News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Requesting feedback on music conversion process

Started by mr_lou, 17:17, 13 April 24

Previous topic - Next topic

mr_lou

I am a musician who enjoys making tracks in multiple filetype versions. Apart from the classic MP3/OGG rendered version of my tracks, I also try to make a 16-bit 12-channel XM and an 8-bit 4-channel MOD version available. I even make 2-3 MOD versions, in different filesizes and qualities, trying to please everyone. Amigadevs are particular difficult to please regarding channel use and max filesize.

Depending on whether I managed to keep the filesize down or not, I may also make a Super Nintendo compatible version.
Other versions include MIDI, or MIDI+SF2. I even made a Sega Genesis version of one of my tracks a while back.

All of this effort spawns from a passion of wanting to support homebrew devs on the classic platforms - any classic platform.

But what's that I hear you say? What's missing, you say?

Ah right. The Amstrad CPC is missing from the list. How could I forget the Amstrad CPC?

Of course I didn't forget the CPC. It's been on my mind for ages, and I've wondered a lot about how I could include the Amstrad CPC in my list of target paltforms.

The only reason I manage to make so many different filetype versions of my tracks, is because there are many handy tools that does most of the work for me.

2MIDI from Un4Seen does a great job converting my XM into a MIDI+SF2.
Timidity is excellent at converting XM to plain MIDI.
SNESMOD is a great tool that lets me convert my XM to Super Nintendo.

And although Arkos Tracker 2 does actually have a MOD import option, it leaves way too much work afterwards. So that hasn't been a solution for me. It has to take much less work in order to be attractive.