Author Topic: Has anybody used an Amstrad RS232 for file transfer.  (Read 2218 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.452
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 321
  • Likes Given: 738
Hi All


Has anybody used an Amstrad RS232  for file transfer.
I have just purchased an Original version1 and a Pace version.


Thanks      Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.345
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4631
  • Likes Given: 484
Re: Has anybody used an Amstrad RS232 for file transfer.
« Reply #1 on: 10:34, 18 February 16 »
I have, but not since the 80's.

Bryce.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.452
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 321
  • Likes Given: 738
Re: Has anybody used an Amstrad RS232 for file transfer.
« Reply #2 on: 10:36, 18 February 16 »
@bryce
A weeny bit more information Please  ;D


Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.345
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4631
  • Likes Given: 484
Re: Has anybody used an Amstrad RS232 for file transfer.
« Reply #3 on: 10:38, 18 February 16 »
@bryce
A weeny bit more information Please  ;D


Ray

I just remember having done it. The details and any knowledge related to that has long since been re-formatted and used for new information (or possibly just deleted using Beer 2.0)

Bryce.

Offline ukmarkh

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.459
  • Country: england
    • Classic Replay
  • Liked: 378
  • Likes Given: 101
Re: Has anybody used an Amstrad RS232 for file transfer.
« Reply #4 on: 15:05, 18 February 16 »
We tried, back in the day, but kept timing out... I'm afraid we couldn't get it working. But I've transferred using a CPC to PC using a parallel cable. 

Offline GeoffB17

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 797
  • Country: gb
  • PCW since '85, more CP/M than Loco
  • Liked: 169
  • Likes Given: 9
Re: Has anybody used an Amstrad RS232 for file transfer.
« Reply #5 on: 17:04, 18 February 16 »
Not sure what is meant by 'Amstrad RS232'


I've used the CPS8256 unit on the PCW, but this was LONG ago before I found easier ways to do it via disks.


I tried to do things with the MAIL232 prog that comes with the PCW, but I had problems.


I was trying to transfer progs/data between the PCW and an Epson HX-20 computer, so I needed some process I could control at BOTH ends.


I ended up writing my own progs for both ends, using a fairly simple software handshake of ACK/NACK.   This did the trick fine, although a bit slow.   Served it's purpose though!!


Any help?


Geoff

Offline mahlemiut

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 302
  • Country: nz
  • Liked: 151
  • Likes Given: 64
Re: Has anybody used an Amstrad RS232 for file transfer.
« Reply #6 on: 23:26, 18 February 16 »
Not sure if it counts, but I've done it in MAME... :)

From memory, I think you can use PIP under CP/M to transfer files across the serial port.

Perhaps this might help?  http://cpcwiki.eu/imgs/6/61/RS232C_Serial_Interface_%28Amsoft_UK%29_Manual.pdf

Mostly I preferred to just give remote control of CP/M to another system... (Yes, I know it's an old screen shot ;))
- Barry Rodewald
Amstrad CPC, Sharp X68000, Neo Geo Pocket, and Neo Geo AES system leader at HARP
http://www.homeactionreplay.org/

Offline GeoffB17

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 797
  • Country: gb
  • PCW since '85, more CP/M than Loco
  • Liked: 169
  • Likes Given: 9
Re: Has anybody used an Amstrad RS232 for file transfer.
« Reply #7 on: 00:20, 19 February 16 »
Hm, interesting to see the .PDF for the manual for the RS232C unit.


Parts of the manual look EXACTLY like parts of the manual for the PCW CPS8256 unit.   Not surprising, I suppose, given that the two using are (somewhat) related.


The solution for the OP prob depends on just what he (?) intends to link to.   For some things, the PIP method could work fine.   For other links, may need something more sophisticated.   In my case (as noted above) I was linking to a quite different machine, and had access ONLY to that machine's BASIC (although that allowed full access to the serial port), also that machine was running at a much slower speed (only about a third of the speed of the PCW).   So I did need some sort of handshaking!


Geoff

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.452
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 321
  • Likes Given: 738
Re: Has anybody used an Amstrad RS232 for file transfer.
« Reply #8 on: 00:39, 19 February 16 »

Hi GeoffB17

Not sure what is meant by 'Amstrad RS232'


"Amstrad RS232" is what is written on the Boxes of the Interfaces for the Amstrad CPC's


I've used the CPS8256 unit on the PCW, but this was LONG ago before I found easier ways to do it via disks.

Ok,  I have been using disks to Go from an old PC to The CPC i was looking to make it a direct transfer.
Rather than Copying to a Disk then moving it to the CPC and using it.



I tried to do things with the MAIL232 prog that comes with the PCW, but I had problems.

I have a PCW still in storage and an RS232 Inteface to suit a PCW. This is a Project on hold .



I was trying to transfer progs/data between the PCW and an Epson HX-20 computer, so I needed some process I could control at BOTH ends.


I ended up writing my own progs for both ends, using a fairly simple software handshake of ACK/NACK.   This did the trick fine, although a bit slow.   Served it's purpose though!!


Any help?
Yes I would like to get a copy Please ? is the Epson HX-20 a PC ? Windows or Dos ?


Geoff
Answers inside the Quote above


Thanks  Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.452
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 321
  • Likes Given: 738
Re: Has anybody used an Amstrad RS232 for file transfer.
« Reply #9 on: 00:43, 19 February 16 »
@mahlemiut


Thanks. I will have a look at "pip"


I don't know "Mame or Mess"


Thanks    Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.452
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 321
  • Likes Given: 738
Re: Has anybody used an Amstrad RS232 for file transfer.
« Reply #10 on: 00:48, 19 February 16 »
Hm, interesting to see the .PDF for the manual for the RS232C unit.


Parts of the manual look EXACTLY like parts of the manual for the PCW CPS8256 unit.   Not surprising, I suppose, given that the two using are (somewhat) related.


The solution for the OP prob depends on just what he (?) intends to link to.   For some things, the PIP method could work fine.   For other links, may need something more sophisticated.   In my case (as noted above) I was linking to a quite different machine, and had access ONLY to that machine's BASIC (although that allowed full access to the serial port), also that machine was running at a much slower speed (only about a third of the speed of the PCW).   So I did need some sort of handshaking!


Geoff


Hi GeoffB17


I would be looking at transfers from an old PC with a Serial Port (9Pin) to the CPC, or from a MAC using a USB-Serial Cable (9Pin) via a converter cable back up to 25 Pin to Suit the Amstrad RS232 Interface.


Thats what i am looking at, I know it will be rather slow but thats OK.


Thanks   Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline GeoffB17

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 797
  • Country: gb
  • PCW since '85, more CP/M than Loco
  • Liked: 169
  • Likes Given: 9
Re: Has anybody used an Amstrad RS232 for file transfer.
« Reply #11 on: 01:34, 19 February 16 »
Hello Ray,


I'll see what I can unearth!   I was doing this back in early 1986!


Firstly, the Epson HX-20 is a pre-laptop (?), with a tiny LCD screen, build in micro-printer, 32k RAM max, but actually a quite sophisticated BASIC with good support for the RS232 port.   I have an associated TF-20 unit, which is a 2 floppy disk unit, so when that is attached the combined unit can do some useful data work.


At the time I was linking, I did not have any PC access, and I had not yet got sorted with disks.   Later I had a 5.25" drive for the PCW, and was able to configure a 5.25 format that could be read and written to by BOTH the TF unit and the PCW, so I could transfer things that way.


I've found my file marked 'HX <--> PCW Link', with various notes, and printouts of progs for both machines.  Working versions (I think) for the PCW are Z80 assembly.   I also have printout for HX-20 versions, which are HX BASIC (but with a bit of 6302 assembly to make use of ROM routines).


I've found a PCW disk that has versions of HX-LINK.ASM.   I'll need to dig into some HX/TF disks to see if I can find code for the other end, but I'm sure it's there somewhere.


The BIG problem is that I've no idea which version of each program was working with which other.   I may be able to work this out from the details of the code, and the byte handshaking.   I may well have had versions that were working byte-by-byte, and others using a block and a chk.   All I can say is that there IS a combination that DID work.   Prob, there are other combinations that worked, but not fast enough?


I'll see what I can put together.


I think that quite separately I did have something for linking PCW to PC as well.   Would that be more useful?  Maybe the same, or very similar, code at the PCW end, probably QBASIC at the PC end, but I'm guessing.   We ARE talking 30 years ago!!   Once I discovered 22DISK, that was so much easier I had no need to do anything more with cables!!   Of course, that was practical ONLY because I had the 5.25" drive on the PCW, but it could work just as well with a 3.5".


Geoff