News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

cpc464 problem with tape drive

Started by Sonic, 22:11, 16 March 11

Previous topic - Next topic

Sonic

Hi all.
I'm new to 8bit homecomputers and I just bought a CPC 464 with green monitor.
The system is running fine, I just have a problem with the tape recorder.
Rewind and fast forward works, but when I want to "play" or "record" something, it always messes up the tape of the cassette. :(
It rolls off the tape from the one side, but it doesn't roll up the tape on the other side of the cassette. So in the end the tape is in the recorder and not inside the cassette. I already tried a different cassette but still the same problem.
Does anyone know why this problem occurs? And more important, does anyone know a solution?
I'm thankfull for any help. ;)

-Sonic

Bryce

First of all, hi and welcome to the forum,
There's two reasons why this can happen. The tape is being fed through two rollers which consist of a rubber wheel and a metal bar. These pull the tape past the head and make sure the tape is held tight against the head. After a few years the rubber wheel and even the metal bar will be full of gunk. Clean the two rubber rollers and the bars and the problem may go.
If it's not dirt, then the rubber wheel isn't being driven properly by the motor. To turn the tape, the motor turns the spool in the tape, but also one of the rubber wheels, if the rubber wheel was connected using a belt, then the belt is probably dried out / broken or whatever and the rubber wheel isn't turning. Both of these cause the tape to unravel.

Bryce.

Sonic

Hi, thanks for the welcome and the answer.
I already tried to clean the rubber rolls and the bars but it didn't help so I guess it's because the rubber wheel isn't turned by the motor.
What can I do now to solve the problem?

-Sonic

Bryce