News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Super mario bros on CPC 464, still alive!

Started by GinBlog82, 11:50, 27 October 16

Previous topic - Next topic

GinBlog82

Hi, recently I went into this thread, searching on Google:

http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/games/mario-on-the-cpc-demo/msg110541

I'm the author of the demo and I developed it about 1 year ago in few days, I didn't know that it could focus all this interest :-) As you understood by the interview on Retromaniac, I'm a software engineer (so really busy) and after the company where I work has been acquired by Amazon.com I didn't have time to continue the project (you know, new job -> new responabilities). After a long period of turbulence, I found some stability and I decided to continue the porting of SMB in my spare time, when it's possible.

As you said, the most interesting part of this demo is the hardware scrolling, that I implemented with the trick of CRTC registers. During my development process, I found (without surprise, to be honest) that CPC 464 is really slow to draw the whole scene with a software scroll, also without drawing the blank parts. I implemented it in Z80 assembly with a result of 7-8 fps, that could be good for a cpc old-style videogame but not Super Mario Bros. The only thing that I can do to reproduce an horizontal scroll similar to the NES one is to draw only a column on the right corner of the screen, and make the magic shifting the screen with the CRTC register, using double buffering to achieve 4 pixels accuracy. The result is what you see on the youtube video.