News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Converted GX4000 .cpr - The topic (repository link in first post)

Started by remax, 22:14, 04 May 15

Previous topic - Next topic

GOB

Just a remark. I find it unfortunate to use the second joystick for game 1 single player. Do you know that you can test at the same time directions and fire buttons? Instead, use combinations like: right+ fire2 law rather than the joystick 2 !!!

Phantomz

Quote from: GOB on 18:26, 20 September 16
Just a remark. I find it unfortunate to use the second joystick for game 1 single player. Do you know that you can test at the same time directions and fire buttons? Instead, use combinations like: right+ fire2 law rather than the joystick 2 !!!

I'm not a programmer, so I can only change the keys that I can find, every game is different so there isn't a simple way to change keys in games.

I understand what you are saying, but that would need the control system of the game/s to be rewritten not just remapped.

It's not a task that I can do, maybe you could do this to some of the games and improve the conversions ?

GOB

You don't have to remake the control system. Joystick keys are in the same PPI line. So the value you modify is juste the value of this line. By having 2 bits with 0 value, you can test 2 keys at same time.
I can help you if you want help ;)

Phantomz

Quote from: GOB on 15:39, 21 September 16
You don't have to remake the control system. Joystick keys are in the same PPI line. So the value you modify is juste the value of this line. By having 2 bits with 0 value, you can test 2 keys at same time.
I can help you if you want help ;)

I mainly work with a HEX editor so not to sure how to go about changing one key press to multiple key presses.

I work by changing one key, for example ( SPACE ) to  ( Joypad 1 Button 1 ) after I find it in winape, I change in a HEX Editor on Disc or cpr if uncompressed.