Author Topic: DD-1 on CPC 6128 PLUS?  (Read 706 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline francouai

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
  • Country: fr
  • CPC6128+
  • Liked: 19
DD-1 on CPC 6128 PLUS?
« on: 15:38, 04 January 18 »
Hello!
I have a 6128 PLUS with internal GOTEK drive as "A"
I'd like to use my AMSTRAD DD-1 External Drive as "B".

DD1 is EDGE and my PLUS is CENTRONICS.  :picard:
I opened the EDGE interface and it is full for electronics inside so I don't think a straight cable from CENDRONICS to 34 PIN (back of the DD-1) will works.

Any solution?
--
francois

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 10.430
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3610
Re: DD-1 on CPC 6128 PLUS?
« Reply #1 on: 16:15, 04 January 18 »
That won't work. The DDI-1 is a floppy controller, so you would have two floppy controllers in parallel with each other. You need to get a cable to connect your FD-1 directly to the smaller Centronics connector behind the drive (without using the DDI-1 at all) and it will then act as B:.

Bryce.

Offline Chinnery

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 56
Re: DD-1 on CPC 6128 PLUS?
« Reply #2 on: 17:50, 04 January 18 »
The DDI-1 was both the controller and the drive. the FD1 drive was identical to the DDI-1 drive. You should be able to unplug the DDI-1 interface from the drive at the drive's side - the interface is not needed in your situation


One thing to make note of - before plugging the drive anywhere, open it up and disconnect the power that goes back to the ribbon cable - it WILL fry your 6128+.... I know. I did it.  :doh:
« Last Edit: 21:35, 04 January 18 by Chinnery »

Offline francouai

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
  • Country: fr
  • CPC6128+
  • Liked: 19
Re: DD-1 on CPC 6128 PLUS?
« Reply #3 on: 20:19, 04 January 18 »
Thanks guys for your quick reply.
And huge thank you about pointing the 5volts connector!

One of my friend will make me a CENTRONICS to 34pins ribbon cable this week, so I'll be able to play/test middle of next week.
--
francois

Offline ||C|-|E||

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.759
  • Country: gb
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Mundo CPC
  • Liked: 986
Re: DD-1 on CPC 6128 PLUS?
« Reply #4 on: 22:23, 04 January 18 »
One thing to make note of - before plugging the drive anywhere, open it up and disconnect the power that goes back to the ribbon cable - it WILL fry your 6128+.... I know. I did it.  :doh:

Solid advise that one... particularly with the Plus models.

On the other hand, I have a FD1 connected to my modded 464 Plus and it actually works very well  :)
« Last Edit: 22:25, 04 January 18 by ||C|-|E|| »

Offline francouai

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
  • Country: fr
  • CPC6128+
  • Liked: 19
Re: DD-1 on CPC 6128 PLUS?
« Reply #5 on: 21:35, 28 March 18 »
just received the ribbon cable bought on ebay:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/232710122074?ViewItem=&item=232710122074

All connected on plus 6128 CPC PLUS.
but it doesn't works..
look like I'm getting a conflict with the Gotek (HXC) on the Drive A.
When I'm entering |B then CAT, I'm getting the famous |CPM error message.

If I disconnect the Gotek from the CPC, the external drive works at least fine.
I'm wondering if there is jumper issue on my Gotek drive.
--
francois

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 965
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 921
Re: DD-1 on CPC 6128 PLUS?
« Reply #6 on: 00:40, 29 March 18 »

If I disconnect the Gotek from the CPC, the external drive works at least fine.
I'm wondering if there is jumper issue on my Gotek drive.

Could be, there should be  a jumper on S0 inside the gotek,  and not S1.

Offline francouai

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
  • Country: fr
  • CPC6128+
  • Liked: 19
Re: DD-1 on CPC 6128 PLUS?
« Reply #7 on: 22:12, 29 March 18 »
According to google, looks like there is some PIN to remove or swap on the CENTRONICS connector.

Let me try to explain my config;
I have a CPC 6128 PLUS and I removed the internal floppy drive and replace it by a ZAXON HXC drive ( Polish gotek clone).
I have a FD-1 external drive and I wanted to transfer .DSK files from the HXC drive (|A) to real floppy disk (|B).
I used this Centronics/floppy ribbon cable, but I'm getting a READ ERROR when I do "|B" and "CAT".
The famous CPM horrible noise and "R/I/C".
I don't have any specific jumper on this ZAXON drive.
--
francois

Offline tjohnson

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 530
  • Country: gb
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 170
Re: DD-1 on CPC 6128 PLUS?
« Reply #8 on: 11:05, 30 March 18 »
Disconnect the internal hxc drive and try it again

Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk