News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

CPC Newbie questions

Started by Boom, 22:09, 24 July 13

Previous topic - Next topic

Boom

Hey all, I'm just starting out with vintage computer collecting and an Amstrad CPC464 came my way, so I decided to get it.
Now originally I was a ZX Spectrum kinda guy and knew nothing about Amstrads until just a few days ago when I started playing around with the emulation and then getting the real thing.

I must admit, I'm actually rather impressed. It's a great machine.  I love how it simply connects to the monitor. Such nice, and tidy wires!  I'm impressed with my haul, the monitor is in pristine condition, sharp bright stable colourful image despite its age. Amazing :) 

OK so I have a couple of questions.

The only fault with the machine is the tape deck. Now it has no problems rewinding and fast forwarding tapes. But playing a tape seems to be a problem. The motors turn but the tape itself doesn't.  I realised that if I didnt click the play button all the way down, and held it 6/8th of the way down it would start to spin the tape, but it does play wonky. Tho amazingly I did actually get it to run a game by holding it down :)  I'm just curious if this is a common fault with an easy fix?  I did the line input mod and have been having fun running games via Tapir on the PC.

For the ZX Spectrum there is a DivIDE interface which plugs into its expansion port where you can then add an flash card to load a wealth of software in instantly.  Is there a similar third party expansion for the CPC?  I have been enjoying running software via disk images on the emulator and it does have a floppy drive port, so has any clever bugger made an expansion that makes the CPC think its got a super huge floppy disk in it which is actually a flash card?