Author Topic: CPC6128 to 6128+ Upgrade?  (Read 1057 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JadedLemon

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 3
  • Likes Given: 0
CPC6128 to 6128+ Upgrade?
« on: 21:06, 30 January 21 »
Can anyone tell me if it is possible to build a plug-in upgrade for CPC6128 to make it think it is a 6128+?


I'm thinking of something along the lines of taking the ASIC chip from a plus machine or the GX4000 (that sounds more like some dodgy vacuum cleaner model than a games console) and a ROM based version of B-ASIC and building a plug-in upgrade to the CPC6128 expansion port, so that the added features of the ASIC could be used via B-ASIC in a regular CPC program.


B-ASIC - CPCWiki


Can anyone tell me if this would be possible, and if so what would be needed?
If not possible, can somebody explain why it wouldn't be possible?


When you read this please don't just laugh at my naiveté - explain.


Offline JadedLemon

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 3
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: CPC6128 to 6128+ Upgrade?
« Reply #1 on: 21:09, 30 January 21 »
I forgot to mention. The upgrade wouldn't need to be able to use cartridges if that makes it any easier.

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.296
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4592
  • Likes Given: 481
Re: CPC6128 to 6128+ Upgrade?
« Reply #2 on: 21:59, 30 January 21 »
Nope, that doesn't make it any easier :D The ASIC needs multiple signals and connections that aren't on the expansion port. Even internally it would be almost impossible to add the ASIC. It would require the removal or de-activation of many chips and quite a few new parts too. The final result would be a CPC+ beaten onto the wrong PCB.

Bryce.

Online eto

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 282
  • Country: de
  • Liked: 195
  • Likes Given: 167
Re: CPC6128 to 6128+ Upgrade?
« Reply #3 on: 09:37, 31 January 21 »
What would be the benefit to get the ASIC from a Plus and put it into the CPC? You always would have to sacrifice a GX or Plus to upgrade a CPC. Or is the ASIC a chip which is available?

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.296
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4592
  • Likes Given: 481
Re: CPC6128 to 6128+ Upgrade?
« Reply #4 on: 10:24, 31 January 21 »
Nope. The only place to get an ASIC is to remove it from a working CPC+ or GX4000.

Bryce.

Offline ComSoft6128

  • ..................................
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 2.128
  • Country: scotland
  • CPC THEN CPC NOW
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 2298
  • Likes Given: 4537
Re: CPC6128 to 6128+ Upgrade?
« Reply #5 on: 10:36, 31 January 21 »
So the ASIC chip can't be duplicated?

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.296
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4592
  • Likes Given: 481
Re: CPC6128 to 6128+ Upgrade?
« Reply #6 on: 10:44, 31 January 21 »
It could be, just no one has done it yet.

Bryce.

Offline dragon

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.531
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 686
  • Likes Given: 496
Re: CPC6128 to 6128+ Upgrade?
« Reply #7 on: 13:56, 31 January 21 »
Really, Steve gane commented in her day he have the sun tapes in the garaje (or something like that).


But he not appears much retro  cpc friendly because he can understand someone want the design.
 
And then  he dissappear. 


Offline JadedLemon

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 3
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: CPC6128 to 6128+ Upgrade?
« Reply #8 on: 18:35, 31 January 21 »

What would be the benefit to get the ASIC from a Plus and put it into the CPC? You always would have to sacrifice a GX or Plus to upgrade a CPC. Or is the ASIC a chip which is available?

To be honest if it were possible to do, I would gladly sacrifice a GX4000 in order to get an ASIC chip.

Offline chinnyhill10

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.395
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 771
  • Likes Given: 522
Re: CPC6128 to 6128+ Upgrade?
« Reply #9 on: 18:43, 31 January 21 »
Can anyone tell me if it is possible to build a plug-in upgrade for CPC6128 to make it think it is a 6128+?




The ASIC chip that does all the work in the Plus/GX has a huge amount of pins on it and takes over a load of functions from discrete components on a normal CPC's board. If you look at it next to earlier machines you can see it's a generation on from a normal CPC's chips.


People have done these huge projects but I suspect you'd end up with a mess of wires with stuff all over the 6128's board rather than something that plugged into the back. I suspect (and Bryce will probably confirm this) you don't have access to all the hook in points you'll need on the expansion bus either.
--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube

Offline chinnyhill10

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.395
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 771
  • Likes Given: 522
Re: CPC6128 to 6128+ Upgrade?
« Reply #10 on: 18:44, 31 January 21 »
Nope, that doesn't make it any easier :D The ASIC needs multiple signals and connections that aren't on the expansion port. Even internally it would be almost impossible to add the ASIC. It would require the removal or de-activation of many chips and quite a few new parts too. The final result would be a CPC+ beaten onto the wrong PCB.

Bryce.


There you go. Put far better than I could!
--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube

Offline Skunkfish

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 696
  • Country: gb
  • Editor of Colour Personal Computing
    • CPCSTORE.CO.UK - Dedicated to the Amstrad CPC
  • Liked: 520
  • Likes Given: 1378
Re: CPC6128 to 6128+ Upgrade?
« Reply #11 on: 00:38, 01 February 21 »
To be honest if it were possible to do, I would gladly sacrifice a GX4000 in order to get an ASIC chip.

In a way it's possible to achieve this, but by turning the GX4000 into a fully fledged computer and taking the keyboard from another CPC:

http://cpctech.cpc-live.com/docs/mods/gx2plus.html
An expanding array of hardware available at www.cpcstore.co.uk (and issue 3 of CPC Fanzine!)