News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

New Basic Demo for CPC 6128

Started by Bytebreaker, 23:24, 13 February 16

Previous topic - Next topic

Bytebreaker

Hi there,

please let me introduce myself. I originate from the Amiga demoscene and was a diskmag editor back in the late 90s. A few years ago I rediscovered my Amiga hobby, and along with it came my interest for 8bitters. Being a Commodore child it is not easy to say for me that the CPC is to me the most adult, ruling 8bit machine with superior Basic and breathtaking demo abilities (thank you, Batman group). As far as I can judge, the CPC is the only computer on which Basic demos can be done at all without looking too shitty.

So I want to present you a Basic demo I made that was inspired by the line effect in the CPC464 welcome cassette. Until now I did not manage to reproduce this effect 1:1 so if anyone has ripped the sourcecode I would be grateful to view it. I am still a beginner and I know that I will never reach the level of people like that polish guy who optimized the CPC boing ball effect here in this forum, but as long as I feel love and passion for the CPC, I will continue to try and learn. I also plan an intro in 6502 assembler on the C64 as soon as I have learned enough and then one day I will learn Z80 assembler.

You start the demo with run"disc. Please also note the analog clock I added as a bonus. It works with the interrupt function that was already there in 1984 with Basic 1.0. My demo also works in modified form on a real CPC 464 on a real cassette tape. The only reason why I promote it as a CPC 6128 demo is the built-in fill function and the dsk support, which makes everything much smoother and better. Don't be scared by the first effect, which is rather a technical feasibility study than a smooth effect. Try CTRL-Shift-F4 in WinCPC and you will see what's it about.  I am grateful to be part of the Amstrad community now. Thanks for being here.