News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

hello

Started by Brian Beuken, 16:51, 01 August 15

Previous topic - Next topic

Brian Beuken

Hi

My name is Brian, and I'm an old CPC coder...just having a nosey around ;)

B

Carnivius

Hello and welcome. :)
Favorite CPC games: Count Duckula 3, Oh Mummy Returns, RoboCop Resurrection, Tankbusters Afterlife

Joseman

Hi Brian

It´s such an honour for this forum to have original CPC coders... You guys make 1 or 2 cpc-generations happy !

MacDeath

Hi again, and welcome here.   :)

I see you did DJ Puff in volcanic island.

I tried to check with friends about possible patches for this game in order to turn it into a PLUS version.
I like to check how the graphics are stored in RAM and this specific game used quite some common tricks.

The sprites are in 2bits per pixels (mode1 equivalent) so they can be converted when put into the screen RAM bank, and benefit from some sort of software palette swap.
Sadly the background are also in only 4 colours...

Such things may be hard on CPU time (also the scrollings), but I guess it was a mean to get all those datas to fit into a 64K RAM machine ?
such "Mode1" (actually 2bits per pixels datas) graphics converted into Mode0 with palette swaps was actually quite typical from some British companies.
Palace software did this a lot : Barbarian, Antiriad...

I guess it was also often used when graphics and gameplay were "ported" from C64... as it enabled same sort of graphic specifications as C64 in 4 colours/wide pixel settings.

Just an innocent question : do you still have some source codes ? ::)

Joseman

Quote from: MacDeath on 17:35, 01 August 15
Just an innocent question : do you still have some source codes ? ::)

I make the same question on the other thread  :laugh:

We are source code hungry!!

Brian Beuken