News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Copying 'header-less' files from tape to disc?

Started by woody.cool, 18:19, 04 November 09

Previous topic - Next topic

woody.cool

Hi all,

Is it possible (I'm assuming it is) to copy a header-less file from a tape onto a 3" (or 3.5" or whatever) disc? oh, and the program/game etc. still work?

I'm a bit of a noob at this, so you'll have to excuse the dumb questions.

If I have to find out extra information (such as starting address & length etc.) where should I look?

... and finally, if I record a 'header-less' file onto tape (or CDT etc.) can I load that file with BASIC/AMSDOS?

Cheers
woody.cool

arnoldemu

Quote from: woody.cool on 18:19, 04 November 09
Hi all,

Is it possible (I'm assuming it is) to copy a header-less file from a tape onto a 3" (or 3.5" or whatever) disc? oh, and the program/game etc. still work?

I'm a bit of a noob at this, so you'll have to excuse the dumb questions.

If I have to find out extra information (such as starting address & length etc.) where should I look?

... and finally, if I record a 'header-less' file onto tape (or CDT etc.) can I load that file with BASIC/AMSDOS?

Cheers
woody.cool
Generally you don't get a headerless file on it's own unless it is called an "ASCII" file.
ASCII files are headerless files which can be saved from basic with OPENOUT"d", PRINT #9, CLOSEOUT.

I think you're talking about binary headerless files, and for these there is generally a loader before them which is a standard block loader.

And as the name implies there isn't any header to a headerless file, so the length and load address are not stored in the file, instead they are stored in the program which loads the headerless file. So the extra information will be in the loader and I expect it to be binary too. Dissassemble it and look for a CALL &BCA1. The parameters to this will be load address, length and ident byte.