Author Topic: CPC 664 won't boot  (Read 3087 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline anyweb

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: se
    • https://www.amstrad-noob.com
    • Awards
Re: CPC 664 won't boot
« Reply #25 on: 21:33, 04 February 21 »
On the Dandanator you can hold the leftmost button while starting up the Amstrad to launch the extra test ROM.


I don't know which one comes by default, but I recommend you use Gerald's one:
http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/amstrad-cpc-hardware/quick-and-dirty-ram-test-for-cpc/


(You'll need to pad the ROM to exactly 16KB to load it in the Dananator).
thanks I'll try it Noel !
like
0
No reactions

Offline anyweb

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: se
    • https://www.amstrad-noob.com
    • Awards
Re: CPC 664 won't boot
« Reply #26 on: 22:32, 04 February 21 »
ok Noel was right ! thanks Noel, pressing left black button while powering on runs the RAM test, check it out

« Last Edit: 22:39, 04 February 21 by anyweb »
like
0
No reactions

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.470
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: CPC 664 won't boot
« Reply #27 on: 10:01, 05 February 21 »
Ok, you may as well swap them all then. At least you can use the time now to start removing them.

Bryce.
like
0
No reactions

Offline anyweb

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: se
    • https://www.amstrad-noob.com
    • Awards
Re: CPC 664 won't boot
« Reply #28 on: 11:05, 05 February 21 »
yup i'll try and do that this weekend !
like
0
No reactions

Offline anyweb

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: se
    • https://www.amstrad-noob.com
    • Awards
Re: CPC 664 won't boot
« Reply #29 on: 22:59, 14 February 21 »
I finally got around to removing the RAM and adding sockets+new RAM yesterday, and I'm very happy to say that Bryce was totally correct, the RAM was the problem, it's now working ! I even replaced the keyboard membrane so that's working perfectly too, now all I need to do is to figure out why the FDD motor is ON permanently when power is connected, and of course, replace the FDD cable which has definitely perished. I created a video of my first ever efforts at replacing RAM in a CPC here, so don't laugh too much...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uv_l1rjtPUQ
like
0
No reactions

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.470
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: CPC 664 won't boot
« Reply #30 on: 22:26, 15 February 21 »
now all I need to do is to figure out why the FDD motor is ON permanently when power is connected


Because that's what it does. Totally normal for a CPC.


Bryce.
like
0
No reactions

Offline anyweb

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: se
    • https://www.amstrad-noob.com
    • Awards
Re: CPC 664 won't boot
« Reply #31 on: 22:30, 15 February 21 »
i mean it's buzzing constantly, on all my other cpc's with FDD's they don't do that until I try to CAT or run something,this sounds like the motor is stuck ON
like
0
No reactions

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.470
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Awards
Re: CPC 664 won't boot
« Reply #32 on: 00:06, 16 February 21 »
i mean it's buzzing constantly, on all my other cpc's with FDD's they don't do that until I try to CAT or run something,this sounds like the motor is stuck ON

There's a sensor to detect when the head has returned to it's outer position. If this sensor is broken or has bad solder joints the head is permanently trying to park. That makes a pretty loud buzzing sound.

Bryce.
like
0
No reactions

Offline anyweb

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: se
    • https://www.amstrad-noob.com
    • Awards
Re: CPC 664 won't boot
« Reply #33 on: 10:10, 16 February 21 »
ok, i'll look into that but this definitely (to me) sounds like the actual FDD motor is ON permanently once the 12v is connected, once i disconnect the 12V it goes quiet...
like
0
No reactions