Author Topic: Help With M4  (Read 539 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chinnyhill10

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.214
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 585
Help With M4
« on: 12:39, 22 July 17 »
Top bod Craigsbar sent me an M4 card to review for the Youtube channel. Very generous of him and so far I'm blown away by just the concept of dragging and dropping files onto my CPC. In fact if you follow me on Twitter I had someone remotely loading stuff on there across the internet. Really cool stuff. Been trying out various ROM's etc all just fine.


The one issue I'm having is getting games to run. Try as I might everything I've tried so far just crashes out. I tried moving the M4 ROM to slot 7 but my 6128 refuses to start up (it hangs halfway through displaying the Amstrad copyright message).


So what am I doing wrong? I'm using cracked versions but they seem to get as far as the loading screen and then hang. The latest two I tried last night were Rampage and Turbo Esprit.


I know this is user error rather than a device fault, but having read and re-read the docs I can't work it out. Unless my 6128 is playing up? Edge connector is clean but should I re-clean it with something a bit more aggressive?


Any ideas? Cheers.
--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 698
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 636
Re: Help With M4
« Reply #1 on: 13:53, 22 July 17 »
Not all regular CPC6128's allows you to replace Rom 7 (in fact very few do).
To come around that problem, set M4 rom to 6.
Then upload the modified lowerrom from here:
http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/M4_Board
(Various Files)
To ie. slot 31
Tick enable lowerrom in the webui then Set.
Set lowerrom slot 31 then Set.
Reboot the M4 / CPC
Now the CPC will think M4 is rom 7.

That should help. Edge connector cleaning is always good too, if you encounter lockup's or resets etc, after I cleaned mine mechanically there has never been an issue. IPA alone is rarely enough.

EDIT: Also a quick way to verify if your edge connector is good.
Write a small basic program:
mode 2
10 cat
20 |time
30 goto 10

And let it run for some time, if all is good it can run endless, otherwise it will hang/reset or give random pixel errors eventually.

Top bod Craigsbar sent me an M4 card to review for the Youtube channel. Very generous of him and so far I'm blown away by just the concept of dragging and dropping files onto my CPC. In fact if you follow me on Twitter I had someone remotely loading stuff on there across the internet. Really cool stuff. Been trying out various ROM's etc all just fine.


The one issue I'm having is getting games to run. Try as I might everything I've tried so far just crashes out. I tried moving the M4 ROM to slot 7 but my 6128 refuses to start up (it hangs halfway through displaying the Amstrad copyright message).


So what am I doing wrong? I'm using cracked versions but they seem to get as far as the loading screen and then hang. The latest two I tried last night were Rampage and Turbo Esprit.


I know this is user error rather than a device fault, but having read and re-read the docs I can't work it out. Unless my 6128 is playing up? Edge connector is clean but should I re-clean it with something a bit more aggressive?


Any ideas? Cheers.
« Last Edit: 13:58, 22 July 17 by Duke »

Offline gerald

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.217
  • Liked: 862
Re: Help With M4
« Reply #2 on: 15:32, 22 July 17 »
Not all regular CPC6128's allows you to replace Rom 7 (in fact very few do).
By construction none of CPC6128/CPC664 allows you to replace ROM 7.
It only works if you have stronger pad driver (resulting in bigger short circuit on conflicting bits) on the external ROM than in the internal one.
Or removing the internal amsdos ROM

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 698
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 636
Re: Help With M4
« Reply #3 on: 16:46, 22 July 17 »
By construction none of CPC6128/CPC664 allows you to replace ROM 7.
It only works if you have stronger pad driver (resulting in bigger short circuit on conflicting bits) on the external ROM than in the internal one.
Or removing the internal amsdos ROM
Yes, I read up on the long thread about it ages ago. Not sure if it was 100% verified that MC020C is not different, but probably as you say it has weaker signals, which makes it possible.
At the end of the day, using the modified lowerrom is just as good (and no databus contention), as most loaders use firmware for rom initialization.

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.132
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1042
Re: Help With M4
« Reply #4 on: 22:42, 22 July 17 »
ChinnyVision, are you running from the dsk files directly, or have you extracted the files from the dsk to the sd card in in a directory. So far I have had no problems with cngsofts compactages as most of these are single file runnable hacks.

Sent from my ONEPLUS 3t using Tapatalk


Offline chinnyhill10

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.214
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 585
Re: Help With M4
« Reply #5 on: 00:49, 24 July 17 »
Thanks for the help so far. Still having issues. Basically the games start loading but then try to access the normal A drive resulting in a crash.


I am loading from the dsk files in Amsdos by CD'ing into the 'directory' and then running it as usual. Is this wrong?


Not tried any CNG stuff as yet.Just older cracks.



--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 698
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 636
Re: Help With M4
« Reply #6 on: 01:00, 24 July 17 »
Thanks for the help so far. Still having issues. Basically the games start loading but then try to access the normal A drive resulting in a crash.
This is normal behaviour of many games that re-initialize the disc roms, therefore you need to use the modified lowerrom to mimic M4 being the actual disc rom.
However there is also "cracked" games that still contain raw FDC access, which will fail also, while accessing the real disc drive. However it would be odd if all the games you tried are like this, I would say atleast 90% of all cracked games work if you use the modified lowerrom.
Quote
I am loading from the dsk files in Amsdos by CD'ing into the 'directory' and then running it as usual. Is this wrong?
That's the way to do it.

Offline Shaun M. Neary

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 904
  • Country: ie
  • Loading: Please Wait...
    • Shaun Neary Photography
  • Liked: 240
Re: Help With M4
« Reply #7 on: 04:19, 24 July 17 »

Not tried any CNG stuff as yet.Just older cracks.


Ditch them and update your collection. They're headache inducing, especially if you're a Plus user!


Pop over to CPC Rulez and find yourself some newschool cracking replacements.
Amstrad 6128+, M4 board, Mother X4, Gotek HXC, 3.5" external w/ ABBA switch and MFII clone.
GX4000 w/ C4CPC... Forever playing Bruce Lee

Offline Fabrizio Radica

  • Supporter
  • CPC664
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Country: it
  • MSX Amiga and CPC6128 User
    • Retroacademy
  • Liked: 55
Re: Help With M4
« Reply #8 on: 23:59, 12 September 17 »
Not all regular CPC6128's allows you to replace Rom 7 (in fact very few do).
To come around that problem, set M4 rom to 6.
Then upload the modified lowerrom from here:
http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/M4_Board
(Various Files)
To ie. slot 31
Tick enable lowerrom in the webui then Set.
Set lowerrom slot 31 then Set.
Reboot the M4 / CPC
Now the CPC will think M4 is rom 7.

That should help. Edge connector cleaning is always good too, if you encounter lockup's or resets etc, after I cleaned mine mechanically there has never been an issue. IPA alone is rarely enough.

EDIT: Also a quick way to verify if your edge connector is good.
Write a small basic program:
mode 2
10 cat
20 |time
30 goto 10

And let it run for some time, if all is good it can run endless, otherwise it will hang/reset or give random pixel errors eventually.

same problem here :(


- lower-rom slot to 31.
- i set slot 31 with lowerrom patched.
- i set lower-rom-enabled (checked) on "M4 Rom Config" section.

But i don't know how to set the m4rom (it's a file?) on slot 6

When i write |m4help on CPC, it return me:

...
6 M4 Board
7 CPM ROM
...
...
31 Basic

tnx :(
Amstrad CPC6128 <3
http://www.facebook.com/groups/retroacademy/
Retroacademy.it - retrocomputing, retrogame anni &#039;70, &#039;80, &#039;90

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 698
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 636
Re: Help With M4
« Reply #9 on: 00:41, 13 September 17 »
The M4 rom is embedded into the M4 firmware, you just pick a slot for it in the web interface under ROMS. Default is 6.
So it seems you have done everything correct if it is still in slot 6.

Remember that copyprotected dsk's will not work, find a cracked version of game in question if it still tries to access drive A (direct FDC I/O).

same problem here :(


- lower-rom slot to 31.
- i set slot 31 with lowerrom patched.
- i set lower-rom-enabled (checked) on "M4 Rom Config" section.

But i don't know how to set the m4rom (it's a file?) on slot 6

When i write |m4help on CPC, it return me:

...
6 M4 Board
7 CPM ROM
...
...
31 Basic

tnx :(