News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Another new user

Started by MartinW, 22:47, 24 March 13

Previous topic - Next topic

MartinW

Hey all, thought I'd pop a post up to introduce myself!

Some people may already know me - I already spotted one name I know :) I'm an admin at UKVAC where there (and a lot of other places) I go by the name 'Guddler'.

My background is mostly with arcade machines which I've been into for 12 years or so but I also dabble in retro computers and hardware from time to time. I spent a few years collecting BBC Micro kit and have a lovely Master all kitted out with modern storage solution and modern 2nd processor solution. I did try Archimedes for a while but frankly 16-bit just doesn't really do much for me. It kind of feels too close to modern that it makes me just feel like it doesn't quite work.

So, spending a bit of time away for work at the moment, sat in a hotel flicking through eBay I decided to see about picking up a CPC. I used to have a 464 with external floppy drive back when I was 18 but for practical purposes I decided to go for a 6128 this time round. I tried bidding on a few on eBay but they all went a bit rich for me. Finally I asked on the arcade forum and someone flogged me one that needed some work for £50 including the colour monitor. I didn't think that was too bad. OK, not the £20 and a pint it would have been nice to have paid, but not daft either.

A few hours after getting it I had it fully working. The "monitor could use a cap kit" turned out to be bad solder joints in the area of the brightness control and the "disk doesn't work", surprise, surprise was the belt. Next I stripped it down and cleaned all the casings up in the dish washer so they're nice and sparkly. While I was in there (not the dish washer!) I fitted a reset button, dual OS, and added a drive power cable from the motherboard.