Author Topic: CPCemu 2.0 released  (Read 9067 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline PaddyC13

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 11
  • Likes Given: 34
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #75 on: 11:43, 22 March 21 »
@PaddyC13 : I'm sorry, again, I pasted the wrong link. I'm afraid I'm getting old. "v2" was the previous test version, of course we're at "v3" now: https://cpc-emu.org/Release/2021-03-14/cpcemu_checkpoints_v3-win32-x86-2.2.zip

Hi @Emu

Extracted the new EXE and copied it to "C:\Program Files (x86)\CPCEMU-2.1\cpcemu.exe".

When I select CPC6128, I get a dialog box stating "Screen" followed by a blank window.  After a few seconds the blank window closes and then nothing.

Just to clarify, my PC in a ThinkPad E460 laptop with an Intel Core i7 6600U processor (Intel HD Graphics 520).  In addition, the laptop has dedicated graphics in the form of an AMD Radeon R7 M360 with 2GB RAM.

Kind regards

Paddy
UK

Offline Emu

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Country: de
    • CPCemu
  • Liked: 57
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #76 on: 22:55, 23 March 21 »
@PaddyC13 : Please try it from CMD again, including the redirection, and tell me the error message in log.txt:

Code: [Select]
cpcemu.exe > log.txt 2>&1
However, I expect: "Couldn't find matching render driver", which wouldn't help my any further.

Have you installed the latest graphics drivers? Are you perhaps trying this on Linux with Wine or something similar?

Offline Livingstone

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: es
  • Opera Soft forever
  • Liked: 3
  • Likes Given: 12
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #77 on: 12:50, 27 March 21 »
@Livingstone : It appears to be a naming problem of the APK, but I don't understand why this does not occur in version 2.1, and why this does not happen to everybody. Version 2.1 does work on the same device?!?



Sorry, I have not been able to answer before.
Indeed, all the tests have been done on the same device.
Now I have version 2.1 installed, but it has the problem that I can't get out of the apk installation directory, to search for more DSK's. :-[

Offline Emu

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Country: de
    • CPCemu
  • Liked: 57
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #78 on: 13:30, 27 March 21 »
@Livingstone : Thank you. I think I found a possible reason for the installation problem of v2.2 - I might have checked only one of the two signature options when creating the APK. On the other hand, a deinstallation should help to avoid this problem, which was not the case for your device. So, let's see if it works again if I use both signatures in the next release.

I'm already working on it, because I was told that the keyboard support for French (and, obviously, any other language, even German) is broken. I clearly remember me typing all keys in every selectable keyboard language to record the key codes at the correct places one day in the past - and typing on the German keyboard in CPCemu sometimes. I must have overwritten the .dat file with these key bindings later. I wonder why I cannot find the correct version among all the old versions. I'll continue to look for it and will have to redo this work if I cannot find it.

To make you and @CPCBEGIN happy I included the privilege to browse directories. Unfortunately, this works only in my Android 5 emulator, not in later emulated Android versions. I have not tested in on our real Android 5 device, yet.


Offline PaddyC13

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 11
  • Likes Given: 34
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #79 on: 15:49, 27 March 21 »
@PaddyC13 : Please try it from CMD again, including the redirection, and tell me the error message in log.txt:

Code: [Select]
cpcemu.exe > log.txt 2>&1
However, I expect: "Couldn't find matching render driver", which wouldn't help my any further.

Have you installed the latest graphics drivers? Are you perhaps trying this on Linux with Wine or something similar?

Hi @Emu

Thank you for your reply.  I ran the test from the command line again and this is what the log file contains:

CPCEMU (v2.2)  -  The CPC Emulator
  (c) Marco Vieth & Rainer Loritz
             2002-2021
      -- all rights reserved --

Both Intel integrated and AMD discrete graphics are fully updated (as is the OS).

Versions are:

OS - Windows 10 Home 20H2 19042.870
Intel HD 520 Driver - 27.20.100.9316, 18/02/2021
AMD Radeon R7 M360 Driver - 27.20.15003.1004, 10/03/2021

Hope this helps.

Kind regards

Paddy
UK
« Last Edit: 15:52, 27 March 21 by PaddyC13 »

Offline Livingstone

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: es
  • Opera Soft forever
  • Liked: 3
  • Likes Given: 12
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #80 on: 16:35, 27 March 21 »
@Livingstone : Thank you. I think I found a possible reason for the installation problem of v2.2 - I might have checked only one of the two signature options when creating the APK. On the other hand, a deinstallation should help to avoid this problem, which was not the case for your device. So, let's see if it works again if I use both signatures in the next release.

I'm already working on it, because I was told that the keyboard support for French (and, obviously, any other language, even German) is broken. I clearly remember me typing all keys in every selectable keyboard language to record the key codes at the correct places one day in the past - and typing on the German keyboard in CPCemu sometimes. I must have overwritten the .dat file with these key bindings later. I wonder why I cannot find the correct version among all the old versions. I'll continue to look for it and will have to redo this work if I cannot find it.

To make you and @CPCBEGIN happy I included the privilege to browse directories. Unfortunately, this works only in my Android 5 emulator, not in later emulated Android versions. I have not tested in on our real Android 5 device, yet.



Thank you
Then we will wait for that new version with the new signatures.
 :)

Offline sb1903

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: de
  • Liked: 2
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #81 on: 00:42, 05 April 21 »
Congrats @Emu to the new version of cpcemu. Actually cpcemu was the first CPC emulator that I ever used, years ago already on DOS. I even built the parallel port cable to transfer the ROMs and other data from my CPC to the PC  :) What I still like very much with this emulator - and what I think is a quite distinctive feature compared to the "competition" - is the feature to use |TAPE to read files directly from a directory on the hard disk (rather than having to have them in .DSK files). Unfortunately, on Linux this feature is not working as reliable anymore as previously on DOS. Because suddenly this is case sensitive although ideally it shouldn't be. Normally on the CPC it shouldn't make a difference if I say run"disc" or run "DISC", but at the moment this makes a difference. It would be great if this could be fixed.  ;)

Offline Livingstone

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: es
  • Opera Soft forever
  • Liked: 3
  • Likes Given: 12
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #82 on: 19:23, 01 May 21 »
Is there any progress for the Android version?

Offline Livingstone

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: es
  • Opera Soft forever
  • Liked: 3
  • Likes Given: 12
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #83 on: 17:46, 01 July 21 »
Has anyone with Android 5.0 been able to load dsk's without root?

Offline Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 16.917
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 4031
  • Likes Given: 7262
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #84 on: 11:08, 02 July 21 »
5??!!

Offline zhulien

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 724
  • Country: au
  • aka Vorax
    • 8bitology
  • Liked: 292
  • Likes Given: 303
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #85 on: 12:22, 24 July 21 »
Hi, does anyone know where | (bar) is mapped in the new versions of CPCEmu?

Offline HAL 6128

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 538
  • Country: de
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 275
  • Likes Given: 1477
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #86 on: 13:39, 24 July 21 »
You have to change to keyboard 5 in the cfg.
...proudly supported Schnapps Demo, Pentomino and NQ-Music-Disc with GFX

Offline zhulien

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 724
  • Country: au
  • aka Vorax
    • 8bitology
  • Liked: 292
  • Likes Given: 303
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #87 on: 19:09, 24 July 21 »
Are there some CPCs without a | ?

Offline zhulien

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 724
  • Country: au
  • aka Vorax
    • 8bitology
  • Liked: 292
  • Likes Given: 303
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #88 on: 20:39, 24 July 21 »
Attempting to assemble something in protext+maxam1.5 with the new sdcard emulation, I often get file corruption and/or .$$$ files, is that likely an emulation issue or an incompatibility between maxam 1.5 and m4?

Offline Emu

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Country: de
    • CPCemu
  • Liked: 57
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #89 on: 12:11, 26 July 21 »
@zhulien :
Hi, I have never used Protext nor Maxam. Can you describe the steps you do more explicitly (and the expected result on the step where CPCemu fails)? Which version and which host system (Windows, Ubuntu, Raspberry, 64/32 bit, ...) are you using?

Offline Emu

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Country: de
    • CPCemu
  • Liked: 57
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #90 on: 12:12, 26 July 21 »
@zhulien : Only now I've seen your | problem. Are you using the French keyboard layout of CPCemu (I think it's no. 2)? Are you using a French host keyboard layout?

Offline zhulien

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 724
  • Country: au
  • aka Vorax
    • 8bitology
  • Liked: 292
  • Likes Given: 303
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #91 on: 18:33, 26 July 21 »
@zhulien :
Hi, I have never used Protext nor Maxam. Can you describe the steps you do more explicitly (and the expected result on the step where CPCemu fails)? Which version and which host system (Windows, Ubuntu, Raspberry, 64/32 bit, ...) are you using?


Using Windows 10 - i switched to keyboard language 5 so I can type a | (although the keys physically are a standard USA PC keyboard).  I haven't yet figured out using a USA PC keyboard how to type a | and a \ on the same keyboard.


Using protext.rom and maxam15.rom (from CPC Wiki), setup the emulator to use the SDCARD folder and M4.  Make a folder in the SDCARD such as DEV.


From CPC side now...


|cd,"dev"  (ok)
|cd,".."     (doesn't revert to parent folder)
|cd,"\"      (I cannot type a \, where is it?)


when within dev, i.e. |cd,"dev"


|p             (to bring protext)
prog          (from within the protext commandline to turn it into program mode)
esc            (lets you swap between program mode and protext commandline)
type something at the top
esc            (protext commandline)
save (enter)
<enter filename> test.asm
load (enter)

<enter filename> test.asm




save (enter)
<enter filename> test.asm (test.bak is created)
load (enter)
<enter filename> test.asm



save (enter)
<enter filename> test.asm (test.$$$ is created, but $$$ is actually the latest, not the oldest)






Offline Emu

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Country: de
    • CPCemu
  • Liked: 57
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #92 on: 00:12, 28 July 21 »
Regarding the backslash (I have not been able to try Protext, yet): You don't need it for |CD. The M4 board accepts regular slashes as well (if not even as the primary path separator, I can't tell). So, |CD,"/" will bring you to the top folder.

At the moment I'm not sure where the backslash is in keyboard layout 0. I think I had to omit it, because the CPC's key for it does not exist on today's keyboards.

Offline zhulien

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 724
  • Country: au
  • aka Vorax
    • 8bitology
  • Liked: 292
  • Likes Given: 303
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #93 on: 02:41, 29 July 21 »
Regarding the backslash (I have not been able to try Protext, yet): You don't need it for |CD. The M4 board accepts regular slashes as well (if not even as the primary path separator, I can't tell). So, |CD,"/" will bring you to the top folder.

At the moment I'm not sure where the backslash is in keyboard layout 0. I think I had to omit it, because the CPC's key for it does not exist on today's keyboards.


For some reason I haven't been able to get back to the top folder within the emulator - but i can on a real CPC+m4.


For my, |cd,"/" gives an error Unknown directory.
« Last Edit: 22:09, 29 July 21 by zhulien »

Offline Emu

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Country: de
    • CPCemu
  • Liked: 57
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #94 on: 23:14, 30 July 21 »
Please try v2.3.3. It should resolve your $$$ issue.

Unfortunately, I'm not yet able to reproduce the issue with |CD,"/".

Offline zhulien

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 724
  • Country: au
  • aka Vorax
    • 8bitology
  • Liked: 292
  • Likes Given: 303
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #95 on: 10:53, 04 August 21 »
2.3.3 fixes the following:


constant saving of files -> test.asm over the top with correct .bak behaviour and no more .$$$


Seems Utopia_v1_25b.ROM has issues, |era,"*.bak" always has file not found, and even a specific filename doesn't work too - but removing the utopia ROM fixes things.


I still cannot change up a folder, |cd,"/" gives "Unknown directory"


My Config file as follows, note I have moved the disc, tape and sdcard folders to another drive than the installation location of EmuCPC.


Code: [Select]
; Configuration File created by CPCEMU (v1.5) on 7/24/2021
AMSDOS_DISABLED = 0
AMSDOS_SPEEDUP = 1
BREAK_MASK = 3
COLOUR_SCREEN = 1
COMPANY_NAME = 7
CPC_TYPE = 2
CRTC_TYPE = 1
DATA_FILE = "./cpcemu.dat"
DRIVE_A = "e:\emulator\CPCemu\DISC/"
DRIVE_A_AUTOSTART = 1
DRIVE_A_SIDE = 0
DRIVE_A_WRITEPROT = 0
DRIVE_B = "e:\emulator\CPCemu\DISC/"
DRIVE_B_AUTOSTART = 0
DRIVE_B_SIDE = 0
DRIVE_B_WRITEPROT = 0
EMS_ENABLED = 0
EMULATION_DELAY = 0
EMULATION_SPEED = 0
HELP_FILE = "./cpcemu.hlp"
INTERRUPT_FREQUENCY = 300
INTERRUPT_RESUME = 1
JOY0_CALIBRATE = 1702324,4476838,1702152,4617824
JOY1_CALIBRATE = 1702324,4207704,1702140,1702340
JOY0_CURSOR_KEYS = 0
KBD_LANGUAGE = 5
LANGUAGE = 0
M4_ENABLED = 1
MOUSE_ENABLED = 1
MULTIMODE_UPDATE = 2
PALETTE_CHANGE = 1
POKE_DATABASE = "./cpcemu.dbf"
PPI_50HZ = 1
PPI_EXP_SIGNAL = 1
PRINTER = "PRN"
RAM_SIZE = 576
REALTIME = 1
ROM_BLOCK = 0,"CPC6128.ROM",1
; ROM_BLOCK = 1,"Utopia_v1_25b.ROM",0
ROM_BLOCK = 3,"MAXAM15.ROM",0
ROM_BLOCK = 4,"PROTEXT.ROM",0
ROM_BLOCK = 6,"M4.ROM",0
ROM_BLOCK = 7,"CPCADOS.ROM",0
ROM_BLOCK = 8,"SUPER.ROM",0
ROM_BLOCK = 9,"DOLOGY6.ROM",0
; ROM_BLOCK = 10,"CC.ROM",0
; ROM_BLOCK = 255,"FW315EN.ROM",0
ROM_BLOCK = 255,"CPC6128.ROM",0
ROM_PATH = "e:\emulator\CPCemu\ROM/\"
SB_DELAY = 0
SB_DELAY0 = 0
SB_DMA_BUF = 0
SB_SAMPLE_RATE = 1
SB_STEREO = 1
SCREEN_OFFSET = 0
M4_SDCARD_MODE = 1
SHOW_CONFIG = 1
SNAPSHOT = "e:\emulator\CPCemu\SNAP/"
SOUND_DEVICE = 0
SOUND_ENABLED = 1
TAPE_BYPASS = 1
TAPE_PATH = "e:\emulator\CPCemu\TAPE/\"
TMP_PATH = ""
VIDEO_MODE = 0
VSYNC_POSITION = 0
M4_SD_PATH = "e:\emulator\CPCemu\SDCARD/\"
; end


Offline Emu

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Country: de
    • CPCemu
  • Liked: 57
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: CPCemu 2.0 released
« Reply #96 on: Yesterday at 00:26 »
I've never used Utopia. Anyway, it is well possible that there are bugs with wildcards. I'm going to look after this one.

Regarding the slash: What happens if you remove the final backslash or the last slash in M4_SD_PATH?