News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

CPC - Clock jitter

Started by Dandare, 01:18, 16 March 19

Previous topic - Next topic

Dandare

Hi everybody,
I'd like to tell you a little tale that led to CPC clock jitter discovery (edit: may be better called duty-cycle variance?) . (preliminary discovery)

I'm fairly new to the CPC, but in the past months I've come to learn quite a bit about its hardware implementation as I was designing the CPC Dandanator.

One of the first things I read from the very start is that the clock in the CPC is running at 4mhz while, for video output reasons, effective clock speed is slower (due to the automatic wait insertion). In any case, and as opposed to the Sinclair Spectrum where 48k and 128k speeds are different, the CPC timings are consistent across all the models.
So I assumed as much and designed the CPC Dandanator, that works nicely on all the CPC range since it's synched to the internal clock.
So far so good.

Then I developed a bitbang routine to talk to a PC/MAC over USB, running at 57.600 bps. All good here. I did some tests for 115.200 but it was pretty tight according to the CPC timings so I didn't want to publish it.
Some weeks ago, Syx took a look at the 115.200 routine and proposed a couple of nops here and there and everything started working like a charm, so we launched our code with 115.200bps for the 200 USB-Equipped CPC dandanator on the field.

Yesterday, a Spanish forum user (metsämies) pointed that it was working perfectly on a 6128, but not so good on a CPC464... So I did some preliminary investigation and I was able to replicate his problem. I found this funny fact on a 464 when testing the CLK signal on a 100Mhz oscilloscope (so it shouldn't be caused by aliasing) : 4Mhz clock is not really a 4mhz clock.