CPCWiki forum

Section française => Discussion générale => Topic started by: GFXOR on 20:52, 11 April 20

Title: Parados
Post by: GFXOR on 20:52, 11 April 20
Il semblerait qu'il soit possible d'utiliser Parados en ROM6 (ou moins), et que cela fonctionnerait dans la plupart des cas. Cela semble vouloir dire au minimum que le CPC ne plante pas à l'allumage si j'installe Parados quelque part avant la ROM 7.

J'ai fait plein de tests, avec les versions 1, 1.2 et 1.2+ de Parados, en ROM 6, 5 ou 1, aussi bien avec une X-Mem qu'une FlashGordon, le résultat est sensiblement le même : plantage à l'allumage.

Le seul test que je n'ai pas fait est de supprimer TOUTES les autres ROM, ou d'utiliser la RAMcard de Ram7 mais avant d'en arriver là (j'ai testé avec très peu de ROM quand même), j'aimerais savoir si je fais de travers un truc. Est-ce qu'il existe une autre version de Parados que je ne connais pas ?
Title: Re: Parados
Post by: Audronic on 02:11, 12 April 20
Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (http://www.deepl.com/Translator) (free version)
It would appear that it is possible to use Parados in ROM6 (or less), and that it would work in most cases. This seems to mean at least that the CPC will not crash on ignition if I install Parados somewhere before ROM 7.
I have done a lot of tests, with Parados versions 1, 1.2 and 1.2+, in ROM 6, 5 or 1, with both X-Mem and FlashGordon, the result is pretty much the same: crash on startup.
The only test I haven't done is to remove ALL the other ROMs, or to use the Ram7 RAMcard, but before I get there (I tested with very few ROMs anyway), I'd like to know if I'm doing something wrong. Is there another version of Parados I don't know about?


Title: Re: Parados
Post by: m_dr_m on 17:29, 20 April 20
I've been flawlessly using Parados 1.0 on ROM 6 for decades (CPC 6128), with a lot of other ROMs, on different Romboards (latest: X-MeM).

Maybe your ROM dump is corrupted somehow (e.g. include Amsdos header as raw bytes, or else). Check its size is &4000 aka 16384.


---
En Français : pas de problème pour moi avec CPC 6128 + Parados 1.0 en ROM 6 + plein de ROMs.

Title: Re: Parados
Post by: GFXOR on 17:56, 20 April 20
Thank you. The PARADOS ROM I found was on CPC-POWER.
Frankly speaking, I don't really need Parados anymore (I used another way), but I'd like to know the problem to avoid another future bug with my hardware, understand what happens...

My file is 16k on the disc (no header).
Title: Re: Parados
Post by: m_dr_m on 10:07, 30 April 20
Please join the DSK with the ROM on it for further investigation!


Oh putit it's you Sly? Le sheriff du gfx ?
Title: Re: Parados
Post by: GFXOR on 10:14, 30 April 20
Yes I am. I am using a pseudonyme not to be regognized.

Here is a DSK (http://sylvestre.org/bordel/ROM_PARADOS.dsk) including 2 different version of Parados. I tried all of them.
I am using ROMAN, which works perfectly with the other ROM.
Title: Re: Parados
Post by: SOS on 10:51, 30 April 20
Quote from: GFXOR on 10:14, 30 April 20
Here is a DSK (http://sylvestre.org/bordel/ROM_PARADOS.dsk) including 2 different version of Parados. I tried all of them.
Both Files are defective.
When you open them in an Hex-Viewer, you will see the problem.
Title: Re: Parados
Post by: GFXOR on 10:56, 30 April 20
Did anybody test the files coming frim CPC-Power ? It could help me to know if I am doing something wrong or if the ROM were corrupted before I touched them.
https://www.cpc-power.com/index.php?page=detail&num=12597
Title: Re: Parados
Post by: SOS on 11:02, 30 April 20
Quote from: GFXOR on 10:56, 30 April 20
Did anybody test the files coming frim CPC-Power ? It could help me to know if I am doing something wrong or if the ROM were corrupted before I touched them.
https://www.cpc-power.com/index.php?page=detail&num=12597
That one is ok  ;)
(it's for an Amstrad PLUS)
When you open them in an Editor and compare it to you old files, you will see huge differences (you dont need Z80-Skills)
Title: Re: Parados
Post by: GFXOR on 11:07, 30 April 20
Thank you, I will remake the test with another version (not for Plus). I don't know yet what I missed, but I am sure I will find... :-)
Title: Re: Parados
Post by: m_dr_m on 11:31, 30 April 20
Maybe the tool you used to transfer them or put them in a DSK was bugged.
Title: Re: Parados
Post by: GFXOR on 11:56, 30 April 20
Ok, I maybe found the problem. I am using the Ramlaid "CPCFS Tool". Useful to put files in DSK or to send them with CPC Booster. It seems that these 2 way to send ROM have problems (it works for any other files, but maybe not the ASCII files (ROM are ASCII files ?).
I tried to add the header (with the same tool...) but the result is the same.
I will maybe try AFT.
Because I habe the same problem with ROM Booster...

Now I think : all the ROM working were given to me with DSK or directly with files from CPC to CPC (the old good time).
Title: Re: Parados
Post by: GFXOR on 07:00, 01 May 20
Aft does not work either for the ROM.
How do you do your transferts ? Drive emulator or CPCBooster like ?
What tool do you use to put files in DSK ?
Title: Re: Parados
Post by: m_dr_m on 13:04, 02 May 20
My files have traveled from 3" to 3.5" floppies. 3.5" to HxC. HxC to X-Mass. No issues! (well, there is the occasional bug with new DOSes, but since I have backups on HxC, it's not a big deal).


For some cases i found iDSK working most of the time.
Title: Re: Parados
Post by: Sid_ on 12:02, 03 May 20
To transfer file you can use https://github.com/jeromelesaux/dsk (https://github.com/jeromelesaux/dsk)
The new implementation of idsk.
Sid
Powered by SMFPacks Menu Editor Mod