Author Topic: [WINAPE/Windows8] Bug ?  (Read 2918 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tronic

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Liked: 4
  • Likes Given: 3
[WINAPE/Windows8] Bug ?
« on: 22:40, 08 April 13 »
Hello,
I use winape for a long time on different PC (win xp, win 7, azerty keyboard) without any problems...
I also often uses many configurations (.rom/.kbd) without any problems...

I recently buy a new PC with windows 8, azerty keyboard.
Installed winape on it.
Works like a charm... but not the keyboard... even with the same configuration (rom/kbd) from the win xp / win7 i usually use...
Some keys on the PC/win8 keyboard are strangely not well recognized and strangely not configurable well too...
Strange garbages (see picture) also appear on the screen only and simply pressing the [right shift key] on the PC...
I've tested another PC keyboard on this win8 PC, same problems...
Also tested with many options enabled/disabled (AMX mouse, Multiface, Joystick... etc.. etc...), same problems...
Tried ton run winape with win xp / win 7 compatibility, same problems...
Tried older winape version, idem...

Finally, I tested winape on another PC running windows 8, same problems...  :o

Any clue ? Someone can also test ? Any issue ? Could it be a winape bug ?

Thanks for your help.
Tronic/GPA
[/right]
« Last Edit: 22:45, 08 April 13 by tronic »

Offline Devilmarkus

  • Vivid source of indefiniteness
  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 4.035
  • Country: de
  • WebCPC / JavaCPC developer
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPC-Live website
  • Liked: 1016
  • Likes Given: 926
Re: [WINAPE/Windows8] Bug ?
« Reply #1 on: 23:35, 08 April 13 »
The bug is: Windows 8 ;)

On a real CPC I'd say the AY is broken...

Did you also try older WinApe versions?
When you put your ear on a hot stove, you can smell how stupid you are ...

Amstrad CPC games in your webbrowser

JavaCPC Desktop Full Release

Offline ralferoo

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 969
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 583
  • Likes Given: 222
Re: [WINAPE/Windows8] Bug ?
« Reply #2 on: 20:56, 09 April 13 »
Looks like it thinks the control key is pressed down. Try pressing and releasing both ctrl buttons in turn.

Offline Devilmarkus

  • Vivid source of indefiniteness
  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 4.035
  • Country: de
  • WebCPC / JavaCPC developer
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPC-Live website
  • Liked: 1016
  • Likes Given: 926
Re: [WINAPE/Windows8] Bug ?
« Reply #3 on: 21:54, 09 April 13 »
Looks like it thinks the control key is pressed down. Try pressing and releasing both ctrl buttons in turn.

Well I think, the chars appear without pressing any keys.
It looks the same, when you don't connect the AY to the PPI port.
(No keyboard signals handled)
When you put your ear on a hot stove, you can smell how stupid you are ...

Amstrad CPC games in your webbrowser

JavaCPC Desktop Full Release

Offline Devilmarkus

  • Vivid source of indefiniteness
  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 4.035
  • Country: de
  • WebCPC / JavaCPC developer
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPC-Live website
  • Liked: 1016
  • Likes Given: 926
Re: [WINAPE/Windows8] Bug ?
« Reply #4 on: 22:12, 09 April 13 »
When you put your ear on a hot stove, you can smell how stupid you are ...

Amstrad CPC games in your webbrowser

JavaCPC Desktop Full Release

Offline Executioner

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 783
  • Country: au
  • WinAPE Developer
    • WinAPE
  • Liked: 391
  • Likes Given: 60
Re: [WINAPE/Windows8] Bug ?
« Reply #5 on: 02:04, 10 April 13 »
As per a previous thread on this topic, this has been fixed in the current source code and will be in the next release. It's caused by dodgy Windows 8 DirectX keyboard drivers. Please PM me for a copy of the Pre-Release.

Offline HAL 6128

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 516
  • Country: de
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 255
  • Likes Given: 1338
Re: [WINAPE/Windows8] Bug ?
« Reply #6 on: 13:53, 10 April 13 »
...on a previous post there's a description of changing the keyboard driver (on Win7 System). I had the same problem. With changing the driver the problem in that case was solved. Do you have hardware from HP?
...proudly supported Schnapps Demo, Pentomino and NQ-Music-Disc with GFX

Offline tronic

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Liked: 4
  • Likes Given: 3
Re: [WINAPE/Windows8] Bug ?
« Reply #7 on: 22:58, 10 April 13 »
Hello,
All, many thanks for your replies.
Hal6128, you were true, problem solved by changing keyboard driver of my Dell inspiron 2330 under win8.
Executioner, thanks & PM to get a copy of the pre-release also sent !
Best.
Tronic/GPA.