News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Converting a game to ROM - and LOTS of ROM files inside!

Started by FRAGKI-2012, 00:30, 28 March 13

Previous topic - Next topic

Axelay

Quote from: Bryce on 08:34, 26 May 14
But isn't the Command to start the game saved in RAM? If a game uses the command |SUPERKIDINSPACE, then that's already 15 bytes used up, plus a jump address etc brings this to 19 or 20 bytes per game. So 8 games could be using up quite a bit more RAM.[nb]Or I'm talking complete B0llox, I'm not a coder[/nb]

Bryce.

Oh, that's what I thought, and I'm a coder!  Apparently.  I dont have much time for the OS though.  :D  Anyway, the 7 random game ROMs I have installed in WINAPE saved 28 bytes when I disabled them, so it appears the name is indeed left in ROM.

Quote from: mr_lou on 06:31, 26 May 14
I am but a poor musician. I wouldn't have any clue on how to see how much ram a rom is using.

If you really want to check you can use this from BASIC:

? HIMEM

To get the highest memory location free.  Add or subtract a ROM and reset the CPC or emulator, and do it again.  HIMEM will change by the number of bytes that game ROM used.

Bryce

Interesting, so my footnote was correct :D If that's the case, then are the games just RAM hungry or do the need to start below a certain address? The amount of free RAM is obviously the problem, because it's the only thing that changes as you add games.

Bryce.

redbox

The RSX is kept in the ROM and the OS firmware routine KL FIND COMMAND searches through them each time.

When writing ROMs you set the amount of memory you want to reserve yourself, but for things like game ROMs it should really only be a couple of bytes...?

Axelay

Well I wouldn't be surprised if some earlier games dependent on the OS were made with an assumption of only AMSDOS present with no other ROMs, so they might well overwrite RAM above a lowered HIMEM and cause an issue.

Bryce