Author Topic: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor  (Read 4739 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Beaps

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 5
  • Likes Given: 3
Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« on: 16:44, 12 November 12 »
Hi All
 
 I REALLY hope someone can point me in the right direction
 
 I am looking for an Amstrad CPC emulator to run in my Arcade Machine on arcade 15khz Monitor. The native & best resolution is Ddraw & 320x240. I can run 640x480 but the screen is interlaced (vibrating) and the picture is not sharp.
 
 Does an emulator for the Amstrad exist as I have one for the Sceccy (realSpec I think its called) that has all these features & the image is truly amazing!
« Last Edit: 17:20, 12 November 12 by Beaps »

Online Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 11.331
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4008
  • Likes Given: 419
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #1 on: 17:10, 12 November 12 »
You're taking the piss!? How the hell is anyone meant to be able to read that? :D

Bryce.

Offline Beaps

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 5
  • Likes Given: 3
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #2 on: 17:21, 12 November 12 »
Sorry, amended font size (dam phone)

Offline ced64k

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
  • Country: be
  • 6128
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • 64k
  • Liked: 25
  • Likes Given: 6
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #3 on: 17:54, 12 November 12 »
A few years ago I made a little arcade machine with AdvanceMame/ArcadeOS. It's a DOS version of MAME. I made a direct VGA to RGB cable and with a special dos driver, it could run at 15 Khz on my TV.
Now I see that AdvanceMame "is a port of the MAME™ and MESS emulators for Arcade Monitors and TVs but also for normal PC Monitors. " And MESS can emulate Amstrad CPC…

Offline Beaps

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 5
  • Likes Given: 3
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #4 on: 18:12, 12 November 12 »
I am liking where you are coming from as I messed around with MessUi64 last night for ages but the emulator is really basic. I got it working in the end but its very basic.

Is there not these option in a more current emulator & I just didnt see them?

Offline mr_lou

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.023
  • Country: dk
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • 8-bit Memoirs - a Blu-ray diskmag-like eBook about the 8-bit era
  • Liked: 1189
  • Likes Given: 2414
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #5 on: 19:43, 12 November 12 »
I am using Lincade (Linux distro with MAME and MESS) to emulate MAME and Amstrad and C64.

It is connected to a TV directly from VGA output to SCART, and drivers tell the graphics cards to output 15khz signal. Works really great. Super clear and crisp picture.

Resolution can be changed with a single key while things are running.

Online Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 15.466
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 3088
  • Likes Given: 5683
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #6 on: 17:09, 14 November 12 »
I'm not really sure I understand the question/problem. I'm guessing you have your arcade cab all figured out, which means you're outputting at 15kHz through a VGA that supports this, correct?

Where is the problem then - that there's no emulator that does full screen at 320x240? Or something else?



Offline Beaps

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 5
  • Likes Given: 3
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #7 on: 17:23, 14 November 12 »
Ok here goes....

I have a Jamma arcade machine. I have a pc connected the cabinet via a JPac adapter. The maximum res the pc will display in the machine is an interlaced 640x480. If I drop the res by half to 320x240 then image quality is razor sharp. When I run MAME at this res with ddraw enable this gives an unbeatable image.

The problem I have is I need an Amstrad Emulator that displays a 320x240 Ddraw image that also runs at 60hz just like the speccy emulator does

Online Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 15.466
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 3088
  • Likes Given: 5683
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #8 on: 17:26, 14 November 12 »
That's the same setup I've got, I'd guess, but what VGA do you use? Will check later in the evening at what resolution I run my emulators and how they look...

Offline Beaps

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 5
  • Likes Given: 3
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #9 on: 17:40, 14 November 12 »
Maybe if I put up a quick YouTube video of the settings in speccy emu I need that might help with what I trying to explain?

Thanks for all your help with this guys. It's just bugging my why the amstrad screen looks so poor in comparison.

Online Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 15.466
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 3088
  • Likes Given: 5683
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #10 on: 17:42, 14 November 12 »
Quote from: Beaps
Maybe if I put up a quick YouTube video of the settings in speccy emu I need that might help with what I trying to explain?

Thanks for all your help with this guys. It's just bugging my why the amstrad screen looks so poor in comparison.
I know exactly what you mean, I think, but a vid wouldn't hurt. Had quite some trouble getting the thing to give me a steady image. 

You didn't say what VGA you use :)

Oh, btw, I found that a degausser really, really helped with my monitor's stability. Might be worth it to give it a try?

Offline Beaps

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 5
  • Likes Given: 3
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #11 on: 17:49, 14 November 12 »
The pc is VGA to the jamma head (into the jpac)

The screen in the cab does not have VGA input

Online Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 15.466
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 3088
  • Likes Given: 5683
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #12 on: 17:51, 14 November 12 »
Yeah, I know it does not, everyone does JAMMA, but what model is it and can do 15KHz?

Offline Beaps

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 5
  • Likes Given: 3
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #13 on: 18:03, 14 November 12 »
It's a Nanao MS9 15khz only arcade monitor

Online Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 15.466
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 3088
  • Likes Given: 5683
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #14 on: 18:04, 14 November 12 »
Hahaha!

VGA. Graphics card. Not the monitor! :)

Offline Beaps

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 5
  • Likes Given: 3
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #15 on: 18:12, 14 November 12 »
Hahaha sorry

It's an ATI HD 4550 that I am using 'soft 15khz' to enable a 15khz signal

Online Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 15.466
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 3088
  • Likes Given: 5683
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #16 on: 18:24, 14 November 12 »
Hmmm have no idea how well soft 15KHz works - I use a modified ATI that outputs 15KHz itself, but in any case I'll check my emus at home...

Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.597
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
  • Liked: 2717
  • Likes Given: 1618
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #17 on: 18:34, 14 November 12 »
It's a Nanao MS9 15khz only arcade monitor
Nanao are the best arcade monitor ever !!!  :-*
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

Offline Beaps

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 5
  • Likes Given: 3
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #18 on: 18:43, 14 November 12 »
I agree its a wicked image  :o

Like I said, I will post a vid later on tonight.

Offline Beaps

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 5
  • Likes Given: 3
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #19 on: 00:45, 15 November 12 »
Here you go, hope it make sense what I asking  :D
A quick video of ZX Spin emulator that I was hoping for an Amstrad emulator with the same setting to run in my arcade cab
Speccy Emu - YouTube

Online Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 15.466
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 3088
  • Likes Given: 5683
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #20 on: 10:00, 15 November 12 »
Never seen a Nanao in action, are they really that good? Got a Hantarex myself...

The video looks great, wow. Absolutely fantastic.

Unfortunately I got home last night and... my cab won't work :( Starts booting Windows but after the Windows XP loading logo it just gives me a black screen (though it boots into safe mode fine). Sorry, will probably have to install Windows again :(


Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.597
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
  • Liked: 2717
  • Likes Given: 1618
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #21 on: 10:28, 15 November 12 »
Never seen a Nanao in action, are they really that good? Got a Hantarex myself...
I got a 26" Hantarex (31Khz) to play with my Naomi 2, Dreamcast, XB360... Great monitors. The best in Europe. (Italian brand if I'm not wrong) :)
Nanao (Eizo) is the most famous japanese CRT monitor brand. You can four them on medical imaging too.
« Last Edit: 11:14, 15 November 12 by TotO »
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

Offline Beaps

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 5
  • Likes Given: 3
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #22 on: 10:39, 15 November 12 »
No worries Gryzor, I will keep looking. Amstrad is the one that I grew up playing, and I would love to get it running perfect.

Online Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 15.466
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 3088
  • Likes Given: 5683
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #23 on: 10:47, 15 November 12 »
Hantarex is Italian I think, too. Got to see a Nanao for myself then, though I'm not sure why you'd use the best option in medical equipment, a cheaper solution would do just as good a job, especially in the CRT days...

@Beaps: again, apologies. I was gutted to see it wouldn't boot... Once it's up and running again I'll give soft15KHz a go myself!

Offline Beaps

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 5
  • Likes Given: 3
Re: Amstrad CPC Emu on 15khz Arcade Monitor
« Reply #24 on: 10:53, 15 November 12 »
Out of interest which is the best/most accurate CPC emulator out there?