News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

MANDEL.BAS

Started by ComSoft6128, 06:42, 26 July 19

Previous topic - Next topic

ComSoft6128

This short video (program from the WACCI PD library) shows the creation of a Mandelbrot image - look at the top of the image to see the program nearing completion. The program is LISTed at the end of the vid.
This was a royal pain in the backside - in the time this program took to execute (nearly 4 f**king hours :o ) I could have made ten other videos - aargh!

So, not being a programmer I have two questions:

1. Why did this take sooooo long to complete?
2. Why does it switch from Mode 2 to Mode 0?

Cheers,

Peter

TotO

4 hours and the floppy was write protected!  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

ComSoft6128

Hi TotO

These are 25/30 year old disks and I generally read from them only, also I was hoping to see a colour cycling demo as I have with another mandelbrot program that I possess - that one might be displayed in another later video.

Cheers,

Peter

pelrun

Quote from: ComSoft6128 on 06:42, 26 July 19
1. Why did this take sooooo long to complete?

That's a maths question - the mandelbrot set image is really computationally intensive to generate. It uses a simple formula, but for each point it iterates it many many times and counts how long it takes before the value goes off to infinity (if it's ever larger than 2 this is guaranteed, so that's what it checks for.) Points actually in the set (the green ones in the centre) *never* go off to infinity (the calculation bounces around chaotically forever), so the program has to give up after some number (40 here) for each of those.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mandelbrot_set

roudoudou

it take so long because it iterates too much regarding the final resolution