Author Topic: Connecting edge-Hardware to Centronics-CPC  (Read 467 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shining

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 249
  • Country: de
    • Shinings little CPC page
  • Liked: 332
Connecting edge-Hardware to Centronics-CPC
« on: 11:57, 21 February 19 »
Since I just ordered "Five of a kind aces" with edge-connector, which is fine for my 464 but not for my 6128 and plus, I was wondering if there
is an existing pcb-design for a converter between centronics and edge.


I only find this: http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/Expansion_Converter
But I'm searching for a solution with a pcb, where I only have to solder a centronics into.


For example this one: https://www.digikey.de/product-detail/de/te-connectivity-amp-connectors/1734099-5/A33462-ND/1121331

TGS is back

Download my productions at:
cpc.scifinet.org

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 10.652
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3711
Re: Connecting edge-Hardware to Centronics-CPC
« Reply #1 on: 13:26, 21 February 19 »
From experience (that's my converter in the picture you linked to), they work, but they are relatively unreliable and regularly cause crashes. The most robust solution is to add both types of connectors to the flat cable of the device you want to connect.

Bryce.
 

Offline ComSoft6128

  • ..................................
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 885
  • Country: scotland
  • CPC THEN CPC NOW
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 956
Re: Connecting edge-Hardware to Centronics-CPC
« Reply #2 on: 14:06, 21 February 19 »
Hi Shining,

While digging thru "The Amstrad cupboard from Hell" on Sunday I found an adaptor which I last used about 1996. It consists of a centronics connector linked by a ribbon cable to a female socket for a male edge connector. I assume that it still works but haven't checked it. If you are interested please let me know.

Offline Shining

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 249
  • Country: de
    • Shinings little CPC page
  • Liked: 332
Re: Connecting edge-Hardware to Centronics-CPC
« Reply #3 on: 14:21, 21 February 19 »
@Bryce: The game, I've bought has no flat-cable, the connector is directly assembled to the case. It seems there are existing a few male edge-connectors but none to crimp  :( .


@ComSoft6128: Definitely interested since I only need one!
TGS is back

Download my productions at:
cpc.scifinet.org

Offline ComSoft6128

  • ..................................
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 885
  • Country: scotland
  • CPC THEN CPC NOW
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 956
Re: Connecting edge-Hardware to Centronics-CPC
« Reply #4 on: 14:43, 21 February 19 »
OK,

There is no charge for this - just postage - probably about 4/5 Euro's. I no longer need it as all my peripherals now have centronics connectors.  I won't be able to post it until the end of next week, so if you get something else in the meantime let me know.

Cheers,

Peter
« Last Edit: 14:44, 21 February 19 by ComSoft6128 »

Offline Shining

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 249
  • Country: de
    • Shinings little CPC page
  • Liked: 332
Re: Connecting edge-Hardware to Centronics-CPC
« Reply #5 on: 15:17, 21 February 19 »
Many thanks! I'm absolutely not in a hurry, so take your time....
TGS is back

Download my productions at:
cpc.scifinet.org

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
  • Liked: 490
Re: Connecting edge-Hardware to Centronics-CPC
« Reply #6 on: 20:15, 21 February 19 »
What I did: Use flat cable, press one Centronics and one PCB-connector on it. then insert a PCB with two sides (equal) fitting into the PCB-connectors. Important: The little PCB must change up and down traces. I don't have a Eagle file of it.
« Last Edit: 20:25, 21 February 19 by GUNHED »
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.01.14)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Ver.: 2018.08.15)

Offline LambdaMikel

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.116
  • Country: us
    • Homepage
  • Liked: 564
Re: Connecting edge-Hardware to Centronics-CPC
« Reply #7 on: 20:23, 21 February 19 »
I am doing the following:
I crimp a CPC centronics male to female IDC connector cable (aka SCSI cable). 
Then, I use my CPC expansion port connector:


https://oshpark.com/shared_projects/3yA33GYO

and instead of soldering in the female IDC socket that usually hosts a MX4 compatible card, I solder in a


20Pcs 2mm 2.0mm Pitch 50 Pin Straight Male Shrouded Box Header IDC Connector


https://www.ebay.com/itm/20Pcs-2mm-2-0mm-Pitch-50-Pin-Straight-Male-Shrouded-Box-Header-IDC-Connector-/182247796250

Problem solved  ;)
« Last Edit: 20:26, 21 February 19 by LambdaMikel »

Offline LambdaMikel

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.116
  • Country: us
    • Homepage
  • Liked: 564
Re: Connecting edge-Hardware to Centronics-CPC
« Reply #8 on: 21:55, 22 February 19 »
You just mentioned it yourself in the other thread: LambdaBoard would also give you that.


https://www.seeedstudio.com/LambdaBoard-Expansion-Board-Backplane-for-Amstrad-CPC-Computers-g-1143632

Offline ComSoft6128

  • ..................................
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 885
  • Country: scotland
  • CPC THEN CPC NOW
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 956
Re: Connecting edge-Hardware to Centronics-CPC
« Reply #9 on: 11:03, 05 March 19 »
Hi Shining,

If the photos below show the connector you are looking for please PM your address and I will post it Thursday.

Cheers,

Peter

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
  • Liked: 490
Re: Connecting edge-Hardware to Centronics-CPC
« Reply #10 on: 15:46, 05 March 19 »
That's half the rent. It just needs the little PCB to form the edge.  :)
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.01.14)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Ver.: 2018.08.15)

Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.150
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
  • Liked: 2311
Re: Connecting edge-Hardware to Centronics-CPC
« Reply #11 on: 19:33, 05 March 19 »
That's half the rent. It just needs the little PCB to form the edge.  :)
Yes... Instead, just use a Centronics to MX4 ribbon cable (like for MotherX4) + this adapter.
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

Offline Shining

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 249
  • Country: de
    • Shinings little CPC page
  • Liked: 332
Re: Connecting edge-Hardware to Centronics-CPC
« Reply #12 on: 00:24, 13 March 19 »
@ComSoft6128: Many thanks for your offer but I think I'll need more something like TOTO posted.
@Toto: Is this PCB (or the gerber-files) somewhere available?
TGS is back

Download my productions at:
cpc.scifinet.org

Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.150
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
  • Liked: 2311
Re: Connecting edge-Hardware to Centronics-CPC
« Reply #13 on: 03:20, 13 March 19 »
@TotO: Is this PCB (or the gerber-files) somewhere available?
I have 2 or 3 left, I can send you that. PM me!  ;)
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

Offline tjohnson

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 616
  • Country: gb
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 202
Re: Connecting edge-Hardware to Centronics-CPC
« Reply #14 on: 13:45, 13 March 19 »
I have 2 or 3 left, I can send you that. PM me!  ;)


Hi all  sorry to jump in but where can I get one of the x4 expansion adapters?

Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.150
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
  • Liked: 2311
Re: Connecting edge-Hardware to Centronics-CPC
« Reply #15 on: 14:53, 13 March 19 »
Hi all  sorry to jump in but where can I get one of the x4 expansion adapters?
Sure, just PM me too.
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)