CPCWiki forum

General Category => Off topic => Topic started by: Techboy on 06:02, 31 August 19

Title: If the amstrad CPC 464 had no sprites, how were games made?
Post by: Techboy on 06:02, 31 August 19

If the 464 and 664 have no accommodation for sprites outside of the symbol command, how were certain games made?
Title: Re: If the amstrad CPC 464 had no sprites, how were games made?
Post by: DanyPPC on 07:42, 31 August 19
Software Sprites, redefined characters.
Title: Re: If the amstrad CPC 464 had no sprites, how were games made?
Post by: tjohnson on 07:46, 31 August 19
Hardware sprites I guess make it easy by baking routines to display sprites into the hardware doing much of the legwork that would otherwise require coders to write software routines to move sprites around on the screen.
Title: Re: If the amstrad CPC 464 had no sprites, how were games made?
Post by: Techboy on 16:54, 31 August 19
any examples
Title: Re: If the amstrad CPC 464 had no sprites, how were games made?
Post by: reidrac on 17:54, 31 August 19
You can write into video memory directly, instead of loading sprite data to a hardware sprite interface.

May be reading about the CPC video modes can help: http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/Video_modes

EDIT: this includes a more practical explanation: http://www.cpcmania.com/Docs/Programming/Painting_pixels_introduction_to_video_memory.htm
Title: Re: If the amstrad CPC 464 had no sprites, how were games made?
Post by: Techboy on 18:10, 31 August 19
i have a zip file for z88dk


how do i use it to run bat files?
Title: Re: If the amstrad CPC 464 had no sprites, how were games made?
Post by: Techboy on 04:03, 01 September 19
how do i use z88dk?
Title: Re: If the amstrad CPC 464 had no sprites, how were games made?
Post by: AMSDOS on 08:44, 01 September 19

I brought it up in the "New to Locomotive BASIC" thread about creating a platform game, and then testing it out with some Sprite Drivers. @DanyPPC (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=2186) is correct about the early generation CPCs using Software Sprites, which means writing your own Sprite Driver in Assembly and hope it's fast enough. Fortunately the CPCs have a 4Mhz processor as opposed to a C64 ~ 1Mhz, software Sprite Driver maybe too slow on it. The CPC Plus has Hardware Sprite Driver, but I don't know a great deal about it (have only heard negetative things about it).
So because the earlier CPCs have Software Sprite Drivers, there's quite a few floating around, the ones I used in that Platform Game thread place the Sprites in a Text Coordinates position, there are a number of Graphical ones which were also published in Magazines as well as Commercial Software, but have been too pre-occupied to look into them. I made a couple of Graphical Demos last year using Sean McManus' Easi-Sprite Driver Advanced, though I need to improve my skills at making Sprites Moving around the screen without the Flicker, which is why I have been sticking with the Text Coordinate Sprite Drivers for the minute.
Title: Re: If the amstrad CPC 464 had no sprites, how were games made?
Post by: tjohnson on 10:24, 01 September 19
Quote from: Techboy on 04:03, 01 September 19
how do i use z88dk?


I've no idea about this but it appears off topic.
Title: Re: If the amstrad CPC 464 had no sprites, how were games made?
Post by: SkulleateR on 11:34, 01 September 19
Quote from: Techboy on 04:03, 01 September 19
how do i use z88dk?


Well I'm not into asm programming at all, but google gives quite some hints here, like this -> https://chuntey.wordpress.com/2010/02/09/introduction-to-z88dk-part-1-installation-compilation/
Title: Re: If the amstrad CPC 464 had no sprites, how were games made?
Post by: Techboy on 16:39, 01 September 19
Quote from: tjohnson on 10:24, 01 September 19

I've no idea about this but it appears off topic.


No, it's related. CPCmania is all asm, that's why i asked. I have some experience with Z80
Title: Re: If the amstrad CPC 464 had no sprites, how were games made?
Post by: GUNHED on 18:18, 01 September 19
Quote from: Techboy on 06:02, 31 August 19
If the 464 and 664 have no accommodation for sprites outside of the symbol command, how were certain games made?
Better! Hardware Sprites always have limitations, for example they have certain X and Y size, certain maximum number of colors. Now if they were not used, then you can use software sprites, and they can be what ever you want.
Title: Re: If the amstrad CPC 464 had no sprites, how were games made?
Post by: VincentGR on 10:08, 03 September 19
But there is no harm having 8-16  ;D
Title: Re: If the amstrad CPC 464 had no sprites, how were games made?
Post by: Techboy on 11:50, 03 September 19
Quote from: GUNHED on 18:18, 01 September 19
Better! Hardware Sprites always have limitations, for example they have certain X and Y size, certain maximum number of colors. Now if they were not used, then you can use software sprites, and they can be what ever you want.


how exactly?
Title: Re: If the amstrad CPC 464 had no sprites, how were games made?
Post by: VincentGR on 12:00, 03 September 19
HW sprites have fixed number, size and colours.
On the other hand if you blit some sprites with a cpu or blitter, you can have as many colours as you like and sizes(well it depends on the hardware).
They are slow, you need to detect collision in software and redraw backgrounds.


With HW sprites you have almost no overhead on the cpu and in most of the cases collision detection is in hardware level.
They are also fast and they're drawn in their specific ram area which doesn't affect the background.
Powered by SMFPacks Menu Editor Mod