Author Topic: M4 and cp/m  (Read 2858 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Nicolas Lecoq

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: fr
  • 3CPC 6128, 3CPC 464, Oric Atmos, TO7.
    • Awards
M4 and cp/m
« on: 19:11, 05 December 20 »
Hello,I have a M4 from Duke. On my SD card, I have disc1.dsk and disk3.dsk. I have loaded disk1 on my cpc. But when I write "ùcpm", the cpc search a floppy disc on the driver and not on SD card. I want to program dr logo on my cpc 6128 and I can't. I program logo language on winape but it would be better on real machine.
Thx
Nicolas
« Last Edit: 19:14, 05 December 20 by Nicolas Lecoq »
like
0
No reactions

Offline robcfg

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 2.429
  • Country: se
  • 8-Bit Technomancer
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #1 on: 21:07, 05 December 20 »
That's because CP/M is accessing the floppy drive controller directly so the M4 cannot redirect that to the SD card.
like
0
No reactions

Offline MiguelSky

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 399
  • Country: es
    • CPCGamesCD
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #2 on: 10:15, 06 December 20 »
Maybe you can better use the tape version of Logo that is here: https://www.amstrad.es/doku.php?id=aplicaciones:logo or here https://www.cpc-power.com/index.php?page=detail&num=4386
« Last Edit: 10:16, 06 December 20 by MiguelSky »
like
0
No reactions

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 2.836
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #3 on: 21:47, 07 December 20 »
Better use CP/M Plus in ROM (the M4 provides ROM space), then you start more quick. See my homepage.


If there is interest, then I can put DR Logo 3 for CP/M Plus in ROM. However I have to check if this works, because IIRC it does use some specific routines from the Amsdos ROM.
like
0
No reactions
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Update: 2021.01.24)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2021.07.15)

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 2.836
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #4 on: 02:44, 10 December 20 »
Well, I had a look...

- LOGO3.COM does run with the ROM resident CP/M Plus.
- LOGO3.COM is 49 KB long, this would occupy 3 ROMs - IMHO toooo much

Solution: Start CP/M Plus from ROM and LOGO3 from DSK.
like
0
No reactions
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Update: 2021.01.24)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2021.07.15)

Offline Nicolas Lecoq

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: fr
  • 3CPC 6128, 3CPC 464, Oric Atmos, TO7.
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #5 on: 21:51, 12 December 20 »
Hello @GUNHED ,I have put CP/M+ ROM, found on cpcwiki from Vorax. It appears in starting the computer. But, when I enter |cpm, the floppy disc drive runs. The problem is not solved.

« Last Edit: 21:53, 12 December 20 by Nicolas Lecoq »
like
0
No reactions

Online VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.402
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #6 on: 21:54, 12 December 20 »
Try this:


|O
|OP
like
0
No reactions
Visit my BBS (Telnet) : flashbackbbs.sytes.net:6502
http://loaderror.eu/
Amiga 1200 Black Project

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 2.836
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #7 on: 22:29, 12 December 20 »
Hello @GUNHED ,I have put CP/M+ ROM, found on cpcwiki from Vorax. It appears in starting the computer. But, when I enter |cpm, the floppy disc drive runs. The problem is not solved.
You need to install both ROMs. Then you can f.e. start with !EMS.

However since you have installed maxam you can look at the RSX commands of the CPM Plus ROM with the command:
!HELP,rom_number
like
0
No reactions
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Update: 2021.01.24)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2021.07.15)

Offline Nicolas Lecoq

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: fr
  • 3CPC 6128, 3CPC 464, Oric Atmos, TO7.
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #8 on: 23:14, 12 December 20 »
Hello @GUNHED You are very fantastic  :D .
Logo3 is alive again on my CPC.thx you my friend....
like
0
No reactions

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 2.836
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #9 on: 23:16, 12 December 20 »
Hello @GUNHED You are very fantastic  :D .
Logo3 is alive again on my CPC.thx you my friend....
Wohoooo! Great you made it. To be honest I had some doubts if this works with DSKs on M4.
But it works for you that's all that counts.  :) :) :)
like
0
No reactions
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Update: 2021.01.24)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2021.07.15)

Offline Nicolas Lecoq

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: fr
  • 3CPC 6128, 3CPC 464, Oric Atmos, TO7.
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #10 on: 10:05, 13 December 20 »
I don't find my original disk cp/m+(disk 1-2) for this time. But I have the other floppy disk(3-4). I didn't use .dsk because under cp/m, I can't read the files on sdcard from M4. Logo3 works, it counts very much for me.
 8)

« Last Edit: 10:10, 13 December 20 by Nicolas Lecoq »
like
0
No reactions

Offline SkulleateR

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 471
  • Country: de
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #11 on: 20:28, 06 April 21 »
Ok, old thread but I had to revive this :)


Is there any way to get these working on a plain 464 with 64kb and M4 card ?


If I try to run this with |EMS I just get a reset :( If not, is there ANY way to get another version of CP/M running ?
like
0
No reactions

Offline Nicolas Lecoq

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: fr
  • 3CPC 6128, 3CPC 464, Oric Atmos, TO7.
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #12 on: 21:24, 06 April 21 »
like
0
No reactions

Offline HAL 6128

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 541
  • Country: de
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #13 on: 14:13, 07 April 21 »
As far as I know AMADOS 16kb ROM is devided into two half's: 8kb Bytes is used by AMADOS itself and the other rest by LOGO. Without the AMADOS ROM attached it is not possible to start LOGO. Do you have AMADOS uploaded on 464 / M4 board?
But using Logo on a CP/M 2 isn't much fun cause TPA is too small.
« Last Edit: 14:15, 07 April 21 by HAL 6128 »
like
0
No reactions
...proudly supported Schnapps Demo, Pentomino and NQ-Music-Disc with GFX

Offline zhulien

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 875
  • Country: au
  • aka Vorax
    • 8bitology
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #14 on: 05:48, 12 April 21 »
Vorax cp/m needs 128ko ram
https://cpcrulez.fr/applications_util-graduate_CPM_ROM-vorax.htm


That is correct.  In reality Vorax CP/M is really just Graduate CP/M ROM with the sign on changed - but I had created additional accessory ROMS for it if you can find them online.  They contain NSWP, XFORM etc.
like
0
No reactions

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 2.836
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #15 on: 15:39, 13 April 21 »
Exactly. Also CP/M Plus will always need 128 KB. Use CP/M 2.2 for 64 KB systerms.

Lot's of expansions ROMs for CP/M Plus in ROM (Graduade = Vorax, as explained in the last post) can be found on my HP.

If you need an application for CP/M Plus in ROM just let me know. Only prerequisite, it must be smaller than 16 KB.
like
0
No reactions
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Update: 2021.01.24)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2021.07.15)

Offline SkulleateR

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 471
  • Country: de
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #16 on: 15:43, 13 April 21 »
Use CP/M 2.2 for 64 KB systerms.


Exactly, and that is what I want to do (see my question), the ROM Version just was a try to get into ANY cp/m ... Problem is, I cannot load CP/M from M4 so I asked about a way to use it on my 464  :P
like
0
No reactions

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 2.836
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #17 on: 15:45, 13 April 21 »
Add 64 KB Expansion RAM to the 464.  :)
like
0
No reactions
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Update: 2021.01.24)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2021.07.15)

Offline SkulleateR

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 471
  • Country: de
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #18 on: 15:50, 13 April 21 »
Add 64 KB Expansion RAM to the 464.  :)
let me think of it ..... no  ;)
like
0
No reactions

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 2.836
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #19 on: 16:00, 13 April 21 »
let me think of it ..... no  ;)
Sorry, I mean... 4 MB of course.  ;D
like
0
No reactions
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Update: 2021.01.24)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2021.07.15)

Offline ajcasado

  • Supporter
  • CPC664
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: es
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #20 on: 16:17, 13 April 21 »
There are modified CPM disks that can be loaded with the basic command RUN"C" instead of the RSX |CPM, they are also in DATA format so you save some kB (Gunhed sent me one dsk). CPM can be loaded from the M4 SD card in this way, but once CPM is loaded you only can work with disks as there are no drivers for the M4 board in CPM.

EDIT: No way, it's also CP/M+
like
0
No reactions
CPC 664

Empiezas a envejecer cuando dejas de aprender.
You start to get old when you stop learning.

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 2.836
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #21 on: 16:37, 13 April 21 »
Yes, because CP/M Plus brings it's own BIOS and BDOS, it's doesn't use a DOS ROM.
like
0
No reactions
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Update: 2021.01.24)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2021.07.15)

Offline SkulleateR

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 471
  • Country: de
    • Awards
Re: M4 and cp/m
« Reply #22 on: 23:50, 15 April 21 »
Ok, so the only solution for a non-expanded CPC 464 is the USIfAC II, CPM 2.2 works fine there. I guess that's because of the FDC Emulation, ok then ....
like
0
No reactions