News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Amstrad CPC 464 - Screen with Garbage

Started by jarcher1980, 13:34, 12 March 22

Previous topic - Next topic

jarcher1980

Hello. I'm hoping someone can offer some pointers.

I purchased a CPC knowing it probably wouldn't work, and I was right.  ;) I'm getting screens like the following examples when powering on.

https://photos.google.com/share/AF1QipO0S3hqdoAHFCXdSPknU48Hm2iz6-LRAtWW1s3wlj3_6Wk3Zv5v7ch4GxeVYhcp4Q?key=cHIyZzlHM2lPX3ZjbjRXVlNXNmZFakxoSmRLazNB

I have some experience with fixing ZX Spectrums and I would hazard a guess that because there is an image it's either faulty RAM or associated chips/tracks. If there's an image within the centred area then I'm assuming the CPU is probably okay.

Included in the above link are some images of the board. It looks like the very first version1 PCB (Z70100). Everything looks to be in good condition and I was pleased to see most ICs are socketed—including the RAM. I couldn't detect any RAM chips that were obviously hot although IC 108 was getting hot along with whatever is under the heatsink (IC 116).

I was thinking of just getting some 4164 ram replacements as a first shot at fixing this. I have a multimeter and soldering equipment, but nothing more advanced.

Any advice, much appreciated. Thanks!

gerald

Most likely a RAM issue.
I'would first re-seat ROM / RAM on socket

jarcher1980

Quote from: gerald on 14:02, 12 March 22Most likely a RAM issue.
I'would first re-seat ROM / RAM on socket
Thanks for this Gerald. I reseated all the ram chips and the ROM, and it didn't make any difference unfortunately. Perhaps one or more of the ram chips have stopped working, so I'll order some off ebay. They seem to be plentful.

Do you know if piggybacking tends to work for ram chips in CPCs as a way of testing?