CPCWiki forum

General Category => Off topic => Topic started by: Gryzor on 16:01, 04 May 16

Title: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Gryzor on 16:01, 04 May 16
I'v been looking into getting a 520STM, just because I like the case.


I found this: Atari 520STM in Box with Mouse, Power Supply and Manuals | eBay (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/262417007916) but the seller refuses to send it outside the UK...


Anyone in a helpful mood? :)


T
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 16:13, 04 May 16
It would not be a problem to have it sent to me if you win the auction  :D . The only thing you should check is the price of sending it from UK to Greece, it can be quite expensive, I am afraid  :'(
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Gryzor on 17:29, 04 May 16

Thanks mate, much appreciated - and yes, I know it can be a tad expensive.

The problem is, I can't bid on it, so it's not only a case of winning it and shipping it over there, someone else has to do the dirty job for me... :(
(and in that light, I'm not considering you volunteered for more than you intended to!)
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 17:48, 04 May 16
I can also bid the for the machine, that is actually not a problem  :D
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: reidrac on 19:00, 04 May 16
Out of curiosity, for how much do this things go? £20 seems cheap to me.
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 19:02, 04 May 16
20 pounds would be a steal, imho. I expect the price to rise  :)
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: reidrac on 19:05, 04 May 16
20 pounds would be a steal, imho. I expect the price to rise  :)

Yep, I suspect it'll go for more than that.

I can't have more systems at home anyway, because I don't have the space nor the time to enjoy them (Speccy, Amstrad and I'd like to make a game for the Master System; but that's all for 2016 I promise!).
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 19:20, 04 May 16
Ahh... you should see the amount of systems I have in Spain, mostly in my parent´s house. Good that they are so patient and they only have a spoiled son  :laugh: . In UK, and living with my GF, I need to keep the things under control. However, I already have the PS4, the Xbox 360, the 6128 Plus, a 464 Plus, a Silicon Graphics O2, a cluster of 5 PCs, a bunch of calculators...  :-X I plan to ship my 360 with all the games to Spain, sell the PCs and, eventually, sell the 464 Plus, but I am sure that it will take time. Nobody wants the PCs nowadays, and the Plus needs some fixing/cleaning before selling it. The other option would be to upgrade it to a 6128, but sourcing the parts is not easy either. Oh well!  :-\
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Gryzor on 13:46, 05 May 16
Yeah, of course it will rise... I'd be surprised if it ended at 20 quid!
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Audronic on 17:23, 05 May 16
@Gryzor (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=1)


I hope you know that you will need an "External" floppy drive for this model.


Ray
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Gryzor on 17:53, 05 May 16
I don't want to operate it, I just want one :) But thanks for pointing it out. I have several ST versions, from a 520STFM to a couple of Mega STs, but not a plain STM...
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: CraigsBar on 20:23, 05 May 16
@Gryzor (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=1)


I hope you know that you will need an "External" floppy drive for this model.


Ray
I never realised any st came without a built in floppy drive. How odd for the era.
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Gryzor on 13:28, 08 May 16
Ah, but the 'era' was pretty early.


Initially Atari was going to release a 130ST and a 260ST with (you guessed it) 128 and 256KB of memory; these were quickly dropped since it was deemed that such a small amount of memory would not do the machine much justice. The 130ST was only a prototype, I think, and the 260ST was upped to 512KB because the OS couldn't really fit (192KB, how much could you do with 64KB left?). I guess they changed the name to 520ST around that point...


As far as hardware additions went, there was the ST, the STM which included a tv modulator and the STF which had a floppy drive (I hope I'm not mixing these up). Oh, there was also a 520ST+ which was a 520ST with one MB installed at factory. Go figure.
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Gryzor on 13:28, 08 May 16
So, anyone could help me out? :D
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 13:33, 08 May 16
Me, me  :D Should I bid for the machine? How much?  :D
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: seanb on 14:07, 09 May 16
If ||C|-|E|| can't do it then I don't mind bidding and sending it on.
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Gryzor on 14:23, 09 May 16
Thanks, @seanb (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=1200) ! It seems @||C|-|E|| (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=1447) will probably do it, but if he can't I'll send you a PM... thanks again! :)
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: 1024MAK on 15:02, 09 May 16
Ah, but the 'era' was pretty early.

Initially Atari was going to release a 130ST and a 260ST with (you guessed it) 128 and 256KB of memory; these were quickly dropped since it was deemed that such a small amount of memory would not do the machine much justice. The 130ST was only a prototype, I think, and the 260ST was upped to 512KB because the OS couldn't really fit (192KB, how much could you do with 64KB left?). I guess they changed the name to 520ST around that point...

As far as hardware additions went, there was the ST, the STM which included a tv modulator and the STF which had a floppy drive (I hope I'm not mixing these up). Oh, there was also a 520ST+ which was a 520ST with one MB installed at factory. Go figure.

The first machines came with only a boot loader in ROM and the OS loaded from floppy. Hence the need for more RAM.
Once the OS had most of the bugs removed, ATARI shipped the computers with the OS in ROM, but by that time, the high cost of RAM was less of an issue, as RAM was now cheaper.

After the STF came the STFM. Then the STE. Note that machines for the French market don't have all the same video circuity as the machines for rest of the world.

More info here (http://www.atari-wiki.com/index.php/Atari_machines) and here (http://www.atari-wiki.com/index.php/Atari_ST)  ;D

Mark
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 15:41, 09 May 16
And there we are! I have already placed a bid! Let´s see if we are lucky!  :D :D
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Gryzor on 11:06, 10 May 16
Haven't done any shopping on eBay for ages! Crossing fingers - and thanks, man!!!
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 12:08, 10 May 16
Let´s see! You can expect people to start bidding at the very end, hehe  :)
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Gryzor on 12:39, 10 May 16
Yeah; not holding my breath, just slightly hopeful.
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 23:36, 12 May 16
Aaaaand... Gryzor is the happy winner of the Atari!!

Congratulations!

 :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-*
 :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-* :-*
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Bryce on 23:48, 12 May 16
Don't you already own one of them? I'm pretty sure I sent you one a while back?

Bryce.
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Gryzor on 14:25, 13 May 16

@||C|-|E|| (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=1447) : thanks so much mate... =)


@Bryce (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=225) : Yes indeed :)  I wanted a second one actually for my office. Go figure :D
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 14:36, 13 May 16
For the office?  :-\ I must admit that I was always tempted to bring an Amstrad to the lab and use it as a glorified calculator but... well...  :-\
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Gryzor on 14:45, 13 May 16
Eeeheheh... I've actually got a 48K Speccy as a mascot here, thought it was time to upgrade :)
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Bryce on 14:57, 13 May 16
Yeah, how are you supposed to play midi files in the office with a ZX. Oh wait, aren't you there to do real work?

Bryce.
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Gryzor on 15:00, 13 May 16
You'd be surprised how much productivity is raised with some quality music. In that regards of course you could also settle for a ZX, but come on, everyone's going to hate you.
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 15:17, 13 May 16
In most labs proper AY chiptunes would actually increase productivity because people would try to finish as soon as possible and leave the place  ;D Not so many appreciate the good stuff!
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Gryzor on 15:21, 13 May 16
Losers, all of them.


Or posh people, with their Beet-ovens and their Bachs and whatnot.
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 15:27, 13 May 16
Certainly, I hate them all.
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Bryce on 15:35, 13 May 16
The products in our lab are usually much more interesting to the average person than an 8-bit computer, so I doubt it would be noticed.

Bryce.
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 16:23, 13 May 16
Like female androids?
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Bryce on 16:28, 13 May 16
No, unfortunately not.

Bryce.
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 17:05, 13 May 16
Laser cannons, then.
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Bryce on 13:30, 14 May 16
No, and in case your next guess is Female Androids with laser cannons, it's not that either :D

Bryce.


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 15:51, 14 May 16
My final guests: a flux capacitor, a time machine, a flying car, a hoverboard, an infinite bacon machine, a sexy female android with a flux capacitors that comes to you when you call her in a hoverboard  :-\
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Gryzor on 19:59, 14 May 16
How do we get invited to those labs of yours, guys?
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: seanb on 14:03, 16 May 16
My final guests: a flux capacitor, a time machine, a flying car, a hoverboard, an infinite bacon machine, a sexy female android with a flux capacitors that comes to you when you call her in a hoverboard  :-\

That comes to you with a bacon sarnie.

God I'm hungry now
Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 02:06, 24 May 16
Somebody is really lucky!! The computer arrived today and is basically a NOS mint unit, completely new  :D :D

[attachimg=1]

[attachimg=2]

[attachimg=3]

[attachimg=4]

[attachimg=5]

[attachimg=6]

Look at this brand new mouse!

[attachimg=7]

Title: Re: Anyone can help me with a UK-only auction?
Post by: Gryzor on 10:05, 24 May 16
Heh, seems like I got lucky! I have several STs (hm, let's see, an STM, STFM1040, STe4096, couple of MegaSTs, probably another 520STe) and I've never owned a boxed one... even my original 1040STFM from back in the day was bought second hand!


Ahhh can't wait, though now I'm hesitant to keep it in my ofice!


Huge thanks, @||C|-|E|| (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=1447) :)