News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Rob Hubbard interview from1985 in Popular Computing Weekly

Started by ComSoft6128, 16:30, 01 December 21

Previous topic - Next topic

ComSoft6128

Looking for some info on Dragon's Lair I ran across this at CPCRulez:

https://cpcrulez.fr/auteur-rob_hubbard.htm

So, not a big fan of the CPC......

norecess464

Quote"I bought the Amstrad simply because there's so much work around for it. Frankly, though, it's like going from a Rolls to a Morris Minor. The monitor leads are too short, the speaker's pathetic, and the sound chip! OK, the graphics are good, and the disc drive is unbelievably fast against the Commodore -though not as reliable. I've lost stuff on it already, and that's never happened on the 1541, despite a lot of hard use. But as a programmer, I find the Amstrad unfathomable. Maybe I'm impatient, coming from a machine I know inside out, and immediately wanting to jump in the deep end. I'm transcribing some of my Commodore work for other people to code, but I think it'll be a long while before I do anything commercial myself on it."
Rob smiles.
He has some totally valid points, about the monitor leads being too short and the speaker. Note that both of those issues have been fixed later with the Amstrad Plus.

EDIT: there were existing expansion cables for the leads, and you could connect your CPC to a Audio HI-FI system, so that was a false problem.
My personal website: https://norecess.cpcscene.net
My current project is Sonic GX, a remake of Sonic the Hedgehog for the awesome Amstrad GX-4000 game console!

Gryzor

Oh it only took 5 years for Sugar to fix these😀

ComSoft6128

Quote from: norecess on 20:08, 01 December 21
He has some totally valid points, about the monitor leads being too short and the speaker. Note that both of those issues have been fixed later with the Amstrad Plus.