News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Help to restore a old CPC 6128

Started by Lulubull, 21:29, 08 January 20

Previous topic - Next topic

Lulubull

Hello,
I am new on the forum and i would like to "restore" my CPC 6128. I have already saw some topics with the problem i have and i have saw, this problem is the RAM. I need your help because i don't understand the history with the PIN. The CPC  Thanks in advance.
Best Regards.
P.S : Sorry for my bad english. I am an French student.

Bryce

Hi Lulubull,
      yes, that looks like a RAM issue. Do you have the equipment/skills to replace the RAM? Or are you looking for someone to do the repair? If you want someone to swap the RAM you can send it to me.

Bryce.

Lulubull

Hi Bryce,
Thanks to reply me. In fact, i have the equipment to do that. I understand easily with pictures so i can do that. I have a soldering iron to replace the RAM. If i need other things to replace the RAM, tell me. I can buy stuff for that.
Best regards.

Bryce

Well you need to firstly find out which RAM chip is causing the problem. Then all you need is a new RAM chip and IC socket.

Bryce.

Lulubull

Ok, how i check a RAM chip ?
And i supposed the first RAM ship is the IC119 to IC126.
BR

Bryce

Actually no, the lower 64K is on the right, IC127 - IC134. Unless one or more RAMs are getting very hot, you will need some way of replacing the firmware ROM with an EPROM containing Geralds RAM Test to know exactly which chip has failed.

Bryce.

Lulubull

To replace the RAM, where can i buy it ?

Lulubull

And i have reed on another post, you said we can switch the lower and the upper because one of them is not necessary to boot the CPC. I'm wrong ?

Bryce

They're not made any more, so ebay is the only place to get them.
It doesn't sound as if you have much electronics experience. Are you confident that you can swap out RAMs without damaging the computer further?