Author Topic: 6128 not booting anymore  (Read 3998 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shining

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 320
  • Country: de
    • Shinings little CPC page
    • Awards
6128 not booting anymore
« on: 22:11, 31 August 16 »
My 6128 is not booting anymore. When I turn the CPC on, the welcome message will appear and then the CPC resets, shows the message and so on in an endless loop. Has anyone an idea/suggestion how to fix this ?
like
0
No reactions
TGS is back

Download my productions at:
cpc.scifinet.org

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.402
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #1 on: 23:22, 31 August 16 »
Maybe is the keyboard or Z80 needs to be pressed down or maybe just wait Bryce  ;D
like
0
No reactions
Visit my BBS (Telnet) : flashbackbbs.sytes.net:6502
http://loaderror.eu/
Amiga 1200 Black Project

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.348
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #2 on: 23:50, 31 August 16 »
Do you have any expansions fitted? Are your system ROMs socketed?
like
0
No reactions
IRC:  #Retro4All on Freenode

Offline Shining

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 320
  • Country: de
    • Shinings little CPC page
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #3 on: 08:06, 01 September 16 »
Sadly, I think I exactly know why the CPC is damaged but not how and where:

I've put an extension at my Mother-X4 not exactly at the right pins (as you may know, these are not idiot (me  ;) ) save).

After that the CPC showed this behaviour.

If the ROMs are socketed, I don't know. I didn't open it for years, it is my main and first CPC and because of that I especially love this one. I've put many things into this CPC, for example ABBA-Switch, Reset-Switch, CPM-Switch, Pause-Switch but I never did something with the chips. So if they are not socketed by default, they are not.
like
0
No reactions
TGS is back

Download my productions at:
cpc.scifinet.org

Online Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.463
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #4 on: 08:52, 01 September 16 »
@Shining


Remove all peripherals, Mother x etc including external floppy drives.
Just the 6128 Power up as normal. Is the fault still there. ?
Ray
like
0
No reactions
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.467
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #5 on: 09:27, 01 September 16 »
It could be a few different parts causing this, but you've definitely damaged either the ROM or some of the TTL logic. Most likely by feeding 5V into any output. Send the board over if you want.

Bryce.
like
0
No reactions

Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #6 on: 17:25, 01 September 16 »
Sounds like a corrupt lower ROM (or the BASIC or AMSDOS ROM). Yes, Bryce can help.  :)
« Last Edit: 22:29, 04 September 16 by TFM »
like
0
No reactions
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.467
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #7 on: 14:21, 03 September 16 »
Board just arrived. I'll report back later in the week when I've had a chance to look at it.

Bryce.
like
0
No reactions

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.467
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #8 on: 16:22, 04 September 16 »
Ok, a quick round of diagnostics later... 40015 (AMSDOS ROM) has D3 jammed high (not good). I'll put a socket in and replace it with an EPROM.

Bryce.
like
0
No reactions

Offline Shining

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 320
  • Country: de
    • Shinings little CPC page
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #9 on: 14:12, 05 September 16 »
Thank you very much. Also for the socket.... ;)


If you want to test it later, please note, that I soldered an ABBA switch to the board and sending it to you I just cut the cables.... Also there are two wires on the Jumper for the CPM-switch (AMSDOS to ROM 0).
like
0
No reactions
TGS is back

Download my productions at:
cpc.scifinet.org

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.467
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #10 on: 16:35, 05 September 16 »
Yes, I discovered that quite quickly, especially as you have also removed LK7 and added wires to that too.

Bryce.
like
0
No reactions

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.467
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #11 on: 20:12, 05 September 16 »
All tests completed, your 6128 is back working as it should.

Bryce.
like
0
No reactions

Offline Shining

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 320
  • Country: de
    • Shinings little CPC page
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #12 on: 21:58, 05 September 16 »
Wonderful, thank you very much  :) .
like
0
No reactions
TGS is back

Download my productions at:
cpc.scifinet.org

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.348
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #13 on: 23:39, 05 September 16 »
Thank you very much. Also for the socket.... ;)


If you want to test it later, please note, that I soldered an ABBA switch to the board and sending it to you I just cut the cables.... Also there are two wires on the Jumper for the CPM-switch (AMSDOS to ROM 0).
What is the advantage of amsdos in slot 0. Surely the machine don't boot then?
like
0
No reactions
IRC:  #Retro4All on Freenode

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.467
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #14 on: 23:42, 05 September 16 »
What is the advantage of amsdos in slot 0. Surely the machine don't boot then?

It boots directly to CP/M when you have the right disk inserted.

Bryce.
like
0
No reactions

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.259
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #15 on: 23:43, 05 September 16 »
What is the advantage of amsdos in slot 0. Surely the machine don't boot then?
Autoboots CPM when in slot 0.
like
0
No reactions

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.348
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #16 on: 00:13, 06 September 16 »
Autoboots CPM when in slot 0.
Really? Have to try that lol.
like
0
No reactions
IRC:  #Retro4All on Freenode

Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 4.023
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #17 on: 00:23, 06 September 16 »
Require a special jumper set on the mainboard, if I'm not wrong?!
like
0
No reactions
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #18 on: 02:08, 06 September 16 »
You are right. Just cut a metal wire on the PCB (or add a switch). Also putting FutureOS ROM A in slot 0 will cause autoboot of it. And cutting LK seven just "moves" AMSDOS from slot 7 to 0.  :)
like
0
No reactions
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Online Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.463
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #19 on: 02:44, 06 September 16 »

.... Also there are two wires on the Jumper for the CPM-switch (AMSDOS to ROM 0).
Do You have link to the detail for this CPM Modification Please.


Thanks    Ray
like
0
No reactions
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Shining

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 320
  • Country: de
    • Shinings little CPC page
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #20 on: 09:11, 06 September 16 »

Here is a description of the LKs on the CPC-Mainboard:

LK Links - CPCWiki


The CPM-one is LK7. When you cut it AMSDOS is switched to ROM0 and autoboots CPM.


I did this modification as a child as it had also the advantage that some games (e.g. Gauntlet) auto booted with this modification....
like
0
No reactions
TGS is back

Download my productions at:
cpc.scifinet.org

Offline Shining

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 320
  • Country: de
    • Shinings little CPC page
    • Awards
Re: 6128 not booting anymore
« Reply #21 on: 10:02, 06 September 16 »
For those who are interested just to list all modifications to my 6128 I found useful back then:
  • Reset-Switch
  • Pause-Switch (Z80-Halt on Expansion-Port)
  • ABBA-Switch
  • CPM-Switch
  • Switching manufacturer from Schneider to Amstrad
  • Replacing the internal Speaker with two external ones (Internal CPC amplifier did handle this)
like
0
No reactions
TGS is back

Download my productions at:
cpc.scifinet.org