News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Emulation Speed Issue

Started by Dirk, 15:52, 08 May 09

Previous topic - Next topic

Dirk

Hello - I'm new to emulation of the AmstradCPC, however, not new to emulation.  I am running several emulators at full speed w/ a P4 2.8Ghz machine w/ 3Gig RAM on XP Pro.  Unfortunately, when trying to run WinAPE, the speed is at 50% and the fps are 1-3.  Changing to 8 bit greyscale yields no improvement.  Any suggestions on settings to get the emulation up to full speed?
Thank you for the feedback!!

ukmarkh

Did you click the option to use 'direct X' within the Winape options screen?

Dirk

I tried with "Direct-X Stretch" checked and without it checked.  The only difference was the screen appearance, however, the speed did not change.
As a side note, WinCPC runs at full speed, but WinAPE appears to be a much better platform if I could get the speed accurate.
Thx

ukmarkh

Are you using Windows 64-bit? Or an older version of Winape32??

Executioner

I have no idea why you would be having speed issues. Your processor is well and truly fast enough. Make sure you have PAL Emulation turned off, speed set to 100% with the Display Every checkbox unchecked. Besides that, I can only suggest it is a conflict with your video card or drivers. What OS and GFX card?

ukmarkh

Quote from: Executioner on 02:29, 11 May 09
I have no idea why you would be having speed issues. Your processor is well and truly fast enough. Make sure you have PAL Emulation turned off, speed set to 100% with the Display Every checkbox unchecked. Besides that, I can only suggest it is a conflict with your video card or drivers. What OS and GFX card?

I you remember, I had a similar problem to this about six months back... Winape32 was running dog slow under Windows XP 64-Bit edition. In the end I went back to 32-bit windows and everything worked fine.

Executioner

Quote from: ukmarkh on 02:35, 11 May 09