News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

SID tracker / player on CPC (non plus)

Started by BSC, 13:35, 05 November 13

Previous topic - Next topic

sigh

Quote from: BSC on 00:01, 06 February 14
The sna (snapshot) file should work with most emulators. Typing run + enter after loading should give you the tracker.

Hey Baby! Listen to my Face! :D 

I don't know.. Even though there's not much animation in Rythm Tengoku I think that would be kind of hard to do. The player needs a lot of CPU time and you had to interweave
all your game logic,
display routines, keyboard and joystick scanning with that. Not really impossible, but it would require you to think and code quite differently from what you might be used to.
I must admit though, that I have not yet really tried anything like that - even demo effects. And on top of that, I am not an expert in game creation.

Are you planning to write such a game?

I would definitely like to make such a game after I finish the others.

I got the sna file working - thanks!
Any chance of a little youtube tutorial? :)

Gryzor

I would really think that until the algorithms are finished, building the UI/help/whatever comes a distant second...

BSC

Quote from: sigh on 00:22, 06 February 14
I would definitely like to make such a game after I finish the others.

I got the sna file working - thanks!
Any chance of a little youtube tutorial? :)

When will that be? I think it would be a cool project to try to integrate the AYAY player with a game.

A tutorial is actually a cool idea! Have never done something like that, though. And it is quite unlikely
that this would happen in the foreseeable future.. But I'll keep it in my mind :)
** My SID player/tracker AYAY Kaeppttn! on github **  Some CPC music and experiments ** Other music ** More music on scenestream (former nectarine) ** Some shaders ** Some Soundtrakker tunes ** Some tunes in Javascript