News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

CTM 640 help

Started by Pixelshift, 18:30, 26 January 23

Previous topic - Next topic

Pixelshift

Hi guys,

I'm a bit of a noob to the Amstrad world. I've repaired quite a few C64s and an Apple ][. I got hold of a CPC 464 recently, and the computer itself is fine, but the monitor is dead.

What happens: Upon switch-on, there is a loud "clack" noise, which I suspect is the degauss coil. But the tube doesn't come on - there's no static and no high pitched whine.

I started checking voltages on the board. Got hold of a schematic. Voltages seemed as expected from the mains, through the filter and into the bridge rectifier, but then on the other side of the R501 resistor (the big white wire-wound one packed in cement) there was 0 volts. I de-soldered the resistor and found it to be failed, open circuit.

So I ordered another of the same type (5W, 5.6 ohms, cement) and installed that today. Powered up the CTM640, and got ... nothing. Same "clack" noise and no tube output. Fuse is intact, voltages are the same at the bridge, and .. oh, the resistor is open circuit again! It has failed.

So my question is, what can I check from this point? What could be the next component to check?

I'm guessing replacing the 5.6 ohm resistor with a bit of wire would probably be a bad idea, or would it?

Thanks for any help :)

RetroCPC

Hi,

For sure replacing R501 with a Wire link is a VERY BAD idea, and will only cause more damage / Fire.

Be VERY careful, this section of the circuit will have around 380VDC when powered (when working correctly) and is NOT isolated from the AC Mains supply (This could kill you), so I strongly suggest if you are not skilled with working on Switching PSU to avoid working on this section of the monitor.