News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

6128 issues

Started by Juggler, 09:16, 21 August 21

Previous topic - Next topic

Juggler

Hey!

A big nostalgia attack has taken over me recently, so I wanted to check if my 6128 still works with this hardware (nicely customized for me in the 90s by Gostsoft):

[attach=1]
  [attach=2]
  [attach=3] 

First it started successfully with the Ready prompt, but I heard some small buzzing sound from around the speaker, then the power LED went off and nothing happened anymore, also when I switched it off and on again. I opened it and saw this black (mass?) cable laying around:

Guess it would a good idea to mount it at underneath the reset button, right? (Still a total noob in electronics  ;D )

[attach=4]
[attach=5]

Would this solve the issue? Anything more to check for, what do you think?

cheers!
Juggler

Bryce

Hi Juggler,
       that's most likely where the black wire goes, but I doubt it's the ground (Masse) cable, because the other side of the button is also connected to the pause button, so my guess is that the loose black wire comes from the reset pin of the expansion port. If that touches any ground (such as all that metal frame of the disc drive) it would hold the CPC in reset. So re-soldering it back on the button is a good start. It however not be the only issue.

Bryce.

BSC

Quote from: Juggler on 09:16, 21 August 21Guess it would a good idea to mount it at underneath the reset button, right? (Still a total noob in electronics   )

Those pics look like some serious pro-soldering work :) Hope you get it to work.
There are said to be some really knowledgeable folks around here.
** My SID player/tracker AYAY Kaeppttn! on github **  Some CPC music and experiments ** Other music ** More music on scenestream (former nectarine) ** Some shaders ** Some Soundtrakker tunes ** Some tunes in Javascript