News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Starting up with a snapshot via command line?

Started by TheElectricMonk, 17:25, 19 February 15

Previous topic - Next topic

TheElectricMonk

Hey everyone, I'm new to these forums, but I've been fiddling around with my CPC since 1990 or so. I used to go by the name of "The Electric Monk", wrote a few text adventures back in the day, composed music for a few games by other people and wrote some crappy juvenile BASIC demos. Great to be here!  ;D

Anyway... I'm building a Windows based MAME arcade cab at the moment, which will also run a host of other emulators. Out of nostalgia, I would like a few CPC games on there as well.

Since the whole cab is controlled by a handful of buttons, and since I want to have it as user friendly as possible, the ideal scenario would be: press the start button, the game runs. No typing "run xyz.bas", no redefining of keys. It seems to me the only way this can be accomplished is by loading a snapshot.

My primary problem is this: Is there an emulator that can be told via command line to load a snapshot file right at the beginning and start with that one, not with plain Basic? WinApe doesn't seem to be able to do it, sadly.

If I got this to work by any chance, my secondary problem: Is there a way to save snapshots (wouldn't want to lose those high scores!) with a single button without going through naming a file name. Basically, is there an emulator with quicksave and quickoad?
As I said, this is a secondary problem, as I can build a workaround macro via AutoHotKey: At the press of [whatever key], type (for example) "l&ldie.sna", then Enter, then type "y" (to overwrite). Or something similar, depending on the emulator's menu.

Anyway, I'm mainly interested in snapshot loading via command line. Thanks for your help!

demoniak

PC-CPC can start with a snapshot in the command line :

PC-CPC -snapshot file.sna

TheElectricMonk