News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Capturing an old basic program from tape

Started by emuola, 11:38, 02 December 10

Previous topic - Next topic

emuola

This might me slightly OT, but I really could use some help here... I have a cassette, that has an self made Amstrad drawing app made by my friend in 1985 :) I have tried to capture the data, but after over a hundred tries, I'm starting to feel like giving up...

I have used the (at least if you ask me) great tool called CPCTapeXP
http://www.cpcmania.com/cpctapexp/cpctapexp.htm

I run the "tapes" with WinApe.

I managed to capture all the 6 blocks to a cdt and got data sizes correctly (I'm no pro here, but I guess the data size should be 2088 or something like that). Unfortunately, all my capturings have at least one block that give me "read error b". As you might guess some of the capturings are jusst plain garbage (too loud or too low volume). The errorenous blocks are different depending on the volume setting of the record input level of my soundcard. I have tried tens and tens of different volumes and even tried to copy-paste a working program from seemingly working blocks of different "takes", but I just can't get it to work. The tape should be ok, because I managed to resurrect a earlier version of the same drawing app. Unfortunately that version does not have any code for actually doing something, only the gui.

Unfortunately I don't understand anything about the fine features of the aforementioned CPCTapeXP (editing blocks and headers).

What would you do in this situation? Different setup? I know there's some way of getting it to work, because it seems I'm sooo close.

Sorry, if this is in the wrong forum.
Amstrad CPC 6128+ and internal HxC floppy emulator

Devilmarkus

Hello,
you could try my TapeUtil tool:
http://cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php/topic,1279.0.html

It uses the AUX input from your audio-device.