News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Introduction from Finland

Started by TechnoPenguin, 20:57, 30 June 11

Previous topic - Next topic

TechnoPenguin

First of all: I just registered today and decided to say hi, but you guys didn't have a sticky for introductions. (You really should have!) So I made a new post as it seems to be okay.

I'm a student from Jyvaskyla/Finland, age 23, studying Information Technology and had my first computer - CPC 6128 - when I was 7 (I think so, can't really remember that far). A year later I knew how to write BASIC and made some games and programs myself, nothing flashy, the usual kind of simple ones. I had lots of 3" disks and some cassettes, but never found out how to connect a casette player to my CPC. I remember a dot-matrix printer, which spew out one page in a minute or so :D. CPC was pretty common here, as my cousin and uncle had a similar model too. Those were good times.

I phased out of CPC sometime at age of 12 when I got a PC. Sometimes I used to play along with CPC Emulators, WinAPE mostly, just for the lulz and nostalgia. Later I started tinkering with electronics (now have a finnish blog about it, Miljoonalaatikko.com) and then the love for oldskool kicked in again. And then I remembered CPC. I tested it and it worked like a charm, ran some old programs but the monitor was so big and heavy I couldn't spare room in my small student apartment to tinker more with it. So I started planning an alternative,  a custom power supply/SCART box that would connect to a flatscreen.

And as of today, maybe a year later of coming up with that plan (yes, my projects are kinda long-term), I got it working. I put it all together and got a nice, clean, familiar blue/yellow picture out of my LCD screen. Now it just sits there and waits, "Ready" to serve.