News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

GX4000 Scart Issue

Started by Julian Solo, 18:27, 15 February 20

Previous topic - Next topic

Julian Solo

Hi there, i recently scored a GX4000 console off ebay. The unit was sold with only the rf cable so i purchased a cheap scart cable on amazon to try it on my tv. The console powers on but i only get a black screen (no sound). I tryed with a better scart cable and on a different tv but i always get this black screen (only once i noticed a flickering green image). Should i stick with the rf cable (assuming it works as i haven't tried yet) or there are other means of tv connection like the 8pin to scart cable? Sorry but i'm total noob and even searching the other posts i could not figure if such a cable exists or it is only to connect to an Amstrad monitor. Before i ship back the unit as defective any help would be greatly apprecieted.

P.S. Obviously i tried it with the Burning Rubber cartridge inserted

tjohnson

First thing to try would be tuning it in with the rf cable.  It's possible to run it using an 8 pin din to scart cable too.  However if it doesn't work via rf then the console is probably dead.

What power supply did it come with? people often kill them by plugging different supplies into the 5v like a 12v supply.  The original 11v is a larger plug and won't go into the 5v but most common 12v supplies will.

robcfg

Does the scart cable have all the pins?

It may be that it only has the composite audio/video pins, and you need basically all of them as the console outputs RGB video.

Good luck!

Julian Solo

It comes with the original Amstrad 11v psu. And the yes the scart have all the pins infact when i hook it to the tv is auto switches to the scart out like the others rgb cables i use (two different Amigas and some other consoles with rgb out).

mr_lou

I experienced somewhat the same when I got my GX4000: An extremely dark almost entirely black picture.