Author Topic: Quick Question About DDI-1  (Read 1378 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Badstarr

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: 00
  • Liked: 73
  • Likes Given: 8
Quick Question About DDI-1
« on: 13:48, 04 May 12 »
Just wondering if there is any particular reason why Amstrad opted to not bother with a through connector on the DDI-1? I'm considering adding a through connector to mine but I didn't want to jump right in, in case I'm missing an obvious reason for one not being present in the first place! 
Proud owner of 464 GTM64 6128 GTM65, GX4128 and a 464/6128 Plus Hybrid a 20 year long ambition realised! :-)

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 11.974
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4359
  • Likes Given: 461
Re: Quick Question About DDI-1
« Reply #1 on: 13:52, 04 May 12 »
Cos they were lazy bastards. No there's no reason why it couldn't have one. The only thing you need to watch is that you don't connect a ROMBoard / MegaFlash with ROM7 initialised, otherwise it will clash with the ROM7 in the DDI-1, although this is also possible without the thru-connector.

Bryce.

Offline Badstarr

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: 00
  • Liked: 73
  • Likes Given: 8
Re: Quick Question About DDI-1
« Reply #2 on: 14:01, 04 May 12 »
Thanks Bryce! Super quick reply! Perhaps Amstrad wanted to avoid potential ROM clashes by limiting the device chain? But more than likely as you say, they were just being cheap penny pinchers! I have disabled the internal ROM in my DDI-1 so it wont clash with the MegaFlash and the GX Amsdos ROM so I should be good to go  :D .
Proud owner of 464 GTM64 6128 GTM65, GX4128 and a 464/6128 Plus Hybrid a 20 year long ambition realised! :-)

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 11.974
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4359
  • Likes Given: 461
Re: Quick Question About DDI-1
« Reply #3 on: 14:33, 04 May 12 »
It was most likely a financial decision. Adding an edge PCB would have meant doing an additional manual soldering step, which is rather expensive. Without the thru-connector the entire PCB can be soldered in one trip through the wave solder tank.

Bryce.

Offline Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 16.272
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 3607
  • Likes Given: 6515
Re: Quick Question About DDI-1
« Reply #4 on: 16:34, 04 May 12 »
So, no lazy bastards after all :D

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 11.974
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4359
  • Likes Given: 461
Re: Quick Question About DDI-1
« Reply #5 on: 17:01, 04 May 12 »
Ok, not really lazy, just cheap.

Bryce.

Offline MacDeath

  • Chaotic post writer and mock-up specialist
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 4.068
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 1183
  • Likes Given: 666
Re: Quick Question About DDI-1
« Reply #6 on: 17:26, 04 May 12 »
*The CPC being cheap is a quality, AlanM . Sugar being cheap is a sad truth.
 :laugh:

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 11.974
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4359
  • Likes Given: 461
Re: Quick Question About DDI-1
« Reply #7 on: 23:31, 04 May 12 »
Am glad he was cheap, otherwise I may never have had a computer back then.

Bryce.

Offline Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 16.272
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 3607
  • Likes Given: 6515
Re: Quick Question About DDI-1
« Reply #8 on: 17:13, 08 May 12 »
Me too.


Me three, etc etc.