News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Chloe 280SE

Started by Cheveron, 12:03, 28 September 20

Previous topic - Next topic

Cheveron

Rather than just another shameless plug for a different retro system, I wanted to start by saying thank you to the CPC community. You guys are awesome! More on that later, now onto the shameless plug.

I've been tinkering away on my own retrocomputer project for something like 20 years now. It started out as a next generation ZX Spectrum combining the functionality of the Spectrum 128 and the Timex 2068 without an FPGA in sight. But only one prototype was built and people said they weren't prepared to pay 400 quid for a new Spectrum (turns out they were fibbing). About a decade after it was dreamt up, some associates and I created the defacto standard for enhanced Spectrum color (ULAplus). And shortly afterwards the ZX Uno FPGA board incorporated both designs in its ZX core. Besides the hardware I was also working on a new BASIC interpreter, trying to make the machine more professional (like the CPC) adding things like an 80 column mode (in 2011). But it became fairly obvious that what Spectrum users want is a retro looking device with an HDMI connector. So I dropped Spectrum compatibility and decided to make the best firmware I could for the ZX FPGA core in the Uno with the eventual aim of replacing that core with a dedicated (and much more powerful) core that could still use the same firmware. It has also become apparent that retro projects that don't invoke nostalgia, don't get a lot of financial support. But that's ok. I'm doing it to make money.

So here are some details if you're still reading:

https://vintageisthenewold.com/introducing-the-chloe-280se-a-new-z80-microcomputer/
https://vintageisthenewold.com/se-basic-iv-updated/
https://vintageisthenewold.com/chloe-announces-ten-keyless-unix-keyboard/