Author Topic: 464+ Mod  (Read 109093 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 17.190
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #150 on: 19:21, 02 February 13 »
The LCD screen is actually functional enough and it also has the advantage of looking nice and geeky. But the software option is so much easier to use!
like
0
No reactions

Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #151 on: 21:22, 02 February 13 »
I like the option to enable the CPC itself to control everything. Why?
For example a game can switch to another DSK (new levels f.e.) by itself, so it must not bug the user to "Change fecking irish disc please"[nb]Sentence taken from the game 'Feckin St. Patricks day in New Orleans'[/nb].
« Last Edit: 21:26, 02 February 13 by TFM/FS »
like
0
No reactions
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.502
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #152 on: 21:28, 02 February 13 »
Personally I prefer the LCD solution. I don't know of any software that can change the DSK on the HxC automatically like TFM mentions. Is there any? Even if it did exist, that would work independent of whether you used the LCD or not.

Bryce.
like
0
No reactions

Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #153 on: 21:41, 02 February 13 »
Check out the HxC ROM for the CPC, you should have it in your Megaflash.
 
like
0
No reactions
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.502
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #154 on: 22:08, 02 February 13 »
I have it already, but I wasn't aware that it automatically swaps disks for you!

Bryce
like
0
No reactions

Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #155 on: 22:14, 02 February 13 »
No, that's not what it does. But as you can use it to do that by hand, the same routines can be used in games, right?
like
0
No reactions
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.502
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #156 on: 22:22, 02 February 13 »
Yes, you could, but no-one has done it yet as far as I know. But it would also be possible even if you normally used the LCD.

Bryce.
like
0
No reactions

Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #157 on: 22:26, 02 February 13 »
My point was to enable software to switch the DSK file that is accessed, which can be done by the HxC driver software on the CPC side.
 
like
0
No reactions
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Offline TheCorfiot

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
  • Country: wales
  • Amibay Administrator
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #158 on: 02:08, 11 June 13 »
Hi Bryce

Can you pls confirm that R29, 10K is needed as it's not listed in the wiki article.
According to the schems this is the asic option setting to enable the disc controller.

Cheers Buddy, superb thread.

TC  ;)
« Last Edit: 02:11, 11 June 13 by TheCorfiot »
like
0
No reactions

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.502
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #159 on: 10:32, 11 June 13 »
Oooo, probably a mistake on the Wiki article. I'll check it out and edit the article :(

Edit: I just checked my notes and photos of the conversion. The reason I didn't mention R29 was because it was already present on the 464+ board for some reason. If your board doesn't have this resistor installed you'll need to add it. Can you check your board and let me know if it is there already?

Bryce.
« Last Edit: 10:50, 11 June 13 by Bryce »
like
0
No reactions

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.502
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #160 on: 14:17, 08 August 13 »
Hi,
     I've been asked for the pinout details for the Laptop Floppy drive which I modded above (and which never got installed anyway). The 26pin header on the laptop floppy drives are according to a standard, so the following file should be correct for most old shuggart laptop floppy drives. The two green columns in the sheet are all you need, the other rows are just for reference. Pins 6,7,9,11 and 13 on the laptop floppy connector aren't used by the CPC. Also, don't forget to connect pins 1,3 and 5 of the laptop connector to the CPCs 5V rail.

Bryce.


like
0
No reactions

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.502
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #161 on: 16:19, 19 October 14 »
Hi all,
      I've just finished playing loads of games on extensively testing Craigs 464+ which I've also converted to 6128+, however, Craig wanted a slightly different setup for the drives, so I thought I should document this version too. Craig wanted both drives to be external with an ABBA switch, so here's how it's done:

 [ Invalid Attachment ]

The DS0 signal can be found on pin 4 of the 26way header. If you just want both drives external without an ABBA switch, then all you need to do is connect this directly to pin 9 (5th from the left) of the Centronics socket. In this case Craig wanted an ABBA switch, so I have cut pin 11 (DS1) so that I can swap the signals with a small switch. So DS0 source is pin 4 of the header, DS1 source is the PCB side of the cut pin 11. DS0 output is pin 9 of the Centronics socket and DS1 output is the socket side of the cut pin 11. The external cable is the standard Plus cable for 3.5in disks (as on the Wiki), but with two 34way headers and no twist (as found on PC floppy cables).

Bryce. 



like
0
No reactions

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.381
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #162 on: 01:44, 20 October 14 »
Ooh, really excited now. I have 2 3.5 inch drives waiting. Oh and an hxc and an fd1. This will become my main Cpc. Oh how such a short time my 6128plus with tape mod was king. Oh well 2 machines of same spec in different cases. Before packing back into the unblemished case I might even put a reset button in too.

Craig
like
0
No reactions
IRC:  #Retro4All on Freenode

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.502
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #163 on: 10:24, 20 October 14 »
Well it will need to be slightly blemished. You need to cut the hole for the floppy port like the 6128+ has and a small hole for the ABBA switch.

Bryce.
like
0
No reactions

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.381
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #164 on: 10:54, 20 October 14 »
Well it will need to be slightly blemished. You need to cut the hole for the floppy port like the 6128+ has and a small hole for the ABBA switch.

Bryce.
oh indeed. But it's not going to go yellow by having 3 small holes cut in it. Reset & abba switches and drive port.
like
0
No reactions
IRC:  #Retro4All on Freenode

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.502
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #165 on: 11:26, 20 October 14 »
No. If it hasn't gone yellow already, then it probably never will.

Bryce.
like
0
No reactions

Offline zhulien

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 920
  • Country: au
  • aka Vorax
    • 8bitology
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #166 on: 01:00, 28 January 17 »
Hi Bryce, what is the width of the tape unit cover on the 464+?  Is it wide enough to fit a MotherX4 board in that spot with the cards sticking out the top?
like
0
No reactions

Offline robcfg

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 2.437
  • Country: se
  • 8-Bit Technomancer
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #167 on: 01:36, 28 January 17 »
Hi Bryce, what is the width of the tape unit cover on the 464+?  Is it wide enough to fit a MotherX4 board in that spot with the cards sticking out the top?


Hi, the tape lid is 11.8 cm long and 8 cm wide.


The MX4 is 8.4 cm wide (due to the power connector), but if you remove the tape unit completely, you may be able to fit the MX4.
like
0
No reactions

Offline zhulien

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 920
  • Country: au
  • aka Vorax
    • 8bitology
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #168 on: 02:41, 28 January 17 »
To me that sounds like a good idea, worth picking up a 464+ to mod... Might even be able to convert the buttons putting a sensor below them (unless they are physically part of the tape unit to be removed), eg: play button to be ROM enable/disable, another button for reset, then 4 more spare buttons for future use :D
« Last Edit: 02:51, 28 January 17 by zhulien »
like
0
No reactions

Offline ||C|-|E||

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.870
  • Country: gb
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Mundo CPC
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #169 on: 05:04, 28 January 17 »
The buttons are part of the tape unit, yes... you can have a look at them in this picture  :)


Offline zhulien

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 920
  • Country: au
  • aka Vorax
    • 8bitology
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #170 on: 05:42, 28 January 17 »
looks like they could be taken off with some type of pushbutton below - so they would become extenders for cosmetic purposes - like the Amiga 4000 PSU button, but shorter.  Lots of space inside if you remove that tape unit. Did you add a disc drive plug to that?
like
0
No reactions

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.502
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 464+ Mod
« Reply #171 on: 11:36, 28 January 17 »
It could work, but I think it will be very difficult to mount them at exactly the right position and lined up unless you use at least some of the original tapedeck frame.

Bryce.
like
0
No reactions