News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

CPC6128 boot issue

Started by deano467, 20:55, 18 July 23

Previous topic - Next topic

deano467

Hi all, I have a boot up issue with this CPC. The white vertical lines flash on and off then the screen locks up at the photo taken. No input from keyboard.

I have some previous experience repairing spectrums and would be keen to have a go at this, any pointers appreciated 

Rabs

Interesting, starts to boot, so almost running. Looks like lower ROM starts but does not get to the Ready prompt, so having problems with the upper ROM. And then there are those lines.

Rabs

There is a diagnostics ROM available Diag ROM.

deano467

Thanks I have used diag ROM on a zx dandanator before. Is there an amstrad version which has this ROM preinstalled?

Rabs

Quote from: deano467 on 22:13, 18 July 23Thanks I have used diag ROM on a zx dandanator before. Is there an amstrad version which has this ROM preinstalled?
Yes there is. Check ebay for a  Dandanator mini. Or you can burn your own ROM and replace the onboard ROM.

Rabs

But I am not convinced it will tell you much in this instance other than confirm the RAM is OK.

Rabs

I had a similar issue with a 664 see 664 issue but the PCB was in a bad state in this instance and no vertical white lines.

Rabs

I had a broken track between IC205 and IC212 on the Disk Controller side of the PCB.

IC205 PIN 2 AND gate input was floating high, should have been held low by IC212 PIN 5.
IC205 PIN 1 AND gate input is connected to A15
IC203 PIN 3 AND gate output is connected to ROMDIS

Every time A15 went high, the ROM was disabled.

So lower ROM worked, upper ROM was disabled. Took me a while...

Note these are 664 IC numbers

deano467

This CPC itself is in excellent condition, looks like it has been stored in a dry location. Think I'll recap then do a finger test for hot chips at the weekend.

Rabs