Author Topic: Problem CPC6128 Fixed Thanks to all who Contributed.  (Read 7625 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.458
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 322
  • Likes Given: 748
Hi all

I have a small problem I was wondering if you could point me in the right direction.

I have a CPC6128 that gives me the following screens:-

Boot
Geralds Memtest Original,
Geralds Memtest NEW (wip)

The Links are in LK1 and LK2 ? I get "Isp 128K  etc" ? ?
No Basic 1.1 or Ready, or cursor ?

On my other machines with the Links as above I get "AWA 128k etc"

It has been in storage for 20 Years.

When first turned on "Nothing on screen"

I have Replaced IC 108 - CRT C with a New HD6845SP
and Fitted a Good Turned socket I have tried 2 of these.

Can you give me some help Please

Thanks.  Ray
« Last Edit: 04:15, 08 February 20 by Audronic »
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.458
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 322
  • Likes Given: 748
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #1 on: 07:43, 04 February 20 »
Hi All

Partial success.
Replaced the 8255.
The machine ID is now Awa.
Geralds Original RamTest now works.
Geralds Ramtest (wip) stalls ?

Still no Cursor

See photos

Ray
« Last Edit: 07:51, 04 February 20 by Audronic »
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.458
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 322
  • Likes Given: 748
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #2 on: 07:49, 04 February 20 »
Photo below after 5 Tries to get passed SECURITY CHECK
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 388
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 256
  • Likes Given: 276
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #3 on: 09:34, 04 February 20 »
Hmmm, i'm not a hardware-guy,
but an similar (?) effect i have seen often, when i do strange things with the ROM's.
Could you connect an ROM-Board and burn 2 ROM's with an booting message (like MAXAM)?
One with an ROM-Number > 7 and one with an ROM-Number < 7?
Do you see both ROM-Booting Messages?

Offline llopis

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 303
  • Country: es
    • Noel's Retro Lab
  • Liked: 191
  • Likes Given: 148
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #4 on: 09:49, 04 February 20 »
Yeah, my first guess would be a faulty BASIC ROM. Try replacing it with something else or connecting some kind of external ROM and see if that works.

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.440
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4712
  • Likes Given: 487
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #5 on: 10:56, 04 February 20 »
My experience from many, many repairs: This is usually due to a bad AMSDOS ROM, not the BASIC ROM. In the few cases where swapping the AMSDOS ROM didn't help, it turned out to be an issue with the FDC.

Bryce.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.458
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 322
  • Likes Given: 748
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #6 on: 11:10, 04 February 20 »
Hi Bryce, Sos, llopis

Thanks I will have a look at those areas.

I have just found a problem with the /cas line on IC 119 - Ic 125. Out with the snippers.

I will have a look tomorrow  its 8:12 Pm now over here

Thanks

Ray
« Last Edit: 11:37, 04 February 20 by Audronic »
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.458
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 322
  • Likes Given: 748
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #7 on: 00:33, 05 February 20 »
Hi All


Is there a document that outlines the order in which the CPC6128 starts up.
as to what is tested, initialised etc. this would help with diagnosis of an unwell machine


If there is something please post a link or the name of the document


Thanks.  Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.458
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 322
  • Likes Given: 748
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #8 on: 04:55, 05 February 20 »
Hi All

Update

Changed the ROM 40015 (Bryce Warned me) Did NOT fix the Problem
But I now have a Fault indicated with Geralds Ramtest (WIP).
But which chip/s ?


EDITED
 
Ray
« Last Edit: 05:45, 05 February 20 by Audronic »
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.458
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 322
  • Likes Given: 748
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #9 on: 07:23, 05 February 20 »
Hi All
Update Again !


Changed some Ram in 2nd bank, now Geralds RamTest (wip) has worked.
Still not Booting, No Ready - Cursor.


Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 388
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 256
  • Likes Given: 276
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #10 on: 07:41, 05 February 20 »
does the AMSDOS loaded correctly?
=> do you see both ROM-Messages (e.g. MAXAM on ROM9 and MAXAM on ROM 5), when connecting an external ROM-Board?

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.458
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 322
  • Likes Given: 748
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #11 on: 08:04, 05 February 20 »
@SOS 

AMSDOS does not fully load.
I have tried Dandanator,Just goes to startup screen.
I have used lower rom for the 2 RamTests by Gerald.

I plug in my Xmem-X-mas and I get as per photo Starts to boot and stops after |RPM.

Thanks for your thoughts.

This is the 8th (EIGHTH) time I have tried to send a photo Grrrr Security check Hmmmn
on the 9th time I was able to send the photo ? ? ?


Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 2.795
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
  • Liked: 1300
  • Likes Given: 3034
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #12 on: 10:32, 05 February 20 »
Still looks like a bad ROM. Try to replace connected ROMs - one by one if possible.
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Update: 2021.01.24)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2021.07.15)

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.440
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4712
  • Likes Given: 487
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #13 on: 11:02, 05 February 20 »
Still looks like a bad ROM. Try to replace connected ROMs - one by one if possible.

But it didn't start even with zero external ROMs attached. My guess is that something in the floppy circuitry is bad. Try disabling the entire floppy hardware and see if it boots.

Bryce.

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 2.795
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
  • Liked: 1300
  • Likes Given: 3034
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #14 on: 12:05, 05 February 20 »
But it didn't start even with zero external ROMs attached. My guess is that something in the floppy circuitry is bad. Try disabling the entire floppy hardware and see if it boots.

Bryce.


Exactly, the problem is in the ROM. Since the OS seems to work, take a look at the BASIC ROM.
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Update: 2021.01.24)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2021.07.15)

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.440
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4712
  • Likes Given: 487
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #15 on: 12:45, 05 February 20 »
Possible I suppose, but unlikely. ROMs tend to break in terms of rows or columns, or bits stuck on the address or databus. Any of these failures would stop the CPC from getting as far as it does at the moment.

Bryce.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.458
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 322
  • Likes Given: 748
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #16 on: 14:42, 05 February 20 »
Hi All


Thanks.
I will change over the 40015 FDD Rom IC 204 tomorrow and see what happens

TYPO Should read 40025 Grrrr.

Ray

« Last Edit: 01:11, 06 February 20 by Audronic »
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 12.440
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4712
  • Likes Given: 487
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #17 on: 14:44, 05 February 20 »
I thought you already changed it? At least you stated you did just above??

Hi All

Update

Changed the ROM 40015 (Bryce Warned me) Did NOT fix the Problem
But I now have a Fault indicated with Geralds Ramtest (WIP).


If the AMSDOS ROM hasn't been changed yet, then that is definitely the first thing to try.

Bryce.
« Last Edit: 14:55, 05 February 20 by Bryce »

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 2.795
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
  • Liked: 1300
  • Likes Given: 3034
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #18 on: 23:08, 05 February 20 »
Another idea, probably unlikely... can it be a weak PSU? With them this issue could happen.
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Update: 2021.01.24)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2021.07.15)

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.458
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 322
  • Likes Given: 748
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #19 on: 00:58, 06 February 20 »

If the AMSDOS ROM hasn't been changed yet, then that is definitely the first thing to try.

Bryce.


Bryce sorry I made a TYPO I have removed only the 40025  (ROM-PC3) IC103

Thanks

 I am about to remove the 40015 and test the motherboard without the 40015 ?




Thanks.  Ray
« Last Edit: 01:10, 06 February 20 by Audronic »
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.458
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 322
  • Likes Given: 748
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #20 on: 01:01, 06 February 20 »
Another idea, probably unlikely... can it be a weak PSU? With them this issue could happen.


Thanks  Have used a good known power supply (2  different Power Supplies) Both around 5.04 Volts with a 4 amp capacity.
I think the power supply is not the problem


Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.458
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 322
  • Likes Given: 748
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #21 on: 01:48, 06 February 20 »
Hi All


Nearly there 40015 Removed, Powered up and got this Yeahhh


Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.458
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 322
  • Likes Given: 748
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #22 on: 02:35, 06 February 20 »
Hi All


No Success back to NO Ready- NO Cursor after replacing 40015 , Now it gets hard to find the fault.


Ray
« Last Edit: 02:38, 06 February 20 by Audronic »
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 388
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 256
  • Likes Given: 276
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #23 on: 07:51, 06 February 20 »
When you remove the AMSDOS 40015-IC and burn an AMSDOS.ROM on Slot 6 on your ROM-Board and e.g. MAXAM on Slot 5.
What happens?
Hung the ROM6 (you dont see Booting-Messages from ROM's with Number < 6?) ?
Can you access the floppy?

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.458
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 322
  • Likes Given: 748
Re: Problem CPC6128
« Reply #24 on: 08:24, 06 February 20 »
Hi SOS


No The machine CanNot Boot to a ready or cursor.


I am working around the Floppy drive circuit at the moment.


I have found an 74HC240 that is unwell.
Am about to replace this. ( I think I have done this on an other machine ?)


I don't know about Maxam  I will have a look at what it does ?


Ray

Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.