Different Revision MP-2 RF Modulator - Help Composite modding

Started by a7mag3ddon, 23:32, 29 April 15

Previous topic - Next topic

a7mag3ddon

Hi All Total noob to Amstrad's here so please go easy, and this is my first post.

Ok so im looking for some help composite modding my MP-2 RF Modulator so stumbled across this site, however when i looked at the diagrams you have on here they are quite a bit different to mine.

I then spent some time looking at the board and saw the RGB encoder chip was the same (MC1377P) so got a datasheet for it, i have tried to mod it based on the datasheet where pin 7 is video clamp and pin 9 is the composite video out but 2 things happened, when i went from 1 side of the cap (closest to pin 5) the screen was black and white and rolling and when i go the other side of the capacitor (ground side) the screen is ok and in colour but the text seems slightly blurred (to me)

Could some one take a look at the following pictures and see where i went wrong? Thanks.

MP2 cover

MP2 Rear Label

MP2 Circuit Board

My MP2 Mod Wiring

The solder point bottom left is coming from pin 9 and the top most solder point is the capacitor leg on the ground side from pin 7

The Resulting output (looks worse on TV)

TFM

If you don't own the original monitor then imho best is to make an RGB to SCART cable. That provides the best quality. See CPCWiki for page how to do it.  :)

And have fun here.  :)
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Bryce

Hi and welcome to the forum,