CPC464 MC0044A Blue Screen, I'm new to all this!

Started by Rygo, 11:33, 22 November 22

Previous topic - Next topic

Rygo

Hey guys. I have a CPC464 on my bench and have been doing quite a bit of reading on the forum but would like to jot it all down first hand. When I turn it on i only have a blue screen, tape deck doesnt play but will rw and ff.

So far and after reading on this forum (what a wealth of information!) I have pulled the 40009, socketed it and dumpped the ROM, I have then checked this against a ROM downloaded form here and they are identical so I would assume that the 40009 is ok. 

With that back on I have a feeling I should be looking at the RAM?

I have visually inspected the board, removed and cleaned the pins on the Z80 and the 40010 but nothing has changed. 

I know there are some RAM resting roms floating around but would any work if written to the 40009? I dont want to waste time pulling RAM modules if i dont need too. Even if it owuld be fun to socket them all! :laugh:

Please bare with me on this one. I am a board level technician but I generally work with phones and laptops but writing roms and testing ram modules like this is a little over my head at the moment. 

Thanks in advance!

d_kef

Hi Rygo and welcome!

The Amstrad Diagnostics ROM is what you need.
There is an image that can be burned in an eprom and replace the 40009.
The diagnostics will start automatically on power up and the RAM will be tested.

d_kef 

Rygo

Ahh ok thanks, I have ordered an M27C256 from eBay and will post my findings when this arrives and has been tested. 

I thought this would be the way to go but didnt know if the 40009 was writable so I didnt need to order anything in. 

Bryce

Hi Rygo,
     if the entire screen is always blue on start, then it may not be the RAM (but still could be). Dodgy RAM will usually give a square of another colour in the centre of the screen. The ROM was a good place to start though.

Bryce.

SerErris