CPCWiki forum

General Category => Other retro => Topic started by: beaker on 18:57, 03 February 13

Title: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: beaker on 18:57, 03 February 13
I know I could probably register on an Amiga forum but I thought this would hopefully be quicker if there's anyone on the forum also into Amiga's? Now that I've got rid of a Megadrive I have room for another machine. I've offered €100 for an Amiga 1200 with kickstart 3.0, 50 disks but it turns out there's only 1 workbench disk. Anyone with any experience with Amiga's know if this sounds about the right amount to pay? Here's a link to the listing: http://www.adverts.ie/other-computers/commodore-amiga-1200-vgc/2569903 (http://www.adverts.ie/other-computers/commodore-amiga-1200-vgc/2569903).

I am planning to fit the thing with a HxC and probably a CF hard drive and really only plan to play games although I understand I'll need more RAM using a hard drive.

Thanks in advance,

Beaker
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: ralferoo on 19:43, 03 February 13
€100 sounds expensive to me, but I've not bought one recently... I'm still using the one I had back in the day. I'm sure you can just download the other system disks - I can't remember how many there were, maybe 6?

I'm not sure about the HxC, but I've got a CF drive in mine. The card and adaptor were only about £15 in total and... Wow! It's amazing! It's massive compared to the 81MB drive I had in it before (and cost £150 of my hard earned pocket money)  :o and best of all, it's totally silent.

There are some programs (ALoad?) that patch most of the common games to run from hard disk. I've not looked into this, but it might be an option instead of the HxC...
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: steve on 22:06, 03 February 13
You may want to upgrade to OS3.1 in which case there only being one disk (should be 5), is irrelevant.
AmigaOS3.1 disks and rom should be about £30.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Bryce on 22:32, 03 February 13
€100 is a good price for what's on offer. It seems to be in pretty good condition. You can get KS3.1 for about €15 if you need it. I'd also recommend putting a 4GB CF Card in it, with OS3.9. AmigaKit sell it pre-installed still I think.

Bryce.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: steve on 22:38, 03 February 13
There are many A1200's on ebay currently, one is £31 with 20 hrs left, one is 99p with 6 days left.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Bryce on 22:44, 03 February 13
The current price in ebay is irrelevant until the auction is over. Either or both of them still might end up going for €100 or more.

 Bryce.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: steve on 22:51, 03 February 13
Yes we know that, but if one goes too high in price there are dozens more to try for.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: beaker on 01:03, 04 February 13
Thanks all for the feedback  :)

The only problem I can see with ones from the UK on ebay would be the postage to ROI which seems to be between €40 and €50 so the final sale price would have to be around €70 or £60 to make it worth my while. I'll keep an eye on just the auctions for a few days and see how much they go for :)

Beaker
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Munchausen on 11:53, 13 February 13
I think the price is about right... in the retro shop where I live A1200s sell for a touch over that, even more with discs etc, IIRC. Generally the prices there are a bit higher than ebay, so it sounds like a good deal, especially if you can see it and it isn't really yellowed and is in good condition.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: beaker on 15:32, 13 February 13
Thanks for the advise, I ended up buying it in the end and it is very white which is nice. The next thing I need is more desk space.... :)


Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Gryzor on 16:38, 13 February 13
Easy, just throw that PC out :)
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: beaker on 16:41, 13 February 13
lol, unfortunately most of it's company property (working from home and all) otherwise I'd probably have a decent machine there :)
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Gryzor on 16:53, 13 February 13
No wonder they're having second thoughts about your productivity and the whole scheme then :D
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Bryce on 18:00, 13 February 13
No wonder they're having second thoughts about your productivity and the whole scheme then :D


I think his boss signed up as a new CPCWiki Forum member a few weeks back :)

Bryce.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: beaker on 18:10, 13 February 13
They're just glad I stopped working out of the pub after 6 years :)
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Bryce on 22:31, 13 February 13
Why did you do that? Were they looking for you to pay your tab?

Bryce.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Zetr0 on 00:14, 14 February 13
@beaker

when you get a moment, you should look at signing up to Amibay.com Forum - Powered by vBulletin (http://www.amibay.com) and eab.abime.net,  both these site will serve your Amiga well.

Tell you what, as you are a new member and have a new found Amiga, I would be happy to prepare for you a 30GB HDD to install into it - its yours free - just cover postage (about £4.50 to Italy)

I would humbly suggest the following order of upgrades my friend

1. FAST RAM upgrade -

This will give your machine a much need boost of speed and provide room for the processor to really crunch some numbers.  Currently your A1200 has only 2MB of CHIP RAM -  (CHIP RAM) is shared by the custom chips, because of this the CPU has to wait until its turn to fetch / process and put data.  FAST RAM is CPU dedicated memory, because of this it improves the processing speed of the machine from 1.1MIPS to 2.7 MIPS!

FAST RAM Cards come in various sizes from 1MB to 8MB, and costs vairy accordingly from £45 to £65.


2. KICKROM upgrade -

Currently your A1200 is using ROM version 3.0.  While this is okay, for the later OS version (Workbench 3.1 / 3.5 and 3.9) you will need ROM version 3.1 - this is referred to as Kickstart 3.1


3. Mass Storage Solution

I can honestly say there is something nice about running from CF - its low power, quiet and easy to exchange data with the PC and back.  However there are some problems with CF - not all present themselves on the ATA bus properly and only as Removable devices - because of this the Amiga cannot see them to use.  A lot of CF cards are known to have issues, so if a CF card is you real want then I humbly suggest SANDISK brand - I have about 100 CF cards and this Brand has never failed me.

Alternatively is an IDE hard disk (laptop 2.5" IDE), these are that cheap enough people give them away - like me LOL!  There is something almost ethereal about powering up an A1200 and hearing the little purr of the hard drive spinning up and going through its diagnostic...  I have both solutions across a few Amiga so I have am lucky to have the benefit of both flavours of mass storage.


4. WHDLoad

This is quintessential (a must have) for today's Amigan!  essentially it allows you to play all the Floppy Disk Games from Hard Drive (essentially by emulating them on the Amiga) - without going into too much detail, there is approximately 5GB of Amiga Games available to install as well as over 200MB of demo's to get with a s well.   While WHDLoad is free, it really does come into it own when you buy a key - its only £15 but its really makes you part of the community and supporting WHDLoad is a great way to ensure more games are available to install onto a hard drive. (an over view of WHDLoad (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I3mSawy6How#ws)) - Here is a system running Classic Workbench and WHDLoad (click here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RKX5kQJP8y0#ws))


6. Classic Workbench

This really is a pinnacle of perfection.  perfectly crafted workbench operating systems tailor made with tools, utilities and a whole lot of embedded features -  have a look at this youtube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1GXApXBeOg#) - best of all it is FREE!


There is so much to learn, explore and experience - I almost envy you.... however I have every Amiga released since my 25 year obsession!=)

Systems I currently own

This might give the game away a bit - but I really love my Miggy collection.

A1000 STOCK
A500 (x3) 4MB FAST 1MB CHIP + 4GB IDE + CDROM, 2x STOCK
A500+ (x2) 1 with A570 8MB FAST 2MB CHIP 6GB HDD, 1 with GVP HC8+ - 8MB FAST + 2MB CHIP + 9.1 GB SCSI
A600 (x4) 1 with 8MB FAST 2MB CHIP, 1 with 4MB FAST 2MB CHIP 4GB CF IDE, 1 with 2MB Fast 1MB CHIP + 2GB CF IDE, 1 with ACA020 + 10.5MB FAST + 2mb chip + Indivison ECS GFX + 40GB IDE HDD.
A2000 (x3) 1 with GVP 68040 16mb FAST, SCSI, 2MB CHIP 36GB SCSI, 1 with CBM 030 8MB FAST, 8GB SCSI + SCSI Optical, 1 with 8MB FAST, 4.1GB SCSI + Optical
A3000 UX, 132MB FAST, 2MB CHIP, 36GB SCSI + External Optical, Retina RTG GFX
A1200 + Cyberstorm PPC 200Mhz / 040@25 256MB RAM + Bivsion 3D GFX + Sound Card + 80GB SCSI + Optical Drive,
A1200 + 030 @ 40Mhz + 64MB RAM + 60GB IDE HDD
A1200 + 8MB FAST RAM + 30GB IDE HDD
A1200 + Apollo 060@80 + 64MB RAM + ZIV BusBoard + Ziv PCI Mediator + 3DFX Voodo 5500 64MB, Radion 9200 256MB, 10/100 Network Card, Creative Labs Sound card + Spider USB
A4000 CBM 030, 16MB FAST, 2MB CHIP, CV64 3D mk2 GFX, Tocatta Sound Card
CDTV (x2) 1x STOCK, 1 with 4MB FAST + Internal 20GB IDE + 1MB CHIP
CD32 (x2) 1x STOCK, 1 with Prototype developer board (memory / FDD and IDE)

I have probably forgot something... =)

One of my A2000's is a custom hybrid build I have been working on - it has a companion P3 1GHZ Single Board Computer built into it, it has 512MB RAM, 64MB Graphics on board as well as LAN, USB and 80GB of IDE - I have built a custom Keyboard / Mouse interface thats shared between the two, alongside an internal KVM switcher.  the A2000 has a Picsasso 2 RTG Graphics and also has a Microway SD/FF that is plumbed into that - so three outputs into one monitor all auto switching - lots of fun.... its my longest project and theres so much more to do ;)
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Marq on 09:57, 14 February 13
I'd definitely get an accelerator card for the 'Miggy instead of just a RAM expansion. Some of them, such as the Blizzard 1230 will let you softload newer Kickstart ROMs (3.1). A suitable PCMCIA card is an affordable way to get the machine connected to the net.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Bryce on 10:52, 14 February 13
@Zetro: all good advice. Beaker is in Ireland though, not Italy... We really need to get the colours of that flag image improved :D

Bryce.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Gryzor on 11:29, 14 February 13
If anyone wants to provide me with icons for their flag I'll gladly replace the existing ones :)


Also: damn, all this makes me wish I had some room to properly set an A up... *sigh*
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Zetr0 on 15:04, 14 February 13
@Bryce

I may need a trip to spec-savers or clean my glasses -  I was sure that was an Italian flag....  in my defence it was late and I was tired or something.... ;)



@thread

Just to add -

AmigaKit.com - the Amiga shop (http://www.amigakit.com) and Vesalia Online - The Amiga & Retrocomputing Store (Est. 1987) (http://www.vesalia.de) - both are fantastic online stores to help you equip your Amiga, I have used both frequently and I have only good reviews about both stores.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Bryce on 16:27, 14 February 13
You're at least the third person to have thought it was Italy, so you don't need any excuses, it's definitely the flag that needs adjusting :)

Bryce.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: beaker on 00:43, 15 February 13
Grazie per tutte le informazioni! The colours are a little too close hey :)

Firstly, thanks for your advice and kind offer Zetr0 which I'll gratefully take you up on, thanks :)

I've not had too much time to look for the blizzard card but is this one on Amibay any good or would more RAM be better? http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=41070? (http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=41070?) I think I read somewhere that WHLoad needs extra RAM to run AGA games...

Looking at a video the Kickstart ROMS appear to be socketed, is that the case with all Amiga 1200's? I've not opened mine up yet as the seal sticker is still in place. Also is soft loading the newer ROMS a better option for a complete n00b like me to the Amiga, or would would I be better having the physical ROMS in place?

@Bryce - yup, that and they changed the law in my area so I had no excuse to stay BBC News - Irish council in Kerry bid to relax drink-drive limit (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-21143199) :(

Thanks again for all the tips

Beaker.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Marq on 09:36, 15 February 13
That 1230 you linked would be a safe choice and 32M is plenty for pretty much all Amiga stuff, especially WHDLoad. Blizkick is not hard to use, but if you have extra money then get the 3.1 ROMs, by all means.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Bryce on 16:09, 15 February 13
The A1200 ROMs are always socketed and you can usually get an NOS set of 3.1 KS ROMs on ebay for under €20.

Bryce.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: beaker on 17:38, 15 February 13
Thanks again, I think my NeoGeo console is going to have to wait until next month at this rate  :laugh:
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: beaker on 18:09, 15 February 13
Out of interest, would I be better holding out for a Blizzard board with an FPU? I don't think the one I linked to (http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=41070&highlight=blizzard+1230 (http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=41070&highlight=blizzard+1230)) has one?
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: steve on 18:20, 15 February 13
No, very little software uses the FPU.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: beaker on 18:56, 15 February 13
Thanks Steve  :) I've made an offer to the chap and see what he says  :D
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: steve on 03:15, 16 February 13
Just looked at that listing, I think you might do better buying a new accelerator from amigakit, they have several in stock here,
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=aca (http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=aca)
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: ralferoo on 11:03, 16 February 13
Just looked at that listing, I think you might do better buying a new accelerator from amigakit, they have several in stock here,
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=aca (http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=aca)
FWIW, a friend from work just bought the "ACA 1232/25Mhz 128MB Accelerator (http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1131)" about a week ago - it's pricey, but he's very happy with it so far.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: beaker on 13:32, 16 February 13
Cool, that's about the same price I offered the chap for the Blizzard card and he rejected so I'll probably get one of those then :)
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Marq on 22:24, 16 February 13
The Blizzard is faster and true & tested. It's a common wisdom in the Amiga scene that you should only buy Blizzard  8)
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: CraigsBar on 01:33, 16 April 13
I am sat here looking at 2 1200's


Beaker if you want one I can certainly let one of them go.


It would unfortunately be the lower specced of the 2 that I woudl be happy to part with, so No Indivision AGA, Catweasel or Blizzard 1230 but I can provide it with a decent selection of original (Launch bundle) games and fw 3.1 and OS 3.9


Let me know if you are still looking for one.


Regards


Craig.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Bryce on 10:54, 17 April 13
Beaker now has an A1200 and 8MB RAM too I think.

Bryce.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: beaker on 11:14, 17 April 13
Hey Craig, sorry got sidetracked  :-[

Thanks for the kind offer, yes Bryce is correct, I now have an Amiga 1200 and the 8MB RAM arrived in the post Monday from FitzSteve on Amibay (Bryce kindly pointed me to, thanks :) just need to get around to installing it now) so should all be set for WHLoad goodness (well once I get the mouse button working properly).  :)
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: CraigsBar on 01:20, 21 April 13
Hey Craig, sorry got sidetracked  :-[

Thanks for the kind offer, yes Bryce is correct, I now have an Amiga 1200 and the 8MB RAM arrived in the post Monday from FitzSteve on Amibay (Bryce kindly pointed me to, thanks :) just need to get around to installing it now) so should all be set for WHLoad goodness (well once I get the mouse button working properly).  :)


Ah well, Enjoy it. I never had one at the time as I had a 6128plus and could not justify the additional outlay. I recently placed bids on 2 on Ebay, and won both (ahem) oh well I have it for the fun of it now.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: beaker on 20:46, 21 April 13
Thanks Craig, I am in the same boat - I never had one at the time instead I went from my CPC to a PC around the mid-90's.

There's a chance my 1200 may be a bit of a duffer though. I've noticed some random lines on a few games on a few games but not all... I've opened a thread on Amibay to see if anyone knows there and they've given me some suggestions but I have a feeling it's going to be a bit of dodgy RAM or something once the software is ruled out...  :'(

Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: ralferoo on 22:03, 21 April 13
There's a chance my 1200 may be a bit of a duffer though. I've noticed some random lines on a few games on a few games but not all... I've opened a thread on Amibay to see if anyone knows there and they've given me some suggestions but I have a feeling it's going to be a bit of dodgy RAM or something once the software is ruled out...  :'(
Yeah, it looks like 1 correct bit every 64 pixels, with 5 corrupt pixels across a 320 pixel wide screen. As the screen is bitmapped, this suggests 5 pixels in 320 bits. This surprises me though as with a 32-bit wide system, I'd expect the corrupt lines to occur 10 times across the screen. But whatever, it's probably just a loose pin on one of the RAM chips, a quick look at the schematics suggests checking pins 2-10 or 31-39.

It's obviously a problem with chip ram though as it affects video, but not a problem in lower memory or the system would likely not even boot into a game. If you have a trapdoor expansion board, maybe try unplugging that.

EDIT: I just remembered that the A1200 comes with the chip RAM fully populated at 2MB and the trapdoor expansion is
for fast RAM. That means I'd probably be most suspicious of U18 and U19 (referring to http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/downloads/A1200_schematics.pdf (http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/downloads/A1200_schematics.pdf))
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: beaker on 22:46, 21 April 13
Thanks Ralferoo :) I'll open the machine up (probably next weekend with the week I have ahead) and make sure the chips are pushed down properly :)
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: TheCorfiot on 10:07, 22 April 13
Hey Beaker

Nice setup, congrats, the A1200 is a lovely machine.

If you are having troubles with your purchase, do get in touch with Fitzsteve, he's a lovely chap and very helpfull, if it appears that you have a mainboard fault he will more than likely replace it for you...

Steve is currently away on hols at the moment but will be back soon....

Give him a shout..

TC  ;)
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: Bryce on 10:33, 22 April 13
Thanks Ralferoo :) I'll open the machine up (probably next weekend with the week I have ahead) and make sure the chips are pushed down properly :)

Pushing won't help much, they are SMD chips.

Bryce.
Title: Re: Looking to buy and Amiga 1200.. advice needed
Post by: beaker on 11:35, 22 April 13
Pushing won't help much, they are SMD chips.

Bryce.

Ah, do'h!  :)

Hey Beaker

Nice setup, congrats, the A1200 is a lovely machine.

If you are having troubles with your purchase, do get in touch with Fitzsteve, he's a lovely chap and very helpfull, if it appears that you have a mainboard fault he will more than likely replace it for you...

Steve is currently away on hols at the moment but will be back soon....

Give him a shout..

TC  ;)


Thanks TC I will do, I actually bought my 8MB RAM board from Fitzsteve last week and he said if I have any problems give him a shout  :)