News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

CPC 6128 plus cassette mod - need some help. (Solved)

Started by AmstradNoob, 13:57, 19 December 18

Previous topic - Next topic

AmstradNoob

I'm at the lower end of novice when it comes to electronics.

I'm having great trouble with this mod - http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/DIY_Plus_Tape_Socket

I purchased an cassette cable from ebay, so I'm assuming it's wired up correctly.

I've managed to solder up everything, but I can't get the remote part to work correctly. I'm using a magazine cover tape to test with.

I can get the loading menu to load just fine. The loading menu is supposed to pause the tape I think, because the relay clicks, but the tape doesn't pause, it just keeps on playing.

Could someone please rework the diagram for a complete noob like me? Showing which points actually go to where on a 5pin din socket from the soldering side, just like on the 6128. Also, where to wire up on a relay switch? I'm using one like this - https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5V-12V-Mini-PCB-Relay-SPDT-5-Pin-Packs-of-1-2-5-or-10-Free-Postage/122195388493 (Please cut and paste the link, it'll work then.)

That way, I'll know for sure it's something screwy with my working, or something else.

Thanks in advance!

Bryce

If the relay is clicking you've done 90% correct. The Normally Open contacts of the relay should be connected to pins 1 and 3 (the top two pins) of the cassette socket. Without knowing what relay you used it's difficult to give you a more detailed description.

Bryce.

AmstradNoob

Thanks - please cut and paste the link. It'll work then, and you'll know which relay I've used. The title says, "5V / 12V Mini PCB Relay SPDT 5 Pin". I ordered a 5V one, and that's what I received.

I've believe I've wired up the relay correctly to pins 1 and 3. The tape decks (I've tried two different makes) just keep on going.

Bryce

These two pins need to go to pins 1 and 3 of the socket.
Bryce.