CPCWiki forum

General Category => Technical Support => Hardware related => Topic started by: awergh on 14:21, 30 January 15

Title: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: awergh on 14:21, 30 January 15
I got an adaptor from Piotr so I can attach the DDI to the X4 but the DDI doesn't seem to be working reliably.
This might have something to do with its awkward positioning.

The DDI and XMEM work fine by themselves but together sometimes I get artifacting eg Gryzor or read errors, and RTYPE 128K didn't let me start the game though I might of messed up with writing the disk with CPC Disk XP.

What I wanted to do was use a 50 pin extensions cable to put to move it somewhere more convieinet but whatever I tried that just didn't seem to work, is it somehow not allowed to add an extra metre or almost that to the length?

XMEM is in slot 1 and DDI is attached to the end and I'm not adding an additional power to the X4.

Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: roy bates on 14:34, 30 January 15
ill keep an eye on this thread as i was going to ask the same question. :)

i would keep the cables as short as possible as i assume the ddi is the last thing connected.

did you clean the expansion port edge pads at the computer?
Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: TFM on 19:54, 30 January 15
- Contacts clean?
- Wobbling contacts?
- Keep cables short :)
- Using a GT64/65, then get external PSU imho.

You can also ask here:
http://www.centpourcent.net/support.html#/offtopic/ (http://www.centpourcent.net/support.html#/offtopic/)
Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: awergh on 15:17, 31 January 15
The contacts seem fairly clean although I haven't cleaned it recently.

Its possibly wobbling, perhaps I should try it in the other room with extra space

AWWWW (maybe I can wait for the new phone book and prop up the GT64 and then there would be space or make space behind it)

I was using a GT64 yeah, partly cause its convenient sometimes although perhaps I should get an external PSU for the times I only want colour.
Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: IanS on 15:12, 01 February 15
XMEM is in slot 1 and DDI is attached to the end and I'm not adding an additional power to the X4.

I haven't done a lot with my XMEM yet, but have you checked to ensure that ROM 7 is disabled in the XMEM, or take the rom out of the DDI. You don't want both putting a value on the bus when rom 7 is selected.

May not be the issue, but worth checking.
Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: gerald on 15:18, 01 February 15
I haven't done a lot with my XMEM yet, but have you checked to ensure that ROM 7 is disabled in the XMEM, or take the rom out of the DDI. You don't want both putting a value on the bus when rom 7 is selected.
XMEM is ignoring ROM7 selection, so this should not be the problem.
I've use the XMEM with an original DDI1 without any issue.
Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: TFM on 18:24, 02 February 15
I haven't done a lot with my XMEM yet, but have you checked to ensure that ROM 7 is disabled in the XMEM, or take the rom out of the DDI. You don't want both putting a value on the bus when rom 7 is selected.


The X-MEM does NOT provide ROM 7!  ;)
Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: Subaru on 18:38, 02 February 15

The X-MEM does NOT provide ROM 7!  ;)

FR

Si, c'est possible !

Il suffit juste de retirer le 40015 du ddi-1. (http://i42.servimg.com/u/f42/11/72/80/31/pasmaf10.gif)


ENG

Yes, it is possible!

 You just have to remove the 40015 of DDI-1. (http://i42.servimg.com/u/f42/11/72/80/31/pasmaf10.gif)



Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: TotO on 18:43, 02 February 15
The X-MEM definitively not provide the ROM7. It's to the floppy drive interface to do that.
Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: Subaru on 18:46, 02 February 15
FR

C'est pas ce que j'avais compris l'autre fois.  :(


ENG

This is not what I understood the other time.  :(
Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: TFM on 18:51, 02 February 15
Instead of the ROM 7 the X-MEM provides the lower ROM. This can be switched on or off. :)
Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: awergh on 13:46, 05 February 15
So I moved the 464 to another room to have another go where everything would be nicely positioned without wobble.

I'm a little confused though, Super Edge Grinder didn't detect the 128K neither did Edge Grinder (but at least it told me it couldn't find it), now the interesting thing about Edge Grinder is that previously I was able to load it from tape and it worked fine but the disk version seems not to work.

R-Type 128K works kindof, I'm not sure if thats a problem with the disk I wrote but it seemed to succeed.
It detects the 128K and plays the intro and the menu music but I can't get into the game and it has some artifacts of sorts displayed while loading

Orion Prime got past the 128K message but complained about the disk as it would appear I did something wrong there.


So really now I'm not sure what to do as the DDI works and the XMEM works but not really together, oh and Shinobi from TAPE didn't seem to work with the DDI attached but I didn't fully test that.
Gryzor displays artifacts when the XMEM is attached but fine when it is not attached.

I could clean the contacts but I doubt that would make much difference as the expansion port is definately working.
The XMEM is configured in 464 mode and booting from CPC instead of ROM although that didn't seem to make a difference either way of making things happen
Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: Bryce on 13:53, 05 February 15
This sounds very similar to Craigsbar's problems. Maybe this needs to be properly investigated further: Oh No! My 464plus (with Internal Upgrades) has developed a fault. (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/hardware-related/oh-no!-my-464plus-%28with-internal-upgrades%29-has-developed-a-fault/)

Two completely different computers both showing artifacts on 128K software says to me "somethings up"? I've never seen a CPC having artifact problems before.

Bryce.
Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: remax on 19:26, 05 February 15
I have (lots of) artifacts with my XMEM on my CPC 6128 CRTC 4
Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: TFM on 19:32, 05 February 15
... Super Edge Grinder didn't detect the 128K neither did Edge Grinder


Please use this to detect RAM and tell us the result! This could be helpful.  :)



Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: Subaru on 06:03, 06 February 15
FR
Ca n'a peut-être rien à voir mais, quel version de z80 as-tu dans ton CPC ?

--------------------
ENG
It perhaps has nothing to do but, what version of z80 have you in your CPC ?
Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: awergh on 14:43, 06 February 15

Please use this to detect RAM and tell us the result! This could be helpful.  :)

I ran it and it said 64KB of main memory and 512KB Expansion RAM
http://i.imgur.com/ydOrgxG.gif (http://i.imgur.com/ydOrgxG.gif)


And I've no idea what version of the z80 it is but from memory the mainboard says 1983 on it if that helps.
Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: Subaru on 15:06, 06 February 15
Quote
STMicroelectronics Z80 CPU cause compatibility problems with 464/664. Please, replace it by a Zilog Z8040004PSC (http://www.centpourcent.net/store/p45/CPU.html).

Source: X-MEM MX4 Board - Cent Pour Cent (http://www.centpourcent.net/store/p55/X-MEM_MX4_Board.html)

FR:
Il ya de grande chance que ton z80 ne soit pas un zilog.

------------
ENG:
There is a good chance that your z80 is not a Zilog.
Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: TFM on 18:58, 06 February 15
I ran it and it said 64KB of main memory and 512KB Expansion RAM
http://i.imgur.com/ydOrgxG.gif (http://i.imgur.com/ydOrgxG.gif)


And I've no idea what version of the z80 it is but from memory the mainboard says 1983 on it if that helps.


Ok, so RAM is fine. And Z80 is fine too.
Title: Re: DDI + XMEM issue
Post by: TotO on 19:43, 06 February 15
The problem is the CPC ASIC that look to be not fully compatible (CRTC 4).
No problem with the PLUS ASIC, probably because it was fixed.

I will see if it is possible to fix that after dispatching all the X-MASS boards.