News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Another Gotek thread

Started by ngtwolf, 21:26, 26 May 19

Previous topic - Next topic

ngtwolf

Hi all,

I've gone through what i think are all the gotek threads on here, as well as anything i can find on the internet and I've gotten myself about 95% of the way there, but I'm having issues with the software piece apparently.  Just a quick note that I've set up goteks for my ST and TRS-80 so I'm not a total beginner so that might help with the responses :)

As far as hardware, I've imaged the Gotek with flashfloppy 1.2 and hooked up an oled display.  I've also rewired the end connector for 34 pins and swapped the 5v on the power connector.  For now, I'm just trying this with just the gotek but would like to eventually move the physical floppy to drive B.  I have a jumper on S0 only. For the Amstrad, this is for a 8256 (just upgraded it to 512k). 

For the software, all of the downloads here were expired, so I've had to guess.  I downloaded the various disks including the games one here and converted them all to HFE files.  Initially I tried in indexed mode and renamed a few files and that worked, but obviously not optimal.  I next tried Habi autoboot along with the hxc autoboot cfg file.  It booted up fine, let me select disks, but when i rebooted i couldn't switch to any of those disks, i could only get into the autoboot.  I tried normal mode, but didn't have any luck getting anything to work there.  Initially i had everything in folders and the gotek guessed a few file names and let me boot them, but again, it only saw a few files and it doesn't seem to traverse directories.  I moved everything to the root to no avail.   I only have the two buttons, i didn't install any radial dial or anything so maybe that's the problem with normal mode, not sure.  This is the first time I've used the OLED screen and normal mode so maybe I'm doing something wrong there.