? Would they clash with each other, or would they all play along together nicely? Does it depend on what other ROM's are already on the X-Mem?
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: TFM on 23:36, 03 September 15
Hi all. Was thinking of adding the CPM Plus, symbos and maybe FutureOS ROM's to my X-Mem. Was just wondering if it mattered at all which slots I put them in? Would they clash with each other, or would they all play along together nicely? Does it depend on what other ROM's are already on the X-Mem?
That's a good question. Some ROMs don't get along with others (f.e. Utopia, BDOS etc.) and some need a specific position. Here some hints:

- Another DOS like ParaDOS, X-DDOS or VDOS need to be placed at a position lower than 7 to make them work fine (usually position 6 is used for another DOS)

- RDOS (which provides the RAM disc for BASIC) should be at position 1, because it needs to be initialized after all other DOS

- The CP/M Plus ROMs can be every where between 1 and 31 IMHO as long as they get initialized, else put them between 1 and 15. They play nice and compatible.

- Get the CP/M expansion ROMs from my homepage. You need an CP/M Program in a ROM? PM me!

- SymbOS needs one ROM between 1-15 (to be initialized), the others can be somewhere between 1 and 31. As far as I know it has no issues with compatibility at all.

- Same for FutureOS. Only ROM A needs to be initialized. So with FW 3.15 or the ROM-Booster they can be every where between 1-31. If the command !OS doesn't work move ROM A between 0 and 15. (Please use the installer!). If you place ROM A at position 0, then it will start automatically. FutureOS is compatible to everything else.
BTW: If you want an personal version, just PM me your email address. Then you get your own colors etc.

Any question left? Just ask :-)
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: TotO on 00:31, 04 September 15
Use the INSTALL program from the X-MEM floppy for adding CP/M on ROM8 and ROM9.
This allow to handle the RAM Drive with the same size as BASIC, to be compatible and exchange files between both environments.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: TFM on 00:32, 04 September 15
Use the INSTALL program from the X-MEM floppy for adding CP/M on ROM8 and ROM9.
This allow to handle the RAM Drive with the good size to be compatible.


Did you patch it actually (I mean the CP/M Plus ROMs)?
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: TotO on 00:34, 04 September 15
You made the fastest ever answer!  :o
Yes, the INSTALL process patch the CP/M ROM for using the wished RAM Drive size. (0K, 256K, 448K)
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: TFM on 01:16, 04 September 15
Ah, the regular ROMs probably only work with 444 KB.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: TotO on 01:27, 04 September 15
Exactly. It is why I configure the RAM Drive size to "448K" by default.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 00:41, 05 September 15
Thanks for the reply's and help and advice TFM and Tot0. Sounds like it shouldn't be too hard to install the ROMs on my X-Mem. Just got to get them copied over to a floppy and then I can hopefully have a good old session on the CPC.

@TFM (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=179) - I didn't realise that you could personalise Future OS. How do you do that?
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: TFM on 03:12, 05 September 15
Thanks for the reply's and help and advice TFM and Tot0. Sounds like it shouldn't be too hard to install the ROMs on my X-Mem. Just got to get them copied over to a floppy and then I can hopefully have a good old session on the CPC.

@TFM (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=179) - I didn't realise that you could personalise Future OS. How do you do that?


My pleasure! Well, you put information in the configuration bytes. So you have your own colors f.e. And the system does know if you have a color or green screen f.e. This way applications "know" in which environment the run and can adapt. My Giana game uses such configuration bit f.e. to set colors for color or green monitor.


Happy weekend!
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 20:54, 07 September 15
Well I have just tried to install SymbOS onto my X-Mem and it doesn't have appeared to work. I flashed SymbOS-ROMa to my X-Mem from basic, using a disc in my 3.5" floppy drive (set as B: drive). I flashed it to slot 15 and ROM's b,c and d to slots 16,17 and 18 respectively. When I type |sym, it just says "unknown command". Have tried booting my 6128 with the X-Mem set as boot from CPC and boot from X-Mem, but it makes no difference.

Also I have tried booting it from my floppy drive. It seems to load up this way, but I'm not sure if it like my AMX 3 button mouse or not. I only seem to be able to click on the start icon with the right mouse button, with a double click. Even tough the menu comes up, no matter what button I press, I cannot get it to do anything else from there.

The mouse is powered from the CTM644 monitor supply and my 3.5" drive is powered by a separate 5 volt psu. My X-Mem is in a motherx4 board, along with one of talrek's Multiface 2 clones.

Anybody got any ideas on what is going wrong?
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CraigsBar on 21:29, 07 September 15
Not sure I can help on the ROMs. I have ROM a in slot 5 and b,c,d in that order in 29, 30 and 31. For me they just work. The menu options sound to me like the apps are not available on the floppy. If you can do anything then I'd guess the mouse is OK. When you click it at a basic prompt which button is X and which is Z?
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CraigsBar on 21:43, 07 September 15
Not sure I can help on the ROMs. I have ROM a in slot 5 and b,c,d in that order in 29, 30 and 31. For me they just work. The menu options sound to me like the apps are not available on the floppy. If you can do anything then I'd guess the mouse is OK. When you click it at a basic prompt which button is X and which is Z?
(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/09/07/38d2efc0e8c4a68cc3358f5f28bef6b3.jpg)

OK I lied, symbos ROM a is in slot 10.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: TFM on 21:48, 07 September 15
Regarding your ROM occupation I wonder no longer where is your promised test of the FutureOS update.  ;)  But never mind. I guess it's not needed any longer, nobody reported an error or problem. So I assume all runs 100% fine.  :)
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: TFM on 21:52, 07 September 15
Well I have just tried to install SymbOS onto my X-Mem and it doesn't have appeared to work. I flashed SymbOS-ROMa to my X-Mem from basic, using a disc in my 3.5" floppy drive (set as B: drive). I flashed it to slot 15 and ROM's b,c and d to slots 16,17 and 18 respectively. ... Anybody got any ideas on what is going wrong?


One out of two possibilities: Did you work in CPC464 mode, so that only ROMs 7 to 0 get initialized?

Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CraigsBar on 22:50, 07 September 15
Regarding your ROM occupation I wonder no longer where is your promised test of the FutureOS update.  ;)  But never mind. I guess it's not needed any longer, nobody reported an error or problem. So I assume all runs 100% fine.  :)


Aha, You assume incorrectly [size=78%]:P[/size]



Future OS is on the Symbiface on my Plus machine.


this screenshot is taken from my "Just back from @TotO (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=290)" X-Mem in the Just CPC.


Your assumption seems correct however, With FutureOS on the Symbiface II I have not encountered any issues at all. And the Spartan Wallpapers are awesome :)


Craig





Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 22:57, 07 September 15
Not sure I can help on the ROMs. I have ROM a in slot 5 and b,c,d in that order in 29, 30 and 31. For me they just work. The menu options sound to me like the apps are not available on the floppy. If you can do anything then I'd guess the mouse is OK. When you click it at a basic prompt which button is X and which is Z?


Hi Craig. When I click it at the basic prompt, the left hand button is Z, the middle button does nothing and the right button is X.


I put the applications on a separate floppy and left that out of the drive when I tried the disc version of SymbOs. Maybe I need to put them on the same disc? The instructions aren't very helpful, so I wasn't sure which disc images to put on which discs.


The picture below shows the current ROMs that are on my X-Mem. Maybe I need to reflash it from scratch and try them in different slots. What do you think?


Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 23:02, 07 September 15

One out of two possibilities: Did you work in CPC464 mode, so that only ROMs 7 to 0 get initialized?


Hi TFM. I have just double checked and I can confirm that my X-Mem is still in 6128 mode as it should be, not 464 mode.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CraigsBar on 23:04, 07 September 15
Looks like the Symbos roms did not flash correctly. compare the names of mine, with yours.... Hmmmm.


Delete those sockets with the FLASHER application on the X-Mem floppy and reprogram them

Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 23:22, 07 September 15
I did wonder if they did not flash correctly. Will have to try and reflash them later. Do you think that they would have clashed with any of the other ROMs that I have got on the X-Mem at all?
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CraigsBar on 23:56, 07 September 15
Na. Not much installed there. Problems only seem to occur (if at all) when the board is nearly full.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 00:04, 08 September 15
Ok. Will try and reflash the SmybOS later using the flasher tool (if I can remember how to use it).
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: Ast on 12:30, 08 September 15
Don't Forget iMPdraw exists in Rom too. So, if you need to fill your x-mem rom with a cool tool paint, think about it!
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 13:31, 08 September 15
Well I can't seem to get the flasher tool from the X-Mem floppy to delete the ROMs that I wanted to. So it looks like I am going to have to reinstall/completely re-flash the X-Mem from scratch and re-install the ROMs from basic  :o

Unless of course somebody on here can give me a quick idiots guide on how to use the flasher tool?
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: Ast on 14:44, 08 September 15
You had to use :
ùflash,"nameoftherom",number of rom you want to flash.
You don't need to erase rom because you have just to copy a new one in any slot you want (free or not)
But if you really want to erase a slot, just flash an empty file (size must be 16384 bytes)
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: Bryce on 15:09, 08 September 15
Or write 16K worth of &FF to it :)

Bryce.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 15:24, 08 September 15
You had to use :
ùflash,"nameoftherom",number of rom you want to flash.
You don't need to erase rom because you have just to copy a new one in any slot you want (free or not)
But if you really want to erase a slot, just flash an empty file (size must be 16384 bytes)

I can't get that to work either. The name of the ROM is not showing properly in the slots that I put SymbOS in, which doesn't help  :(  Was the uflash command supposed to be used in Basic or the X-Mem's flasher utility? Or was you meant to type unflash, not uflash?

Unfortunately I have never written code, so I don't know how to make up an empty file of the correct size.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: Bryce on 15:26, 08 September 15
I think he means |flash , not ùflash (as typed on a french keyboard).

Bryce.

Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: TotO on 15:43, 08 September 15
Exactly. 'ù' is a side effect and must not have to be used for speaking about RSX, because the '|' symbol is available on all CPC keyboards.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: Ast on 16:29, 08 September 15
Yes, you're right and you can use |flash (not unflash which not exist) to flash a rom with basic (3.1 or else) command is already installed on X-mem.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 16:39, 08 September 15
Ok thanks for the reply's and for clearing that up for me. Will have a go at the now and hopefully it will sort itself out.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: Ast on 16:57, 08 September 15
Good luck and have a good fun.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: TFM on 19:39, 08 September 15
Ok, back from Labour day weekend, so here we go:
- The Symbos ROMs are flashed incorrectly, therefore they can't be initialized.
- Other ROMs are fine.

Solution:
- Install FutureOS
- Use my ROManager 2.14 (runs only with FutureOS)
- Reinstall SymbOS ROMs, (they will be handled correctly with or without header)
- Delete Future OS if not needed afterwards.

Now you can also send me the ROMs which make problems via email, so I can analyzed them about problems.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CraigsBar on 21:04, 08 September 15
Ok thanks for the reply's and for clearing that up for me. Will have a go at the now and hopefully it will sort itself out.
Hopefully. Bit Symbos and FutureOS are worth the effort.


FutureOS is blistering fast, SymbOS is amazingly impressive for whole other reasons ;)

Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 22:37, 08 September 15
Ok. I have cleared the X-Mem and reinstalled the software on the X-Mem floppy disc. Also took the option to install the CP/M ROMs in slots 8 and 9. Then I tried to flash the SymbOs ROM A to slot 10 from basic. Unfortunately it appears to have not flashed properly to my X-Mem and I get the same funny symblol/writing as I did in the picture that I posted earlier, rathan than it actually saying SmybOS 2.1 like it should.


I made up a .dsk image of just the SmybOS ROM A,B,C and D ROM images using the program MakeDsk. The images were downloaded directly from the SmybOS website, straight to my hard drive. From there I used CPCdskXP to copy the resultant .dsk image to a standard Amsdos data formatted 3.5" floppy.


Therefore I am wondering if either something has gone wrong in this process, or I have missed something out or not done it correctly? Has anybody else got any ideas on what I could do next? Alternatively could somebody please post on here a known working .dsk image of just the SymbOs ROMs that I could download?
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 22:43, 08 September 15
Ok, back from Labour day weekend, so here we go:
- The Symbos ROMs are flashed incorrectly, therefore they can't be initialized.
- Other ROMs are fine.

Solution:
- Install FutureOS
- Use my ROManager 2.14 (runs only with FutureOS)
- Reinstall SymbOS ROMs, (they will be handled correctly with or without header)
- Delete Future OS if not needed afterwards.

Now you can also send me the ROMs which make problems via email, so I can analyzed them about problems.


Thanks for your help and advice again TFM. I may well try that tomorrow. Is there any instructions/idiots guide that I could download from somewhere at all? I only ask, as I could not see one on the Future OS site?
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CraigsBar on 22:46, 08 September 15
Ok. I have cleared the X-Mem and reinstalled the software on the X-Mem floppy disc. Also took the option to install the CP/M ROMs in slots 8 and 9. Then I tried to flash the SymbOs ROM A to slot 10 from basic. Unfortunately it appears to have not flashed properly to my X-Mem and I get the same funny symblol/writing as I did in the picture that I posted earlier, rathan than it actually saying SmybOS 2.1 like it should.


I made up a .dsk image of just the SmybOS ROM A,B,C and D ROM images using the program MakeDsk. The images were downloaded directly from the SmybOS website, straight to my hard drive. From there I used CPCdskXP to copy the resultant .dsk image to a standard Amsdos data formatted 3.5" floppy.


Therefore I am wondering if either something has gone wrong in this process, or I have missed something out or not done it correctly? Has anybody else got any ideas on what I could do next? Alternatively could somebody please post on here a known working .dsk image of just the SymbOs ROMs that I could download?
I can post mine that I flashed mine fom last night... Do you have parados? as mine is a Romdos D1 format, otherwise I'll copy them onto a normal DSK

Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: TFM on 22:49, 08 September 15

Thanks for your help and advice again TFM. I may well try that tomorrow. Is there any instructions/idiots guide that I could download from somewhere at all? I only ask, as I could not see one on the Future OS site?


Yes. The ROManager Disc / DSK has a file called "-Read-Me.txt" on Disc, you can TYPE it on screen. Also the ROManager itself displays online help. Or do you mean to install Symbos itself? That should really be only to Flash the ROMs.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 22:52, 08 September 15
Hopefully. Bit Symbos and FutureOS are worth the effort.


FutureOS is blistering fast, SymbOS is amazingly impressive for whole other reasons ;)


Well unfortunately it didn't work again Craig  :( . See my new post.


Yes I am sure that they are both good in there own ways and I commend there makers for the time, trouble and effort that they have put into them. It's just a shame and has peed me off a little bit that I can't seem to get them onto the equally good X-Mem that TotO put the time, trouble and effort into as well.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 22:59, 08 September 15
I can post mine that I flashed mine fom last night... Do you have parados? as mine is a Romdos D1 format, otherwise I'll copy them onto a normal DSK


Yep I do have parados. If you could post yours, that would be great. I take it that I could still use my external floppy as drive A: rather than drive B:? I do have both an ABBA switch and a side switch.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 23:04, 08 September 15

Yes. The ROManager Disc / DSK has a file called "-Read-Me.txt" on Disc, you can TYPE it on screen. Also the ROManager itself displays online help. Or do you mean to install Symbos itself? That should really be only to Flash the ROMs.


Sorry TFM, was meant to say are there any instructions/an idiots guide on how to use Future OS? The Read-Me.txt for the ROManager disc will be useful anyway.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: TFM on 23:25, 08 September 15

Sorry TFM, was meant to say are there any instructions/an idiots guide on how to use FutureOS? The Read-Me.txt for the ROManager disc will be useful anyway.

The installation Archive contains an -ReadMe file, it's a kind of quick start guide. Here you go:


EDIT: Just let PM me if you need details :-) Dunno want to spam this here too much :-)
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CraigsBar on 00:34, 09 September 15

Yep I do have parados. If you could post yours, that would be great. I take it that I could still use my external floppy as drive A: rather than drive B:? I do have both an ABBA switch and a side switch.
here you go. It's got MUCH more than just Symbos On it.


Set the side switch to Side A and leave the 3.5 inch drive as B, then it'll just read the Romdos D1 format as normal.


800k in one shot, Lovely
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 00:57, 09 September 15
@TFM (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=179) - Thanks for the pointer. I will PM you if I need any more info on Future OS


@CraigsBar (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=482) - Thanks for posting that up Craig. Ever helpful as usual  :D
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 23:01, 10 September 15
Good news. At last I managed to install the SymbOS ROMs to my X-Mem  :)  yesterday. Just need to put the other ROMs that I had back on. Then when I get some more proper spare time, I will have a go at installing Future OS and having a play with that.


Thanks again everyone.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: TFM on 23:04, 10 September 15
Good to hear that you had success!  :)  With FutureOS it's easy. Just type run"disc and leave anything else to the installer  :)
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: TFM on 19:28, 29 October 15
... Then when I get some more proper spare time, I will have a go at installing Future OS and having a play with that.


Any success / problems? Please let me know. I'm there to help.  :)
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: CPC_Fan on 23:13, 12 November 15
Still haven't got round to installing it yet TFM  :(  Haven't had hardly any time recently to spend on the Amstrad unfortunately. Will let you know as soon as I can get some time to do it.
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: TFM on 23:51, 12 November 15
Oh yes, this good old time problem.... they just don't sell TIME  at ACME.  :laugh: ;) :)
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: francouai on 19:15, 01 October 16
Sorry to re-open this old topic but I have exactly the same problem.

unable to flash Symbos and the Xmass ROM into Xmem.

When you flash your XMEM, the jumpers are set to 6128/ROM/FREE?

It looks like the ùFLASH doesn't flash the Xmem.
I tried with ROMAIN V1 the Rom Manager, same...
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: Ast on 19:29, 01 October 16


And how is the jumper below these buttons ?
Do any others installed roms work ?
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: francouai on 19:38, 01 October 16
FW3.15 works when I set the jumper to "ROM"
I correctly configure the XMEM to have 3.15 FR ; 444ko and CPM on 7and 8.
since.. this card don't want to take any other ROM in.  :doh:
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: francouai on 20:10, 01 October 16
I just tried to install SYMBOS rom into 5/29/30/31

I set the BOOT jumper to CPC.
power on my CPC+

enter this CMD lines ("ù" because I'm using a AZERTY keyboard.)
ùflash,"SYM-ROMA.ROM",5  = screen is scratching then back to the prompt
ùflash,"SYM-ROMB.ROM",29 = screen is scratching then back to the prompt
ùflash,"SYM-ROMC.ROM",30 = screen is scratching then back to the prompt
ùflash,"SYM-ROMD.ROM",31= screen is scratching then back to the prompt

Power off the CPC+
Set the BOOT jumper to ROM.

Power on the CPC+
CPC is booting on the FW3.15
I enter ùSYM.. "unknown command"

I launch "ROMAIN V1 Rom Manager" software, and I see nothing on the blocks 5/29/30/31

Hoooo yeahhhhhhh...  :picard:
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: TFM on 00:17, 02 October 16

Did you set the X-MEM to Write enable?    Else...

Well, then please use my ROManager, maybe this helps. See download section of www.FutureOS.de (http://www.FutureOS.de)  :)
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: francouai on 02:12, 02 October 16
Yes, the jumper 3 is set to "FREE"
Title: Re: ROM software positions/slots in a X-Mem
Post by: francouai on 12:35, 02 October 16
problem fixed.
not sure how.. but it works now.

BOOT to CPC
run"INIT
run"INTALL  (without D drive and CPM)
run"FLASH
and go...